5 Satire Books Like Fight Club

Humor & Satire Books

Fight Club is told by an unnamed protagonist. He walks on a job he hates, and he’s very depressed due to his depression and all the traveling he does for his work. His doctor tells him that insomnia is not suffering and that if he wants to see true suffering, he should go down to a cancer support group. So the plot progresses, and the protagonist eventually meets Pilot Don, an enigmatic guy who is everything our protagonist isn’t. The two are immediately drawn together. The two co-found found this thing called Fight Club.

So Fight Club is a secret club that’s held in the basement of pubs across the city, where desensitized, depressed men living mundane lives can come and fight one another. All in the effort to somehow feel alive. Panic often talks about near-death experiences as near-life experiences throughout the novel. The book is written in a relentlessly unapologetic fashion.

So the book is split into three very short chapters, and each chapter jumps from scene to scene, from location to location. If you’ll excuse the pun, it’s like being repeatedly punched in the face. It’s coming at you from all directions. Overall, the writing style is incredibly gripping and highly readable. If you want to read books like Fight Club, stay with me.

5 Books Like Fight Club (Psychology Humor & Fiction Satire)

After reading Fight Club, we eagerly wait to read more books like it because we like the psychological humor and satire that the book shows us. So I will review 5 books similar to Fight Club that’ll help you understand society, culture, and world politics. Let’s start!

1. Survivor

This book’s author is Chuck Palahniuk. Also, he is the author of Fight Club. It is the story of a young man called Tender Branson, who grew up in the Kurdish community, a religious community. It is segregated away from the rest of the world. They have their traditions, values, and ideals. They have a very peculiar and different way of living from the rest of the world. Tender grew up in this community, segregated away from everyone else, learning all their rules and traditions, and constantly preparing to go out into the scary world.

One day, he goes out into the world because only the firstborn son can stay within the community. Everyone else from the family gets chucked out into the wide world to work for people to live their lives. So Tender goes off into the wide world and finds out that everything his community told him was false. It wasn’t ever going to be very fun, spending all of the days cleaning up someone’s house and so on. So things that he thought would be amazing and his life takes a very spiraling downwards turn.

When we pick up the story, it’s from a hijacked plane, Tender is on, and we don’t know what’s going on. It’s a crazy introduction, and we have no idea why he’s on a hijacked plane and why he’s talking to us from this hijacked plane. But it turns out that he’s telling his life story from his hijacked plane, and that’s how we start to see his story and begin to understand where he’s from and what happened to him. We immediately know that a plane hijacking will end the story because it starts at the end, and the page numbers go backward through the book, taking away the mystery.

A young lady tends to meet within the story called fertility. As you discover more about her character, you find out that she is very adept at naming and suits her personality and lifestyle. That fertility is a very strange name to begin with. She had something interesting about her personality and her character. So she had more sustenance than the main character did.

Survivor

Author: Chuck Palahniuk
Average Customer Review: (4.6 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Self-Help & Psychology Humor, Dark Humor, Fiction Satire
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | MP3 CD

Check On Amazon

2. White Noise

This book is massively popular and on the National Book Award for that year. The plot of the story is Jack Gladney, a professor and first-person narrator in the fictional academic field of Hitler studies. A good portion of this book is spent having academic conversations or satires of academic conversations about plenty of topics, but mostly about death.

There are twenty chapters in the first section, one chapter that is one section long, and then twenty chapters again for the last section. That parallel structure appeals to me to be overly simple. White noise is a before, during, and after, but the important thing is that central section. That section is called the airborne toxic event, a physical description of the apocalyptic event that this book centers around.

You notice how many of the best books have plots that are hard to talk about. They all seem to have something about them that resists simplicity. Actually, that’s not true. Often, the story is fragmented or disembodied similar to Fight Club. There is always something better that you could be saying than that word. One better phrase that we could say is that this book tries to capture the texture of 1980. It is hard stuff to talk about, but here is how I have imagined it.

White Noise

Author: Don DeLillo
Average Customer Review: (4.1 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Humorous Fiction, Satire Fiction
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

3. Catch 22

This book is primarily a satire, a mix of sarcasm and irony to mock something ridicule. It focuses on the setting of World War Two. The main character, Yossarian, is a bombardier in the U.S. military. He is in an Italian camp, bombing different areas during the war. The thing was, Yossarian is trying to fill up his mission to go home and not die. Also, it’s funny because Yossarian seems to be the only sane character in this entire story.

There is a vast cast of hilarious secondary characters and some friends of Yossarian that are so funny. This book is not centered around character development. It shows the SNES of common thoughts, what happens in war, and some unfair treatment of soldiers and people. The cool thing about this book is that the plot is non-linear, so it jumps everywhere.

Imagine books that go into historical settings. They switch from the modern day to the past. As you read the story, you start to notice, and you’re alluding to something that happened previously or something that hasn’t happened at all. That’s because the plot jumps all over the place. As you get farther and story, you start to recognize this and piece the puzzle together. It made for a very engaging read because you have to pay attention.

Like Fight Club, It has a lot of circular arguments, so the characters keep going around. That’s why it’s hard to read in paper form because it is such a circular argument. But if you listen to it, it’s a lot more enjoyable. The narrator did a fantastic job. He also has excellent tonality. He makes positive in the right places, and his voice is amazing for the characters. Different people are talking in the story. Yossarian is taking an overview of what’s happened and his experience.

Catch 22

Author: Joseph Heller
Average Customer Review: (4.4 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Self-Help & Psychology Humor, Dark Humor, Fiction Satire
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle

Check On Amazon

4. Great Circle

Suppose you like reading books with good stories, interesting characters, complex human relationships, fascinating underlying themes that aren’t superficial storytelling but encourage you to think deeply about humanity. Great Circle tells the story of Marian and Jamie, who are brother and sister and who is orphaned at a young age.

They grow up relying on each other and guiding each other through life. Marian becomes a pilot, an airplane, fly out whatever you want to call her, and Jamie is an artist. The story is set in the 20th century around World War Two, although the novel’s actual plot encompasses.

The story is essentially about Marian and her piloting airplane career. It is told from both perspective and the perspective of Jamie and a third person who is from the future. So this is the person from the twenty-first century who is an actress playing Marian’s part in a film about Marian’s life. You have a whole bunch of different characters and perspectives. Also, the story jumps back and forth from the past to the present, which is similar to Fight Club.

Sometimes authors love to be pretentious and stupid and not mark the changes of perspective and narrative. They think it makes them sound cleverer, making the story more exciting. So this is a book about a female pilot. Also, it is about feminism with what women were expected to do. How were they treated and then moving into the modern-day? What women are expected to do now, how women are treated in the film industry.

So that’s a theme that comes up repeatedly in the book. At the same time, the writing is incredibly descriptive and wonderful. There’s all landscape imagery and incredible scenic descriptions of various countryside scenes in Alaska. They immerse you into the book, and you feel like you’ve been transported there, that you’ve traveled somewhere.

Great Circle

Author: Maggie Shipstead
Average Customer Review: (4.4 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: World War II Historical Fiction, Fiction Sagas
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle

Check On Amazon

5. Invisible Monsters

The main protagonist is this fashion model, and she has everything. She has a boyfriend and a career. She was a former model. She has all these wonderful things going for her. She’s the center of attention until she’s driving on the highway and is shot in the face, and her jaw is shut off one day. Brandy Alexander tries to coach her into getting a new identity, getting a new life. Then all this ridiculousness happens. But she ends up on a road trip with one doubtful person.

Brandy and herself took on all these different disguises, different names, different stories from town to town, doing crazy things. Then it all accumulates this huge thing that happens at the end. It’s also at the beginning. Essentially, there are all these questions that you come up with, Who’s this? In the end, it’s all tied together beautifully.

It’s a very dark book with disturbing things, dark subjects, depressing things, violence. Also, it’s been adapted into a graphic novel which you might want to check out. This book was Chuck Palahniuk’s first novel, but it was rejected for disturbing, like Fight Club. So as a response, he wrote Fight Club to be even more problematic, apparently invisible monsters. Chuck’s style is unbelievable, and typically his stories tend to get ridiculous as they go on.

Invisible Monsters

Author: Chuck Palahniuk
Average Customer Review: (4.6 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Self-Help & Psychology Humor, Dark Humor, Fiction Satire
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon Check On Bookshop

More Psychological Humor Books: 7 Books Like American Psycho

Pauline Jackson

I like to talk about popular books. My book review inspires you to read and save time. Also, I summarize the book and give you the best lessons or ideas that can change your life. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.