5 Criminal Law Books Like Just Mercy

Criminal Procedure Law Books

Just Mercy by Bryan Stevenson is the story of Stevenson and his decade-long career as a lawyer in the United States, working for the poor, the wrongly condemned, and the harshly sentenced. Stevenson worked a lot with people sentenced to death, which is heartbreaking but fascinating.

It’s written in a way that’s easy to understand, and you feel like you get to know Stevenson and his clients. Also, it sheds much light on the failures of the system and the things that don’t work. How that failure affects those who usually have the least? It’s also quite an emotional book, and it’s effortless to connect to, which is why most people would like this. If you want to read books like Just Mercy, keep scrolling!

5 Books Like Just Mercy (Criminal Procedure Law)

Just Mercy is the popular law-related book for criminal procedure law, lawyer, and judge biographies. After reading this book, your secret eyes will open because this book is a secret teller. I found the pathetic history, culture, system, and law that changed my perspective and thinking.

Now I want to review books that are similar to Just Mercy. I will tell you about 5 exciting US justice and prison system books. Let’s investigate!

1. Are Prisons Obsolete?

Angela Davis is a very famous American political activist. In this book, she discusses how the U.S. prison system is built up and whether or not it’s essential. She also discusses the grave injustices of the system, how it targets racial and social-economic minorities, and how all of it connects to the history of America.

Like Just Mercy, It’s an exciting book and a relatively short introduction to the topic. Maybe you think the title is a bit provocative? You may disagree, but it’s a fascinating and compelling read.

Are Prisons Obsolete

Author: Angela Y. Davis
Average Customer Review: (4.8 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Criminal Procedure Law, Law Specialties, Law Enforcement Politics
Available: Paperback | Kindle

Check On Amazon

2. The New Jim Crow

The second book I’ve got is a bit of a longer book, and it is the new Jim Crow by Michelle Alexander. It does many things that the book by Davis does, but it’s a deeper study of the issues. It goes in-depth into how the system works and how the history of racism directly affects how things work now.

Also, it tries to shed light on why so many people of color, especially males, are locked up in prison. The author talks a lot about how the system has shifted from rehabilitation to pure punishment, which is interesting.

This book brings together many arguments and discusses them in an accessible and fascinating way. It is a heavy read similar to Just Mercy because the subject matter is heavy, but it’s very eye-opening.

The New Jim Crow

Author: Michelle Alexander
Average Customer Review: (4.8 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Criminal Law, Civil Rights & Liberties
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | MP3 CD

Check On Amazon

3. The Nine: Inside the Secret World of the Supreme Court

This book does an excellent job of giving an overview of how the Supreme Court functions. It does touch a little bit on the past of the Supreme Court did. It references some earlier decisions about the modern Supreme Court, but mostly this covers the living justices, those put on the bench in the last 30 years up through Alito. Alito was the last judge of the suit book covers entering the court.

The book discusses the court liberality. An auxiliary of the Republican Party is handing out decision after decision benefits corporations and moneyed interests that want to control our government and undermine individual American citizens’ civil liberties and freedoms.

The author goes into some detail about the individual justices and why they hold the positions, how they express them, and how their opinions and views of the world have affected the decisions they’ve made. Thomas is the most well-liked justice by the people that work in the court. He knows everyone’s names. He hadn’t surrendered for returning all Black Americans to slavery because, when the Constitution was put into effect, they were all in slavery.

Like Just Mercy, this book gives you all the information you need about the current court, major issues on abortion, freedom of speech, and rights. The book talks about some significant hot-button cases, how the court broke down their votes, why they broke down their voices, the people who wrote their opinions, and the dissenting opinions. So this book has all that information and more. Read this book if you’re interested in politics and the court system.

Inside the Secret World of the Supreme Court

Author: Jeffrey Toobin
Average Customer Review: (4.5 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Courts & Law, United States Judicial Branch, Public Affairs & Administration
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

4. The Color of Law

The Color of Law is a forgotten history of how our government segregated America. It explains how local, state, federal, and private entities fought to keep American life segregated following the Civil War and well into the 20th century. You will see how explicit and implicit decisions and policies create the racial disparities we observe today.

The first action is explicit in the book’s racial policies that discriminate against African-Americans. These can be very simple laws, such as no building in this district can be sold to a person of color. That was very common in the latter part of the 19th and the first half of the 20th centuries. This dramatically limited housing options for African-Americans and caused their living expenses to explode in a crowded housing market. The landlords took advantage of them, with their rents up to three times higher than their white counterparts.

In addition, housing products were created during and after World War Two to provide housing to Americans in critical production areas. These are very different than the products as we know them today. They were high-quality government-subsidized living facilities that gave housing to many until they could purchase homes in the suburbs.

There were two types of projects: high-quality permanent housing designed for years of habitation and low-quality temporary housing not meant to last very long. Often, the permanent facilities were for whites only, while the temporary housing was open to black Americans. During and following the war, whites had access to permanent government-subsidized housing. While Black Americans were stuck in subpar housing, that was only meant to be temporary.

The second form of action is implicit, with no specifically coded language against minorities. One example is new deal legislation federally supporting unions. There was a specific language only recognizing unions that did not discriminate. But that line was struck from the policy before it became law, meaning that unions could keep Black Americans from joining and that kept Black Americans from participating in the robust unions of the era.

Furthermore, industries with large African-American populations were never even given unionization rates in the first place or support by the federal government.

This book provides an excellent look at the policy history of race in America overall. It should be required reading in American history like a high school class, and it is phenomenal similar to Just Mercy.

The Color of Law

Author: Richard Rothstein
Average Customer Review: (4.8 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Housing & Urban Development Law, City Planning & Urban Development (Best Seller)
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Spiral-bound

Check On Amazon

5. The Secret Barrister

The author makes arguments very well in this book, making them compellingly every time. Lawyers are good at making arguments, and then he’ll dismiss it. He doesn’t set up an argument to tear it down. He makes it authentically, and he talks about the different ways of doing systems and the different ways of doing the law.

So, in essence, you’ve got the inquisitorial system where it’s more like an investigation, where you believe that the police and or generally a judge can be trusted to find the truth. You have to be the more adversarial system used in Britain and America where you have someone accusing someone defending. There are pros and cons of both.

Like the book Just Mercy, The secret Barrister prefers our system even too much of the book telling me why it’s terrible. That’s a terrible thing because this is a terrible system. I don’t see any way out of it except to throw more money at it, but it makes a powerful argument for the legal system to become a justice system.

A true justice system needs a large slice of the pie, and we need to have more education in schools for things like citizenship and make it a bigger part of the curriculum. It was surprising because he confronts it takes something to where you’ve got sexual allegations. He gave a very visceral story about a woman assaulted and raped.

The problem is that people are wrongly accused and put in jail. The author also acknowledges that it is far less likely to happen, and a rapist walks free. He sets up a situation that the way we do the law. It is set up to defend people’s liberty more so than from people in jail. Better than ten people walk free who are guilty than one goes to jail who is innocent. That’s basically how our system works.

If you were trying to prove someone’s done something wrong, that must be a terrible position. At the same time, there’s an argument that society needs that because for people to respect the law, they need to feel like they won’t go to jail if they don’t do anything wrong. He’s spoken about times when he’s defended people he suspects have been guilty, someone who sexually abused his daughters, most likely in his opinion. For the system to be valid, you need to defend people even when you think they’re wrong.

So the book is extraordinarily cynical, but it manages to be hopeful at the same time. It feels like you’re getting a complete picture of how things work. If you’re curious about politics, law, or how prosecutions should work, I strongly recommend this book after Just Mercy.

The Secret Barrister

Author: Secret Barrister
Average Customer Review: (4.4 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Legal Education Profession, Courts & Law
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon Check On Bookshop

Read Thriller & Crime Books: 7 Books Similar To American Psycho

Read Books On Social Abuse: 5 Books Like The Way I Used To Be

Pauline Jackson

I like to talk about popular books. My book review inspires you to read and save time. Also, I summarize the book and give you the best lessons or ideas that can change your life. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.