5 Wizard Fantasy Books Like Carry On

Magic Fantasy Books

Carry on is the story of Simon Snow, which is the same character that we all read about in Van. He is a magician going to Watford Academy, the Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. A prophecy says he will save the wizarding world and that he’s the chosen one. His senior year in school and counting down to this big war will break out between good and the evil force known as the insidious humdrum.

Rainbow Rowell plays on those tropes beautifully. Before reading this book, I saw that there were many people doing reviews in which they said that the book was very cliche. It has some great characters that you grow to love and hate simultaneously.

However, in this book, they are roommates, and they grow to tolerate each other, and then they grow to start working together. If you want to read books like Carry On, keep reading!

5 Books Like Carry On (Wizards & Witches Fantasy)

Carry On is about a boy wizard named Simon Snow, the chosen one, and this wizarding world. He attends a wizarding school called Watford. Simon Snow is the prophesied chosen one, and he’s the one who has to defeat this villain named the insidious humdrum, who is basically out to destroy the wizarding world.

So if you like the Harry Potter series, you must like this. After reading this series, you feel so excited to read more. I will review 5 books similar to Carry On to keep your interest. Let’s go!

1. Wayward Son

Wayward Son is the sequel to Carry On, and the excerpt and fangirl inspired this book. This book is best described by the little tagline they have for it. So this is a book that is for everyone who ever wondered what happened to the Chosen One after he saved the day. Everyone was ever more curious about the second kiss than the first kiss.

This best describes Carry On and Wayward Son because Carry On was a satire on the chosen one. Wayward Son is the follow up to that, where we see Simon having accomplished everything that he thought he would never be able to and having conquered against evil.

Suddenly Simon is left with absolutely no purpose, and he doesn’t know what to do with himself because he never planned to have made it out alive. He never thought that he would have a future, and he sees all his friends around him, Agatha, and Penelope continuing with their lives. Also, he feels very alone because he considers his family truly gone. His friendship and relationships are all, put it, strain, and then Penelope, his best friend, suggests that they all go on a road trip through America to have a change of scenery and try something else out.

But trouble follows these characters wherever they go, and they eventually find out that they may have signed up for more than they bargained for initially. I loved seeing Simon and Baz and their relationship in this book.

At the end of “Carry On” have changed Simon into a different person. He’s no longer the golden boy of the Mage world, and he has to come to terms with that. You see him on his journey to reinvent himself and discover the person he wants to be and the person he is. Also, you see bars on the sidelines, unsure whether to step in and help Simon or give Simon space.

Wayward Son

Author: Rainbow Rowell
Average Customer Review: (4.7 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Teen & Young Adult Contemporary Fantasy, Wizards & Witches Fantasy
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

2. Howl’s Moving Castle

The book’s premise is that we follow a young girl called Sophie, the eldest of three siblings. She makes hats in this little town that she lives in. This place that we are within in the story has a lot of magic and witchcraft and loads of whimsical, different things going on. But one day, while Sophie is doing her business, the Witch of the Waste comes in and curses her.

I won’t say why, because you find that out during the story. Essentially, Sophie is turned into an older woman, so she still has the mind and heart of a young woman. But she looks like an elderly woman, and it’s her trying to go and break this curse and meet different characters along the way.

Like Carry On, It’s filled with loads of fantasy and magic, which you can tell from the front cover. When Sophie goes on this journey, she gets the attention of a very strange and unusual character. Many people say those are negative things about him, but it’s Sophie and him and how they interact with each other.

The book itself follows it from the point of view of Sophie mainly, and I found Sophie to be insufferable. She is very stubborn and very strong-hearted. But there are many character development within the book and loads of different characters you get to meet.

Howl’s Moving Castle

Author: Diana Wynne Jones
Average Customer Review: (4.8 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Fairy Tale & Folklore Adaptations, Wizards & Witches Fantasy
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Mass Market Paperback | Library Binding | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

3. My Lady Jane

The book is about Lady Jane Grey, which is historical and she was a real person. She was Queen of England for nine days before it was off with her head. History doesn’t tell us much about Lady Jane Grey, so the three lovely authors decided to delve deeper into her story and perhaps give her a happier ending. So we get three perspectives. We also get King Edward, who is king, dying.

So he has to make his predecessor his successor, and he decides to make his cousin, Lady Jane Grey, his successor. But she couldn’t, and he didn’t want to make her. He wanted her to have sons and have them have the heir and then be the heirs of England.

So he decided to marry her off to this guy named Gifford. So we have three points of view: Edward, Jane, and Gifford. If you like Carry On, you need to pick up this book right now. This book’s main advantage was its humor and how it is not meant to be taken super seriously. Some things will be downright weird, and not take it too seriously.

So in this book, with this ancient magic called where they believe we’re blessed or cursed with the ability to switch to human form, to animal form. You can’t control it. It’s whatever you and not everybody’s honor and put a butcher in that. But Jane’s husband turns into a horse as soon as the Sun comes up, and he stays a horse until the Sun goes down. Jane doesn’t notice when she marries him because she wakes up and her husband’s a horse one day, and that is hilarious. I love the adventure in this book and the magic of the animals and the forms.

My Lady Jane

Author: Cynthia Hand
Average Customer Review: (4.5 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Teen & Young Adult Paranormal Romance, Historical Romance
Available: Paperback | Hardcover | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

4. Sorcery of Thorns

This is a stand-alone and a fantasy story. It follows the main character of Elisabeth, she is an orphan who has been raised in one of the great libraries. These libraries hold magical books. Grimm was that sorcerer has created and imbued with magical power.

So they’re almost like living books, and she is trying to become a warden who is the people that guard these books. Also, there are sorcerers in this world, and sorcerers are both revered and feared because they deal with demons to have their magical powers. One day she comes in contact with some sorcerer surrounding one of the higher class books, and everything goes on from there.

So first off, we talk about world-building. The world of the great libraries, in particular, is so wonderful if you at all like magical libraries. You will love the setting of the libraries and the more that we learn about them and the magical books. There are so many lines here that Elisabeth thinks about books and the library’s power.

It gives you a warm, cozy, and nostalgic feeling similar to Carry On. Even though this is a new story, I also enjoyed visualizing the magic in this world. So this takes place in almost like Victorian London Gothic setting. Nathaniel is one of the sorcerers. Nathaniel and Elizabeth’s dynamic is great because it’s almost like a flustered attraction.

Sorcery of Thorns

Author: Margaret Rogerson
Average Customer Review: (4.6 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Wizards & Witches Fantasy, Teen & Young Adult Dark Fantasy
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

5. Six of Crows

We have the six misfits who take on a heist in the Grisha universe in this book. If you’re not familiar with the Grisha world, it’s from Lee’s first trilogy, the Grisha trilogy. This story does a fantastic job of standing on its own, which I so appreciated about this book.

The characters are also unique and distinct and different from each other. They were also on an equal playing field. We follow each character’s different points of view, except for one of the characters, which allows each character to develop nicely, and you get to know each of them individually.

Like Carry On, the story grabs you, and you don’t want to let go because it’s so good. Kaz is a bad boss. He became the hardcore CRO that shouldn’t be messed with. Nina was a well-rounded character, and I liked having a Grisha a part of the Crow crew. You will love the relationship between her and Matthias, even though it was frustrating throughout the story.

Six of Crows

Author: Leigh Bardugo
Average Customer Review: (4.7 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Teen & Young Adult Fantasy & Supernatural Mysteries & Thrillers (Best Seller)
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Audio CD

Check On Amazon Check On Bookshop

Read More Similar Books

Children Fantasy Books: 5 Books Like The Phantom Tollbooth

Children Mystery Book: 5 Books Similar To The Westing Game

Pauline Jackson

I like to talk about popular books. My book review inspires you to read and save time. Also, I summarize the book and give you the best lessons or ideas that can change your life. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.