5 Adventure Fantasy Books Like Gregor The Overlander

Fantasy & Adventure

Suzanne Collins is most well known for her Hunger Games trilogy, which is now getting a prequel. Gregor the Overlander follows an 11-year-old boy named Gregor. At the beginning of the book, he’s living with his mother and his two younger sisters. His father has been gone for quite a while now, and his life has been on pause. He hasn’t started making plans for the future. One day, he’s doing laundry with his youngest sister, who is called Boots. She’s two years old, and they fall through a grate together and into Underland.

There are giant versions of animals in the Underland that people don’t like. So there are giant spiders, giant rats, giant bats, and giant cockroaches, as well as a few other giant things. There’s also a group of humans living in the Underland and living there for a very long time.

When Gregor and Boots are found in the Underland, they figure out that they have to go on a quest to either save the humans in the underworld or potentially destroy the humans in the underworld. That is what they have to do to get back home to their mom and their other sister. They have to go on this quest because a long time ago, there was a prophecy and people thought that it might be starting to come true. If you want to read like Gregor The Overlander, keep reading.

5 Books Like Gregor The Overlander (Fantasy & Adventure)

In the book Gregor The Overlander was nice to see that Gregor, throughout this story, is starting to come out of that and starting to realize that he can start making plans for his life again. Gregor is very respectful to people. He owns up when he does something wrong and tries to do better in the future.

That’s important for middle-grade readers and everyone to know that when you do something wrong, you address it, promise to do better in the future, and act accordingly. Now I am going to review 5 books similar to Gregor The Overlander. Let’s go!

1. Fablehaven

Fablehaven is a five-book series. It’s about a brother and sister who team up with their grandma and grandpa to care for and protect Fablehaven, which is a preserve for all the magical creatures. The good creatures are magical. They’re occasionally beautiful, frequently mischievous. The bad characters are magical, occasionally beautiful, and always dangerous.

Sometimes, though, it’s hard to tell which ones are good and bad. Like Gregor The Overlander, the adventure factor is high. The peril is intense enough to keep the kids on the edge of their seats and their dad interested in discovering what happened next. Fablehaven is a natural reserve for mystical mythological creatures and has been for a century. Seth and Kendra’s grandpa is one in a long line of caretakers, trolls, witches, mischievous fairies, sprites, giants, a giant magical cow.

If it’s mystical or mythological, it is being projected on one of the last natural reserves for these creatures. In this place, there are rules right from the beginning. However, the children have a hard time following the rules, especially Seth. In fact, he is not there, but a few days when he sets out into the forest and meets a witch who is very conniving and very manipulative.

What ensues is a series of misadventures where more and more rules are broken so that pretty much the whole world is threatened by the acts of these two unwitting children. So when you read the book, you’re going to groan with some of the things that Seth does. But heroically, Seth and Kendra save their grandparents and the reserve. Will they even save the world?

Fablehaven

Author: Brandon Mull
Average Customer Review: (4.8 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Action & Adventure Fantasy
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

2. The Ruins of Gorlan

The author ended up writing this series for his 12-year-old son, who didn’t like reading. He always thought they had to be all muscly and the pro at everything for a Big Hero character. But John Flanagan wanted to prove to his son that you could be a little bit skinny. You didn’t have to be a big, muscular man to be the hero of a story, and you could be a little child. You could have the right morals and ideas. So that’s what this story is based on.

This book talks about bullying and its wrongness, a good message for kids to get from this story similar to Gregor The Overlander. It’s also got some interesting characters who learn a lot about what’s right and wrong and how to deal with the situations they’re put in. So that’s a lovely touch as well. The main plotline is that there is a young orphaned boy called Will. He is grown up in the castle with many of his friends, also orphaned. They are all wards of the state.

Will is very adventurous and very much into exploring and having fun. He’s not sure where he fits into society yet. He’s got a group of about four friends. They’ve all been raised together because they’re all orphaned, and they’ve all lived together. It’s the story of their chosen day. Their choosing day is a ceremony that when they get to a good age, all of the different masters from around the castle can choose you to become part of their group.

Will has always wanted to be a warrior because he has heard that his father was a warrior. So when it comes to choosing a day, he’s not sure what’s going to happen. All of his friends seem to know what they want, which only makes it worse for Will. But on the day, Holt, the Ranger, turns up, and no one knows why. So alongside the main story of Will and Holt, we also follow Harris, who is Will’s friend from his childhood and race going into battle school. There, he gets into a lot of trouble and many sad situations involving bullying and things like that.

The Ruins of Gorlan

Author: John Flanagan
Average Customer Review: (4.8 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Fantasy Action & Adventure, Myths & Legends
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

3. Artemis Fowl

The plot is about a 12-year-old genius who is rich called Artemis Fowl. He has a butler who goes by Butler, who is his bodyguard, and Artemis wants to prove the existence of fairies. He sets out to capture a real-life fairy, and the story is for Artemus and the fairies because they exist. They’re not the classical, tiny, little dainty things that fairy tales tell. They live underground, and it is tough to catch a fairy.

Artemis is a genius, and he still believes in a 12-year-old. He succeeds in coaching a member of the fairy. Ultimately, even though he comes from a wealthy, famous family, his life is messed up. His father is missing, presumed dead, and his mother had a breakdown due to that and had a mental disorder. Artemis wants to catch a fairy.

So he can have a good wish, and the story is about the Fairview police trying to get Holly back and keep the secret from the humans. It was about Artemis trying to get the gold and the fairy’s wish to wipe out this memory. They have such unique technology most humans have never succeeded.

In getting the wish or the gold, you get to see some beautiful character development from Artemis as the story goes on. You get to watch the relationships grow between Artemis and Holly and the whole of the fairy police. There is a character called Mulch, a dwarf, and he has some exciting bowel movements. You see Artemis grow from being a criminal mastermind to being a brave anti-hero who not only cares about himself anymore. He cares about the benefit of the human world and the fairy world. If you like Gregor The Overlander, you must read it.

Artemis Fowl

Author: Eoin Colfer
Average Customer Review: (4.6 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Adult Fantasy, Supernatural Mysteries & Detective
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Mass Market Paperback

Check On Amazon

4. Peter and the Starcatchers

Peter and the Starcatchers is an adventure story with pirates and mermaids. The original Peter Pan story was about Wendy, and this story is about Molly, a girl who is the daughter of a naval officer in England. There are two ships, and one of the ships has a box of treasure on it, and one of them has a box that doesn’t have any treasure. There’s lots of confusion about which boxes have which.

Like Gregor The Overlander, This book gives you a little bit of the origin story of some of the creatures in Neverland. So there’s lots of adventure, mayhem, and a bad guy. On a faraway island, an orphan boy named Peter and his mysterious new friend Molly overcome bands of pirates and thieves in their quest to keep a fantastical secret safe and save the world from evil.

Peter and the Starcatchers

Author: Dave Barry, Ridley Pearson
Average Customer Review: (4.7 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Fantasy & Adventure
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

5. The Red Pyramid

A brief synopsis on the Red Pyramid is that there are two children. One is named Carter, and one is named Sadie. Carter lives with his father as they travel the world, visiting different Egyptian sites. His father is a famous Egyptologist, and Sadie lives with their grandparents as their mother passed away when they were younger. They come back and connect with their father throughout this, visiting a museum. But this is when chaos erupts and corrupts the entire story.

Their father releases some of the gods in the museum, which is taken away. Their father, Carter, and savior are soon out for meat. They find out who they truly are and their father, magicians. So they go on this quest, as in Percy Jackson, and they get in-depth with the main evil villain sect and are out to get him.

The Red Pyramid

Author: Rick Riordan
Average Customer Review: (4.7 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Folk Tales & Myths
Available: Mass Market Paperback | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon Check On Bookshop

More Fantasy Books: 5 Books Like The False Prince

Pauline Jackson

I like to talk about popular books. My book review inspires you to read and save time. Also, I summarize the book and give you the best lessons or ideas that can change your life. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.