7 Psychology Books Like Maybe You Should Talk To Someone

Self Help Memoir Books

In the labyrinth of human emotions and experiences, sometimes a book comes along that acts as a mirror, reflecting our deepest thoughts and feelings back at us. “Maybe You Should Talk to Someone” by Lori Gottlieb is one such gem, offering readers a poignant glimpse into the complexities of therapy, the intricacies of human connections, and the journey toward self-discovery and healing.

For those who found solace, understanding, and a sense of companionship within its pages, the quest for similar reads is a natural next step. In this spirit, we’ve curated a list of books that resonate with personal growth, therapy, and the universally shared experience of being human. These selections promise to be just as engaging, insightful, and transformative, inviting you to explore the depths of your psyche and the beauty of connecting with others.

7 Books Like Maybe You Should Talk To Someone (Psychological Self-Help)

Authenticity is valued in literature. Readers appreciate books that portray mental health struggles, therapy, and life’s challenges realistically and honestly. The book ”Maybe You Should Talk To Someone” shows this realistic view of life.

I will discuss ten more similar psychological memoir books for you. Such books highlight the importance of human connection and relationships in our lives. Moreover, they showcase the transformative power of authentic connections with therapists, friends, and loved ones. Let’s begin!

NameKey FocusTropes
12 Rules for Life by Jordan B. PetersonA guide to personal responsibility and finding order in the chaos of life through a set of philosophical and psychological principles.Personal responsibility, the balance between order and chaos, the significance of hierarchy and structure in human society, the importance of truth and honesty in personal development, the exploration of myth and tradition in understanding human experience, the role of suffering and vulnerability in growth, the pursuit of meaning over happiness, the power of self-discipline and careful speech, the impact of parental guidance on child development, and the integration of belief systems in shaping one’s worldview and actions.
Man’s Search for Meaning by Viktor E. FranklAn exploration of the human capacity to find meaning in the face of extreme suffering, based on the author’s experiences in Holocaust concentration camps and his development of logotherapy.Survival in extreme conditions, the search for life’s meaning, existential analysis, the therapeutic power of purpose, resilience in the face of despair, the significance of choice under duress, the impact of attitude on fate, the role of love and hope in survival, spiritual awakening through suffering, and the philosophical inquiry into the value of life and personal responsibility.
Why We Sleep by Matthew WalkerAn in-depth analysis of the vital role sleep plays in our health, cognitive function, and emotional well-being, backed by scientific research and practical advice on improving sleep quality.The science of sleep and dreams, the impact of sleep deprivation on health and society, the benefits of REM and non-REM sleep, the dangers of sleeping pills, the connection between sleep and mental health, the role of sleep in learning and memory, strategies for enhancing sleep quality, the evolution of sleep across the lifespan, the societal undervaluing of sleep, and the potential for sleep research to transform healthcare.
Crazy Like Us by Ethan WattersAn exploration of the impact of American mental health practices and ideologies on diverse cultures worldwide, highlighting the dangers of homogenizing global understandings of mental illness.Cultural imperialism in psychiatry, the globalization of American mental health models, the clash between Western and non-Western understandings of mental illness, the impact of pharmaceutical companies on global mental health, the adaptation and resistance of local cultures to imported mental health concepts, the role of media in spreading American psychiatric diagnoses, ethical concerns in cross-cultural psychiatry, and the importance of cultural sensitivity in mental health treatment.
The Defining Decade by Meg JayAn insightful guide to maximizing the pivotal twenties in personal and professional development, emphasizing the long-term impact of decisions made during this defining decade.The importance of the twenties in life’s trajectory, the myth of the “extended adolescence,” the critical nature of personal and professional choices, the role of identity capital, navigating relationships and love, the significance of brain development in early adulthood, the impact of untreated mental health issues, strategic planning for future success, and the value of mentorship and networking.
The Consolations of Philosophy by Simon VanceAn exploration of how ancient philosophy can offer practical solutions and comfort for modern life’s challenges, using the wisdom of six philosophers to address common problems.The practical application of philosophical principles, the relevance of ancient wisdom in contemporary life, philosophical solutions to personal problems, the intersection of philosophy and self-help, the exploration of human emotions and experiences through a philosophical lens, the use of historical figures to address modern dilemmas, and the encouragement of philosophical inquiry as a means of personal growth and understanding.
Becoming Myself by Irvin D. YalomA profound memoir that covers the life, insights, and existential reflections of renowned psychiatrist Irvin D. Yalom, offering a unique perspective on therapy, mortality, and the search for meaning.The therapeutic journey, existential exploration, reflections on mortality and meaning, the therapist-patient relationship, personal growth through understanding others, the integration of personal and professional life, the importance of narrative in therapy, facing one’s fears and vulnerabilities, the quest for self-understanding.
Books Like Maybe You Should Talk To Someone List

1. 12 Rules for Life: An Antidote to Chaos / Maps of Meaning: The Architecture of Belief

This is written by Jordan Peterson, a Canadian psychologist who used to teach at Harvard, and he is very vocal on the media scene. That’s why he has a bad reputation for supporting the radical right. So this book represents his bio/memoir-like Maybe You Should Talk To Someone. He’s a deeply misunderstood psychologist out there. But the rules of life are pretty self-explanatory to the title.

Jordan Peterson writes about the 12 main rules he has of life. I like it so much because Peterson is a well-educated, curious, and caring man. He has done academic work, is trained as a behaviorist, and has done a lot of scientific and statistical stuff. But at the same time, he’s very interested in existential philosophers and Russian literature. So, seeing a psychologist stick to psychology and take wisdom from other places is fresh air.

The biggest criticism is that academic philosophers or theologians find their interpretations of things are off. Some things work, and there are metaphors that we use that aren’t necessarily based on evidence. The first few chapters of this book were good enough, but they slowed down. Although the author touches on Buddhism and other Eastern philosophies, it is ultimately very Eurocentric and focused on Christianity.

12 Rules for Life

Author: Jordan B. Peterson
Award: INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER
Publisher: Random House Canada, Later prt. edition
Average Rating: 4.8/5
Tropes: Self Help, Religion, Politics, Science, Philosophy, Psychology
Number Of Pages: 409
Item Weight: 1.45 pounds
Dimensions: 6.31 x 1.39 x 9.31 inches
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

2. Man’s Search for Meaning

Viktor Frankl is an Austrian psychiatrist/psychotherapist in Austria. He started logotherapy or existential psychotherapy as well. Well, it is a memoir for the first half. So Viktor Frankl was a Jewish Austrian who went through the Holocaust. The majority of his family was murdered in the Holocaust, and he was sent to multiple concentration camps.

How he observed how people’s attitudes and perspectives in life made or broke them was extraordinary. He talks a lot about the responsibility that a person has in their own lives and being able to, despite suffering, be able to live a good life. I like that concept because Buddhism is based on suffering, and there’s a huge overlap.

The book’s second part is more about how Viktor started therapy, an existential branch of psychotherapy, and how that developed the main components of what things he likes to explore. All the basic theories are very well written as a memoir similar to Maybe You Should Talk To Someone. A little bit of a limitation is that he is repetitive in his theories. But other than that, it’s an easy read.

Man's Search for Meaning

Author: Viktor E. Frankl
Publisher: Beacon Press, 1st edition
Average Rating: 4.7/5
Tropes: Classics, Spirituality, Holocaust, Psycho-neurology-crime, Popular Psychology Psychotherapy (Best Seller)
Number Of Pages: 192
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Spiral-bound

3. Why We Sleep: Unlocking the Power of Sleep and Dreams

The author, Matthew Walker, is a professor at U.C. Berkeley. He’s done neuroscience in neuroscience stuff for a long time. Then, he trained as a doctor in the UK before he moved to America to do sleep research. So he’s very experienced and well-educated in this field. My interest lies in the overlaps between existential philosophy and psychology. So, while this book was interesting, I don’t feel like it’s changed my life.

Another thing is that, funnily enough, by the time I read and finished the first chapter, I fell asleep, which is hilarious! Then, in the middle of the book, it showed how destructive not having sleep will be to your body and mental health. Take that as a precaution that it goes down to the scientific studies of how bad being unable to sleep harms your body and mind.

I enjoyed the initial chapters a lot more simply because they go through REM and non-REM sleep and the impact of caffeine on our different kinds of neurotransmitters. What happens with amnesia or psychosis? That goes into mental health illness and its impact on sleep and sleep’s impact on mental health.

Also, he talks about how school should be reformed at the end because it’s bad for our health to wake up too early, which is quite funny. You have to sleep at least 8 hours a day. That’s what I learned from this book. So, if you’re interested in those topics, this book is the thing to read.

Why We Sleep

Author: Matthew Walker
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Average Rating: 4.7/5
Tropes: Sleep Disorders, Anatomy, Physiology, Medicine, Neuroscience (Best Seller)
Number Of Pages: 368
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Spiral-bound

4. Crazy Like Us: The Globalization of the American Psyche

Ethan Watters is an investigative journalist. It means he can explore and express the nuances of mental health, illness, the conceptualization of diagnosis, disease, and mental illness worldwide. The main argument is that the conceptualization of mental health illness is very Eurocentric.

Therefore, the effect of this conceptualization of mental health illness maps to the diagnosis of diseases, treatment plans, and even treatment structure. The main assumptions that we have about treating certain mental health illnesses. Even the thought of mental illness itself and how to recover from it, all these things are less rigid. It’s much more nuanced.

Many more cultural narratives have a much bigger effect than we think. The reason why I like this book is that the first chapter looks at anorexia in Hong Kong. When you read the first chapter, the author accurately describes Hong Kong. Also, the first chapter is on the rise of anorexia in Hong Kong.

Chapter two is the wave that brought PTSD to Sri Lanka. The third chapter is about the shifting mask of schizophrenia in Zanzibar. The fourth chapter is Megawati’s marketing of depression in Japan. Finally, he talks about the global economic crisis and the future of mental health illnesses.

Even though it’s based on anecdotal evidence, Ethan does interview people who are clinical experts in their field, and the things he talks about are pretty valid arguments. Like Maybe You Should Talk To Someone, It’s an informative book to help you think about mental illness and our assumptions about it.

Crazy Like Us

Author: Ethan Watters
Publisher: Free Press, Reprint Edition
Average Rating: 4.7/5
Tropes: Globalization, Politics, Medical Pathologies, Mental Illness, Sociology, Anthropology
Number Of Pages: 320
Item Weight: 9.6 ounces
Dimensions: 5.5 x 0.9 x 8.44 inches
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

5. The Defining Decade: Why Your Twenties Matter And How to Make the Most of Them Now

Author Meg Jay is an American clinical psychologist, but this book is nothing related to mental illness or psychology. She does use her clinical knowledge to write this book. So the book is about how your twenties matter a lot. The idea that you can live freely. You can start in your thirties because thirties are your new twenties. So she’s arguing against that.

Meg brings up different anecdotal clinical cases she worked with and the situations she also delves into. The social psychology of the social history of why we have this conception or a misconception is arguably why we have this idea that we can somehow delay our twenties. The growth required our twenties. It also talks about identity, capital, and things we must build in our twenties.

So Meg talks about how many people glamorize wasting off the twenties. She’s seen so many cases of the early thirties, people in their early thirties who’ve enjoyed their twenties a lot then and not enjoying it at all when they are 30. It is because you have to figure out a mortgage career. So, it is fantastic to see how American psychologists work as well. Also, you’ll get similar advice to that in the book Maybe You Should Talk To Someone.

The Defining Decade

Author: Meg Jay
Publisher: Twelve
Average Rating: 4.7/5
Tropes: Sociology of Social Theory, Productivity, Business, Therapy, Medical Social Psychology & Interactions
Number Of Pages: 273
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

6. The Consolations of Philosophy

This is not about psychology, but it’s still changed my life and helped me reorientate it. Alain de Botton studied at Cambridge. He loves his psychology and commenting about couples. You should listen to some of his talks on YouTube and see his unique style. This book simplifies philosophy and makes it applicable to real life.

Alain describes how vital philosophy is in the current day and age. He talks about different consolations that all philosophy has given or could give us. The book has six chapters, and its constellations include unpopularity, not having enough money, frustration, inadequacy, a broken heart, and difficulties.

So, as you can see, a huge reason a psychologist loves this book is that it’s about human behavior, the mind, and life. I would classify this as the best book on the intersection between philosophy and psychology, and that philosophy is almost therapeutic. While reading the book, you will see the same theme as Maybe You Should Talk To Someone.

The Consolations of Philosophy

Author: Simon Vance
Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Average Rating: 4.4/5
Tropes: Consciousness & Thought, Humanist Philosophy, History, Humanities, Survey
Number Of Pages: 265
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

7. Becoming Myself: A Psychiatrist’s Memoir

If you’re already in Irvin D. Yalom, this is his last book because he’s quite old, and it’s his memoir. It is a motivating book to see how psychiatrists used to work in America or the UK when psychiatry and psychology had a smaller divide. It motivated me to see that someone can be so curious and interdisciplinary, how hard being a doctor in America is, and how he was still interested in psychology.

Irvin is a beautiful writer, so it is relatable and easy to read. If you want to discover yourself through the author, give this book a chance to fly you. If you like Maybe You Should Talk To Someone, read it. Let me know if you have any book recommendations for me. Please let me know if you have any other books related to philosophy or psychology. Also, let me know whether you disagree or agree with my points and whether you enjoyed it. Keep reading!

Becoming Myself

Author: Irvin D. Yalom
Publisher: Hachette Audio
Narrator: Peter Berkrot
Average Rating: 4.7/5
Tropes: Psychology, Counselling, Autobiography, Nonfiction
Number Of Pages: 352
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD


Just as “Maybe You Should Talk to Someone” by Lori Gottlieb offers a unique blend of personal narrative and professional insights into the therapeutic process, each book on our list opens new doors to self-discovery and human connection. They remind us that, in the vast tapestry of human experience, we are not alone in our thoughts, feelings, and challenges.

I hope these recommendations will provide comfort and companionship and inspire you to continue exploring the complex, beautiful journey of understanding oneself and connecting with the world around us. Happy reading, and may these books be your companions on a journey towards deeper insight and empathy.

Read More Similar Self Help Books:

5 Celebrity Memoir Books Like Greenlights

7 Self Help Bio Books Like Can Not Hurt Me

5 Self Help Books Like The Four Agreements

5 Self Help Psychological Books Like The Power Of Now

5 Racism Memoir Books Like Born A Crime

Pauline Jackson

I like to talk about popular books. My book review inspires you to read and save time. Also, I summarize the book and give you the best lessons or ideas that can change your life. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *