7 Psychological Books Like Girl In Pieces

Mental-Health Romance Books

One of my most anticipated book releases is Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow. If you don’t know, this is a book about a girl whose self harms. There are so many different things about mental health with the love story. The author showed different examples of people dealing with self-harm and how they deal with it or what types of self-harm they do. Acknowledging that is crucial, and I appreciate how the author represents it.

The style of writing was unique and beautiful. All the characters have different attributes, but when it came down to the entire story, there were parts where I felt for these characters and others where I didn’t feel for them. I felt there was a little bit of a disconnect with them.

There is romance involved, but don’t get it twisted, but the romance was a good way to go because it helped the self-discovery aspect. So, books like Girl in Pieces are real-life stories where you can see the real scenario of people and their feelings. If you want to read more similar books, stay with me because I have a list for you.

7 Books Like Girl In Pieces

Girl in Pieces is a New York bestselling debut book. This book takes 180 turns and multiple twists in Charlie and Glasgow’s own words. She aimed to write an uplifting, personal story that would inspire hope in anyone affected by self-harm. It’s a tragedy with a conflict between person versus self. The book teaches you to overcome and grow from the things you’ve dealt with. Each section is very short, like a diary.

I want to discuss some of my favorite romance books with mental health representation. When I read them, I felt it deep into my soul. I love reading a book with strong mental health representation. I love watching a character struggle with themselves and struggle with their mind.

That’s what a lot of these books have in common. Some of them are a little heavier, and some of them are a little lighter. Before diving into any of these, please look up triggers that you’re reading and researching on your own. Let’s discuss 7 books similar to Girl In Pieces.

NameKey FocusReview (Goodreads)
Sweet DandelionA girl deals with her past trauma and falls in love with his teacher, who helps her a lot.4.0
A Court of Mist and FuryIn a fantasy world, a girl tries to overcome her mental illness and find love to make a new life.4.6
Darling VenomA high school girl and her friend deal with problems, and the girl want to know her friend’s brother for a reason.4.4
A Lesson in BlackmailA teacher faces her anxiety, and her student has OCD. For a reason, he kidnaps his teacher, and a relationship forms.4.1
Still BeatingSomeone kidnaps a boy and a girl, and they try to escape but build romantic tension.4.3
Take a Hint, Dani BrownA security guard saves a teacher at University, and both have a bond to make a cute relationship.4.0
Good Girl, Bad BloodA detective-type girl is trying to solve an unfinished murder mystery, and she faces many problems for it.4.3
Books Like Girl In Pieces

1. Sweet Dandelion

Sweet Dandelion is a fantastic psychological romance. The story follows Dani and Lachlan. Dani is an 18-year-old senior in high school. She is held back a year because, at her previous school, there was a school shooting where Dani was injured and her mother was killed. So Dani took a year off to rehabilitate, and physically she’s well rehabilitated, but mentally she’s still struggling.

When she starts going to the new school, she meets with the guidance counselor to discuss her experiences and process her trauma. That is where Lachlan comes into the picture. So it is a taboo age gap, student-teacher romance. It is a thick, character-driven book and I felt healed alongside Dani. As you go through the book, you are with Dani through every setback, every step forward, and every part of her journey. You’re there and her mindset.

I love seeing characters at rock bottoms where they don’t see them. So, it’s so satisfying to see that with Dani. It does deal with PTSD, depression, anxiety, and attacks. The book’s only downside is the unrealistic story with an unlikable heroine. But the character’s presentation, writing style, and romance were as satisfying as in Girl In Pieces. The series is one of my all-time favorites.

Sweet Dandelion

Author: Micalea Smeltzer
Narrator: Ava Erickson
Publisher: Podium Audio
Tropes: Mental Health, Age-gap, Forbidden, Second-chance, Love-triangle
Number Of Pages: 610
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle

2. A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses)

A Court of Mist and Fury is the second book in the series. You have to read the first book to read this one because the first book has a lot to do with why Feyre is in the place that she is in this one. It is a fantasy series but heavy on romance. Feyre went through a lot, specifically the first book at the end. Where she is in the book, she is at a low. She can’t deal with what she had to do in that first book and doesn’t have a way to process that.

So this book does deal with PTSD and depression, and Feyre has a big problem with feeling trapped. You see her at rock bottom at the beginning of the book and waiting for something to happen to her so she doesn’t have to live like this anymore.

Also, you see her by the end of this come completely back to life and find a new purpose. Author Sarah Mass has incredible mental health representation across all of her series. The theme and mental representation are very similar to Girl In Pieces, where Feyre and Pip are in the same position.

A Court of Mist and Fury

Author: Sarah Maas
Narrator: Jennifer Ikeda
Publisher: Recorded Books
Tropes: Action, Adventure, Feminism, Fairy-tales
Number Of Pages: 624
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

3. Darling Venom

Darling Venom is an enemies-to-lovers, age-gap romance. You follow three characters for different parts of the book. In the beginning, you’re following Kellan and Charlie. They meet one night on the top of their school’s roof. They both went there with the same purpose but didn’t know the other would be there. When they show up, they talk, and neither ends up following through with their plans for the evening.

So then you get them at the beginning of this book meeting every year throughout high school, and you see in Charlie’s POV that she’s feeling better mentally. Kellan does commit suicide, and Charlie is left reeling a little bit, and she’s left with guilt. Then we jump into the future a few years, where we spend most of the story, and we’re still with Charlie.

Now we’re also following Kellan’s older brother Tate. Kellan had often mentioned how much he hated his older brother Tate to Charlie. So Charlie is well aware of the fact that Kellen hated Tate. So it’s a rivalry deal between Charlie and Tate, and they have run into each other for a few specific circumstances, whatever the story goes from there. Like Girl In Pieces, this one also deals heavily with depression and suicide, especially at the beginning of the book. Be aware of that!

Darling Venom

Author: Parker S. Huntington
Narrator: Sebastian York, Jacob Morgan, Ava Erickson
Publisher: PSH Publishing House
Tropes: Dark, Slow-burn, Rivalry
Number Of Pages: 712
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Kindle

4. A Lesson in Blackmail: Black Mountain Academy

A Lesson in Blackmail is a lighter one on the list. It may have a bit of a darker edge to it, but it’s necessarily because of its mental health. The protagonists are Evelyn and Nate. Evelyn is a librarian at a very fancy bougie academy that has all the rich people there. She’s 22, and both of her parents have passed away.

Evelyn has a lot of anxiety, and she deals with feeling very anxious day to day. So she goes to a club every week to let off some steam. But at school, she has one student, Nate, an 18-year-old senior, who makes it his mission to make her uncomfortable a little bit. His family owns the academy. So he’s untouchable in her eyes. One night after school, Nate follows her. He stalks her after school to see what she’s doing on the weekend and finds out that she goes to the club, and he blackmails her with that information.

They enter a little situation for her to teach him everything she knows about BDSM. It’s more on the novella length side. Nate struggles with OCD, so they both find reprieve. It’s taboo because it’s student-teacher and age gap love. Evelyn goes to therapy, and we see a little bit of her therapy and then take Nate. There is some false advertising that I didn’t like. But I love therapy scenes and how Nate’s OCD was portrayed in this next step. A similar main theme between Girl In Pieces and this book is the healing process.

A Lesson in Blackmail

Author: KD Robichaux
Tropes: Dark, Teacher-student-affair, Possessive-hero
Number Of Pages: 186
Available: Paperback | Kindle

5. Still Beating

Still Beating is one of the darkest books on the list. It’s a dark romance, not because of some of the things the characters have going on in their heads, but circumstances, everything. We have Dean and Cora, and they are longtime enemies. They don’t get along. However, Dean is marrying Cora’s older sister. They are engaged. So Dean’s always around, and they have to deal with each other.

One night they’re at a bar celebrating some birthday dinner, and everyone leaves except for Cora. She sticks around for a while. When she needs a ride, she tries to find one and has to call Dean to come and pick her up from this bar. He agrees, and he comes and picks her up. Then, on their way home, they are run off the road, abducted, and taken hostage into this serial killer’s basement. They are kept as captives together in the basement. What they go through in this basement is horrible.

Then in the latter half of the book, when they are out, they both struggle to come to terms with what happened in their captivity. It is not only the trauma of being kidnapped and held hostage by a serial killer but what bond that was formed. That affects Dean’s relationship with his fiancee, Cora, and her sister’s relationship, as a whole messes up the situation.

This book deals strongly with PTSD, depression, suicide, anxiety, and a large gamut of stuff that Dean and Cora both have to face. So it’s a satisfying journey to go on with the two of these characters, similar to the Girl In Pieces.

Still Beating

Author: Jennifer Hartmann
Publisher:‎ Independently Published
Tropes: Suspense, Mental Health, Love-triangle, Taboo, Second-chance, Close-proximity, Thriller
Number Of Pages: 300
Item Weight: 1.46 pounds
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Kindle

6. Take a Hint, Dani Brown (The Brown Sisters)

Take a Hint is an LGBT romance with a mental-health story like Girl In Pieces. The story follows Dani and Zaf. Dani is a teacher at a university, and she’s a graduate student teaching. Zaf is the security guard in the building, and they have a good friendship. Zaf is always flirting with Dani, but Dani doesn’t pick up on that from the beginning. There is an incident where Dani gets stuck in an elevator during a fire drill, and Zaf rescues her and carries her out fireman style. Someone takes a video of it, and it goes viral. They decide to start fake dating from this.

I love when fake dating starts to turn into a real romance. Zaf does struggle with anxiety in this, and I love how his anxiety was interspersed with the story. It never felt this overall heaviness hanging over the story, but it popped up in certain situations as anxiety does. Especially it’s when he’s about to give an interview on a radio show and has a panic attack outside, and Dani is there for it.

Author Talia Hibbert, at some point in her life, has to have had a panic attack, so it was so accurately written. Also, It was so good, and I enjoyed seeing it in a male main character because we get a lot of mental health representation with women. The dialogue, plot, narration, and storyline are all good but lack chemistry. Overall, you can enjoy it. Avoid the hardcover because it has negative quality issues, but the paperback is excellent for font size, color, cover, and binding.

Take a Hint Dani Brown

Author: Talia Hibbert
Publisher: Avon
Tropes: Multicultural, Queer, Plus-size-rep, Fake-dating, Humor
Number Of Pages: 400
Dimensions: 5.31 x 0.9 x 8 inches
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Kindle | Audio CD

7. Good Girl, Bad Blood (A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder)

Good Girl, Bad Blood is the sequel to A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder. The story is about Pip, who was doing a school project on a true crime case in the first book, and she solved it. So, she has little desire to be a detective anymore because it ended badly for her family and her in the first book. Now she’s not feeling it. She doesn’t want to put her family in danger, but she is doing a true crime podcast instead.

In the podcast’s first season, she’s covering the true crime case she solved last year, and then season two will go into something else. However, this all changes because one of her classmates approaches her and says someone has gone missing in the small village where she lives. So she thinks that everyone thinks she is the only one who can solve it because the police are doing a crappy job as usual.

Pip gets involved and has to try to solve the case. While her true-crime podcast is going viral, and people everywhere know who she is. There’s also the fact that I don’t think the true crime case was as enjoyable. It’s because in the first book, Pip is solving a case that has already been closed, and the police think it’s all fixed. But that’s not what happened. The case is much more emotional and closer to home for Pip, especially because the so-called murderer’s brother is also involved with Pip. They become friends to lovers.

So there was a lot more going on there, and it felt much more interconnected. It’s the perfect book for people who are fans of true crime podcasts or who are looking for a contemporary thriller. The twists that do come are not believable. Don’t miss it!

Good Girl Bad Blood

Author: Holly Jackson
Publisher: Ember
Tropes: Law & Crime, Mystery Thriller, Crime
Number Of Pages: 416
Reading age: 14+ years
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle

Those are my book’s recommendations. If you have any novels like Girl In Pieces, put them in the comment section. Happy book reading!

Read more similar books:

7 Mental Health Books Like My Year Of Rest And Relaxation

5 Books About Self-harm With Mental Illness

7 Psychology Books Like Maybe You Should Talk To Someone

5 Psychology Books About Hallucinations

Pauline Jackson

I like to talk about popular books. My book review inspires you to read and save time. Also, I summarize the book and give you the best lessons or ideas that can change your life. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.