7 Crime-Thrill Books Like American Psycho

Psycho-Thriller Books Lists

If you read American Psycho, you know that he is a psychopathic serial killer who kills everyone, from homeless people to children, like no one is safe from him. His mind starts to deteriorate, and his crimes go ballistic.

The book is a satire of upper-class people in the eighties. It is one of the best action and psycho-thriller books throughout history. If you want to read books like American Psycho, follow me.

7 Books Like American Psycho (Thriller & Crime)

As a fan of American Psycho, you want to read more books like that. You can not forget the win-win situations and thrilling moments of the book. So to fill up your blank moment and taste like that book, I will review 7 books similar to American Psycho. These books will give you the same journey and same feelings. So let’s begin the thrilling!

1. Cosmopolis

This book was published in 2003 and is 209 pages. It is focused on a day in the life of Eric Packer. He wants to get across town Manhattan to get a haircut in his limo, as you do. But on this day, a presidential visit happens, and there’s a huge gridlock. So, it focuses on everything that happens while he’s in it. Eric Packer is a 28-year-old billionaire who made his fortune on Wall Street by analyzing the trends in the stock markets. He’s obsessed with the financial markets, and that is how he made his fortune.

Is this an attack on capitalism and the financial markets, and what got us into a post 9-11 mess? There are a lot of rats that have taken over the city. The main character is a Wall Street tycoon talking about rats taking over the city. It’s a thinly veiled metaphor right there. It is a complete view of a nightmare version of society. It was very reminiscent of like American Psycho. There’s an element of a bomb for vanity, which American Psycho has also been related to.

Cosmopolis

Author: Don Delillo
Average Customer Review: (3.5 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Literary Fiction, Suspense
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

2. Less Than Zero

The novel was published in 1985. It’s about this culture of impatience, apathy, indecision, and immediate gratification. Bret Easton Ellis is an American author from Los Angeles whose novels possess a very iconic flavor of witty black satire. When the book was published, Bret matured into a respectably seasoned age of twenty-one. He was subsequently thrown into the maelstrom of New York City in the mid to late 80s, which unsurprisingly informed his most famous novel, American Psycho. So in this debut, which is a rapid read.

Clay is a very young and wealthy protagonist who comes home for a Christmas break from college to see his family and friends in Los Angeles. One of the first striking things you’ll notice about less than zero is the understated writing style. We’re in play in the first-person views and describe these acts of violence, cruelty, depravity, of moral abandonment in a manner that is so detached and distanced. Despite being immersed in this nightmarish ocean of mundane horror, Clay is nevertheless deeply affected by what he witnesses. He is susceptible to the actions taking place. He’s still got this sense of ethics.

Clay is still trying to find things of substance, value, real love in a culture that has all but lost it, trying to find out what is important to him. Nobody is impressed with themselves or with anybody else. This is the culture of people who have imploded, and what remains of each person is a robotic husk, snorting coke, and spending money. It is the world that Clay walks back into with his ex-girlfriend, friends who have turned into drug-addicted hustlers and prostitutes.

It sounds like I’m exaggerating, but it’s not a far cry from the truth. What happened then, and what’s happening right now? It is the effective element of less than zero. The novel’s real power comes from the character shutting down emotionally as this defense, or maybe like a survival mechanism. They’re not even fully mentally or physically developed, but they’ve seen it all and far more than anybody should ever hope to see. The book mirrors the horror and the vapidity about a culture you very well may be immersed in.

Less Than Zero

Author: Bret Easton Ellis
Average Customer Review: (4.2 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Self-Help & Psychology Humor
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Mass Market Paperback

Check On Amazon

3. Trainspotting

This book is about a group of drug addicts living in Scotland. It’s all about the vicious circle of drugs at the beginning. Mark is the book’s main character, and it’s told from Mark’s perspective. The main thing is drugs, so everything centers around that. You don’t get to know them as people. It talks about the people’s families and their feelings about their drug addictions. You feel like it was a short story collection instead of an actual novel.

Some of the chapters in this book are shocking, and some people would find it uncomfortable, especially when dealing with children. But you feel interested to know why people take drugs for years. It’s like what caused them to get to this point. At the same time, the author shows how it affects people around you and how you can harm people. This book is very knowledgeable and shows many real data and information similar to American Psycho. So I recommend you get this.

Trainspotting

Author: Irvine Welsh
Average Customer Review: (4.6 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Crime & Thriller, Dark Humor
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio Cassette

Check On Amazon

4. Bright Lights, Big City

The author emphasizes a lot with the main character, a very definite person with a personality and features he loves or hates. Even the second person writes it. So theoretically speaking, the main character is you. The book, in general, is, in many ways, a critique of the materialistic, success-oriented culture of the 80s, especially in New York City.

I like to think of it as the bright side of American Psycho by Bret Easton. The main character is the narrator, and he’s 24 years old. He is addicted to cocaine, and the party lifestyle does a lot of drugs. Not only cocaine, but he also does other drugs too. He works at the Department of Factual Verification, a very prestigious magazine.

His boss, Clara, doesn’t like him, because he comes to work late all the time. Eventually, he gets fired because he messes up the French elections piece. He was preoccupied with a story in a New York Post about the coma baby. This coma baby is symbolic, though it’s symbolic for the character. In this coma, the baby represents him, symbolic of him.

The narrator is friends with Tad Allagash, and Tad is a hedonist like a narrator. They do a lot of drugs, go to many parties, and meet many mostly uninteresting women. The day trader is married to Amanda, and Amanda is a model they met in Kansas. She had a messed-up life, and the narrator wanted to take her out of that. Amanda’s dream was to live in Central Park, and the narrator fulfilled that dream took her to New York. Soon after Amanda became a model, she went to Paris and decided not to return. So the narrator spent most of his time thinking about her throughout the book.

At the end of the book, you think that the narrator will start over and do things differently. He says You will have to go slowly. You will have to learn everything all over again, which is true. He had to start over but get away from Tad and friends if he wanted to kick the addiction. It is a unique book, and I highly recommend reading it.

Bright Lights, Big City

Author: Jay McInerney
Average Customer Review: (4.5 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Lawyers & Criminals Humor
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle

Check On Amazon

5. The Silent Patient

The silent patient is the thriller mystery character that perfectly strikes a dark, spooky vibe that many readers are looking for. It is justifiably known for its twists. The book is told from two perspectives. So you have Theo, a psychologist, and Alicia, the silent patient. She has gone silent since being charged with the murder of her husband.

Theo takes a job so he can work with Alicia. He wants to get down to the bottom of her case. He wants to figure out what’s going on in there. Why is she silent? Did she murder her husband? If not, then why is she not defending herself? If she did, why go silent?

One thing that pulled me out of the like suspension of disbelief is how many privacy violations there are. The story moves along quickly, and I love that in mysteries and thrillers, so a big thumbs up. The second half of the book is more formulaic or detective. Also, it is quite vibing with many twists. As an “American psycho” book reader, you will like this book.

The Silent Patient

Author: Alex Michaelides
Average Customer Review: (4.5 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Mystery, Psychological Thrillers & Suspense (Editor’s Choice)
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

6. The Guest List

Imagine yourself on a super creepy Irish island going to a fancy, posh wedding. That’s where you find yourself when you are reading the guest list. We learn very early on that something terrible has happened at this wedding. Essentially, this is a classic whodunit that takes place at a wedding.

The story unfolds from there. It does cover some darker and more serious subject matter. But for the most part, it’s written in a light style. It felt almost satirical, where it was so over-the-top, so dramatic that it felt a little bit over the top. A lot of people like that about it. Like American Psycho, there were a lot of fun and little cliffhangers.

The story begins with a delicious wedding. The two people getting married are this handsome guy. He’s a reality TV star. Everybody likes him, and they’re super bright, rich girls. It looks like they have everything in life. Also, they chose to have their wedding on this specific island at the Foley. The Foley is an old castle, and it’s owned by the wedding planner and her husband in the book.

The timeline is regressive because it opens on the wedding night. What do we know about the wedding night because the weather started getting bad and someone turned up dead? So then we go back in time at the beginning of the wedding, and each chapter is a POV from one of the characters. We have the bride, the wedding planner, the plus one, the bridesmaid, and the best man. You could tell that each of the characters has something shady about them.

This book is more character-based than plot-based, and there is more development around them than around the whole mystery of the book. What I liked about this book is that it was super atmospheric.

The Guest List

Author: Lucy Foley
Average Customer Review: (4.2 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Mystery, Crime Thrillers, Psychological Thrillers & Suspense (Editor’s Pick)
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle

Check On Amazon

7. The Girl on the Train

This book is told from the dual perspectives of three women living outside London. But it’s mainly told from the point of view of Rachel. She is in her early 30s, and one of the first things we learn about her is that she is a raging alcoholic. She takes the train into London every day. She’s grieving heavily over her divorce.

Her husband has ended it with her, and he’s now with another woman because she takes the same train at the same time every day. She does see the same people in their homes as she passes by them. That seemingly perfect couple choice out on their balcony, having coffee together in the morning, and she is nicknamed them Jess and Jason.

After that, horrible events begin to occur, and she becomes a horrible alcoholic version of Nancy Drew and solves what happened. The book also tells the point of view of the woman who lives on the balcony. It’s also told a tiny bit from the point of view of Anna. That is Rachel’s ex-husband’s, Tom’s new wife. I read a lot of psychological thrillers, and this book was so fascinating.

The writing felt pretty similar to Into the Darkest Corner and American Psycho. This is a book where the plot is more important than writing. At the beginning of the book, there’s a little poem about someone being buried in the ground. When you find out the significance of that, that was well done.

The Girl on the Train

Author: Paula Hawkins
Average Customer Review: (4.1 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense (Best Seller)
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle

Check On Amazon Check On Bookshop

Read More: 10 Books On Psychopaths

Pauline Jackson

I like to talk about popular books. My book review inspires you to read and save time. Also, I summarize the book and give you the best lessons or ideas that can change your life. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.