5 YA Fantasy Books Like The False Prince

Fantasy & Adventure

The False Prince by Jennifer A. Nielsen is the first book of the Ascendance series. The book is centered around an orphan boy named Sage. Sage is collected by a man named Conner and three other orphaned boys. Their land is without an heir to the throne because the king’s son went missing several years before and is assumed to be dead. Conner is a nobleman and has devised a scheme to have an orphan boy impersonate the missing prince, and he has recruited these four orphan boys to compete to become the false prince.

Sage soon realizes that this endeavor is more dangerous than he initially realized and that if he does not become the prince, he will surely be killed. This trilogy is fast-paced, action-packed, and super exciting for me. The best part of this trilogy is the main character, Sage. He is incredibly cunning and sarcastic, and he’s super independent. If you want to read books like The False Prince, keep reading!

5 Books Like The False Prince (Young Adult Fantasy)

The False Prince is a fantasy, adventure, and historical fiction where an orphan boy becomes (Sage) a fake prince. Sage always has some plan to get himself out of whatever negative situation he’s in. I am going to review 5 books similar to The False Prince. Let’s start!

1. The Unwanteds

In this book, we’re introduced to the world of Quill, where everybody has a very narrow role to fill within society. Anybody who’s too creative, imaginative, outspoken, or even too intelligent to fit within that narrow role is chosen at the age of 13 to be eliminated. It is because they’re considered unwanted.

The back of the book says that the kids get rescued by a magician who takes them to the magical land of Artemis. Here he teaches them that their creativity is a gift and that not only can they master it, but they can also use it to work magic.

This is where things get interesting because this might look like an awesome fantasy adventure where paper dragons breathe fire, and you can paint yourself invisible. Beneath the surface, it’s a book about self-discovery and the ability to determine your place in a world that thinks that already knows what it wants to do with you.

Like The False Prince, it is also a book about relationships and hierarchy and the true definition of a family. It is a book about war, control, social justice, and political power. You will know about global issues like genocide, the Nazi regime, one-child policies in China, or famine.

The Unwanteds

Author: Lisa McMann
Average Customer Review: (4.7 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Children’s Dystopian Fiction, Children’s Friendship
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle

Check On Amazon

2. The Prisoner of Cell 25

This book is about a regular student named Michael Vey, who has Tourette’s syndrome. We think his weakness turns into being one of his strengths. It’s him, his best friend, and then a girl he meets at school who’s very popular and a cheerleader gets him involved in the popular crowd. She finds out his secret: he has figured out a way to control the misfiring of electricity basically in his body so he can control electricity.

The story goes on where he is one of a few children born in a certain hospital during a certain time. That there is a group trying to find all of these children. It is young adult fiction, whereas all the other stuff is more holiday happy ending.

However, there are sections when Michael explains the power that he has or that he’s discovered, and the science words do get a little bit technical. But that’s only during those short bursts when he’s explaining his syndrome and how he’s learned to control that there’s romance. There’s a little bit of bullying and romance, which is very similar to The False Prince.

The Prisoner of Cell 25

Author: Michael Vey
Average Customer Review: (4.7 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Superhero Fiction, Mystery, Thriller & Adventure
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

3. A World Without Heroes

This is the first book in a middle-grade trilogy called Beyonders Trilogy. There are characters in this series that pop up in the Five Kingdom series. So I do recommend reading these before reading the fourth book of the Five Kingdoms series. This series follows two children, Jason and Rachel. The book mainly follows Jason because you’re following his perspective at the beginning of the book, and he’s living in his small town in Colorado.

Jason is a very independent young man, and he is very stubborn. At the beginning of the book, he falls through the mouth of a hippopotamus, and he finds himself in Lyrian, a new world. So this is a portal fantasy. His main goal after falling into Lyrian is that he wants to find a way to get back to our world. He ends up teaming up with Rachel, a girl who also comes to Lyrian through a portal.

They have to try to save this world, save Lyrian from a tyrant named Emperor Maldor, who has taken over everything. Also, he’s the only surviving wizard in hopes that they’ll be able to find a way to get back to Earth during that process. It’s so silly, but it also has a lot of targeted messages and lessons for middle-grade readers to learn. One of the main lessons this book target is defining a hero and saying that everyone can be a hero. Like The False Prince, It doesn’t take an insane amount of strength to be a hero.

A World Without Heroes

Author: Brandon Mull
Average Customer Review: (4.6 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Fairy Tales, Folk Tales & Myths, Action & Adventure Fantasy
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

4. Princess Academy

The story follows a girl Miri. She is a stone quarry daughter. Her dad works in the stone quarry. They are in Mount school, and they’re a community all on their own on the outskirts of this kingdom. This kingdom has a king and a prince, and the prince needs to get married. He is in the eighteen age range, and she’s quite younger(15).

Mount Skull’s inhabitants get chosen to be one of the prince princesses. The prince will end up marrying, and so they do give respect. Shannon Hale did such a fantastic job at this. She respected what she called the creator God, and she also liked they had rest. They had a life surrounded by a Christian walk. It wasn’t necessarily a personal relationship, but there were little flairs throughout the story, even though this was borderline fantasy.

So mount as goal turns out to have this secret language, and we follow Miri trying to learn what it is, and it’s almost like a prayer. It’s interesting, not so much to God himself, but to other people in the community, and it was interesting to see how that developed. Miri develops these strengths and becomes a better person because they didn’t have schools back in those days. This book gives you fantasy elements and shows you the inner strength similar to The False Prince.

Princess Academy

Author: Shannon Hale
Average Customer Review: (4.6 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Fantasy & Magic, Social Skills
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | MP3 CD

Check On Amazon

5. Sky Raiders

Sky Raiders is the first book of the Five Kingdoms series. The main character in Sky Raiders is Cole. There’s nothing super special about Cole. He’s average height, and he gets average grades. The book starts with Cole and some of his friends, and they’re going trick or treating. It’s Halloween, and they’re going to a scary house. It’s more about finding what can scare them and the here at this house in the neighborhood, which is supposed to be the scariest thing ever.

So Cole and his friends go to this super scary house, and as they go to the super scary house, they walk around, and it’s done well. Before they’re about to leave, someone comes up to them says, Hey, if you want to see something scary, she comes into the basement. So calling his friends, look at each other, and think, let’s try it. The kids go down to the basement and what they see in the basement are these different people, and they’re horrific.

They look like they’re from another world. Cole can hide behind a blanket, but everyone else gets captured, and they get enslaved. They get taken down through this hole through a portal into another world. Cole has a dilemma. Does he tell the police and possibly never see his friends again? Or does he rush into the fray? If you like The False Prince, you must read it.

Sky Raiders

Author: Brandon Mull
Average Customer Review: (4.7 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Action & Adventure Fantasy, Fairy Tales, Folk Tales & Myths
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle

Check On Amazon Check On Bookshop

More Fantasy Books:

5 Books Similar To The Phantom Tollbooth

5 Books Similar To Carry On

Pauline Jackson

I like to talk about popular books. My book review inspires you to read and save time. Also, I summarize the book and give you the best lessons or ideas that can change your life. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.