10 Thriller Romance Books Like Verity

Thrillers Romance

Verity by Colleen Hoover falls into romantic suspense, a mash-up of thrillers and romance novels. The main character of Lowen is a struggling author. She has been taking care of her mother, who has cancer. Her mother passed away at the beginning of the novel. She gets an offer to finish a very popular series of novels from a very successful writer named Verity Crawford.

So Verity Crawford’s husband is Jeremy, who she met earlier that day and has a very strong attraction to. She decides to take the offer because she needs the money, and Jeremy offers to let her stay in their house while she goes through all of Verity’s notes. So when Lowen reaches the house, she finds an autobiography that Verity wrote of her life, in which Verity comes off as a horrible person.

Lowen begins hating Verity as a person. Then there’s all these twists and turns in it. That makes it such a thrill ride, and there are points in the story that you don’t know who to believe. Whether it Lowen, you should believe Jeremy, or maybe you should believe Verity. So it’s an exciting premise. If you want to read thriller romance books like Verity, stay with me.

10 Books Like Verity (Thrillers Romance)

Verity is a psychological thriller that has also been classified as a romance. It is about an author, and she’s been trying to get a new contract. She had a lot of things going on in her life that were preventing her from writing, and she needed money. Her publisher is trying to get a ghostwriter to finish the contract, and they selected Lowen for this. The circumstances are very strange.

Her husband wants Lowen to come and stay at the house in Virginia, and he wants her to look through Verity’s notes to start figuring out how she can write the remaining books. While Lowen is in Verity’s house, she finds a manuscript unrelated to the project she’s working on, which is when things start to happen.

There are a lot of secrets being kept by all of the characters, and you don’t know what’s going to happen. This book is unsettling. It is going to mess you up. Lowen witnesses someone being run over by a truck, which is an interesting way to have a meet-cute. There is a plot twist in this second to the last chapter, which changes your perspective on the entire book. I will review 10 thriller-romance books similar to Verity to keep the twist alive.

1. Forgiving Lies

It’s about a girl (Rachel) going to college, and the guy (Kash) moves in across the super hot hall. Kash is an undercover cop looking for a serial killer on campus. So that in itself is super intriguing. Who is a serial killer? It doesn’t affect Rachel until near the end, when the guy is getting close to catching the serial killer.

It gets super suspenseful thrilling, and you get to see how they will get out of this situation. How is this guy going to catch the serial killer? You figure out who it is. Like Verity, The romance was unique, but there was also that side aspect that Kash was an undercover cop looking for a serial killer.

Forgiving Lies

Author: Molly McAdams
Average Customer Review: (4.6 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Romantic Suspense, Coming of Age Fiction
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

2. Midnight Rescue (Killer Instincts)

Midnight Rescue is the first book of the series about a group of mercenaries. So they’re not a CIA team or FBI team, but they’re a group of men. There’s a couple of women on the team, and they do jobs for people who can not get help from the FBI and CIA. The author adds some steam to those romances. The girls are always awesome female characters and not the typical damsel in distress. Like Verity, you will find many similarities between Lowen and Abby.

In this one, Abby is a former CIA agent to hold her own, and she helps them fight their crimes and solve whatever they’re trying to solve. Some of them are dealing with kidnapping, and some are trying to assassinate people. There is a couple in here who is homosexual. If you love romantic suspense, try this one.

Midnight Rescue

Author: Elle Kennedy
Average Customer Review: (4.2 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Military Romance Suspense
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Mass Market Paperback | Kindle | MP3 CD

Check On Amazon

3. The Girl in 6E (Deanna Madden)

This is more on the erotic side, so it has more explicit sexual things because the main character is a cam girl (Deanna). It means that she does stuff on camera for people. But that means she only has to live in her apartment because she has a killer instinct that she cannot control. She wants to kill people, so she locks herself in her bedroom to save other people from herself.

Deanna makes so much money from doing this. But it’s interesting to see how she makes this business work because she has elaborate contraptions in her room. So she never has to leave her apartment. But one day, one guy she is interacting with online feels that he will murder a little girl. She has to decide, Do I put myself out there in the world where I could kill someone to stop another killer? There is a little bit of romance with hardcore. She imagines how she will kill someone when she sees them and finds herself starting to act through it. The characters and plot match with Verity.

The Girl in 6E

Author: A. R. Torre
Average Customer Review: (4.3 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Erotic Thrillers
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

4. First Touch (First and Last)

The book starts with a girl (Emily) whose best friend goes missing, and she believes that the dangerous man murdered her. So to figure out what happened to her best friend, she decides to seduce this man and become his mistress. She is trying to seduce a possible killer who is creepy dangerous. From the moment she meets him.

Emily believes that he is the dangerous killer who killed her best friend, but she tries to seduce him. So it’s intriguing from the very beginning, and it keeps you on the edge of your seat throughout the whole book. She and this man have fantastic chemistry, and you want them to get together. Also, it’s suspenseful from the moment you open the page, similar to Verity.

First Touch

Author: Laurelin Paige
Average Customer Review: (4.5 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Action & Adventure Romance
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Mass Market Paperback | Kindle | MP3 CD

Check On Amazon

5. No Escape From War (Trouble for Hire)

This is a second chance romance that involves two characters who had an explosive romantic relationship. The relationship lasted for a couple of months, but they felt a strong connection during that time. There is a lot of chemistry that they had with each other. They couldn’t get their hands off of each other. It was mostly physical, and the one thing that both characters felt they lacked was emotional support and mental connection.

So something triggered them to break it off and to break up and never see each other again. They developed at any means to lovers’ relationship because they had a bad falling out. Our heroine, Rose, is a journalist. She goes on the news and solves many different crimes happening in the area.

Moreover, a serial killer likes to choke women and kill them. So Rose is hunting for the serial killer to break the breaking news and become the super megastar. You see many similar vibes and themes like Verity and Rose have the same intention as Lowen.

Our hero, Warren, is an ex-Marine. He used to work in the army, and he was a special operation. He never forgot about Rose, and he resents her and hates her for something that happened in the past that caused them to break up. Rose is now suspected of all these serial killing murder charges. Also, he thinks that it will be super fun to arrest her and put her in jail. It is the romance between getting to know each other again, falling in love, and fixing the issues.

No Escape From War

Author: Cynthia Eden
Average Customer Review: (4.5 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Military Romance
Available: Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle

Check On Amazon

6. Just a Hint – Clint (Visitation, North Carolina)

Our hero, Clint, and his friends are X agents, and they are specially trained in finding people and rescuing them. Our heroine, Julie, is kidnapped from the very beginning. Now her fiance has hired Clint’s team to hunt down Julie, who is supposed to be a very innocent schoolteacher and an average woman in society.

Clint is confused as to why she got herself tangled up in all this mess, to begin with. She should not have that many ties to gang-related activities, so he’s confused. But he is out there to do a job to get paid. He sets his eyes on her, and he feels this powerful protective streak within him that he can’t let go of and can’t ignore. Throughout this whole book, there are a lot of proximity situations where he has to protect her. You can relate the whole situation of Clint with Verity.

Just a Hint

Author: Lori Foster
Average Customer Review: (4.7 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Billionaire Romance
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Mass Market Paperback

Check On Amazon

7. Talk Me Down (Tumble Creek)

Molly Jennings goes to a tiny town, and she writes dirty, lovely romance novels under her pen name so that nobody knows her identity. She’s still a little bit shy and secretive with her career, especially in a small town that everybody gossips in. She senses someone watching her in her home. So she is trying to keep herself on her toes and sense out if there is danger lurking. Ben is sent out there to investigate different things around her.

But he’s feeling this magnetic pull towards her, and he can’t get her out of his mind. It’s so adorable and cozy to watch this relationship flourish. It’s the opposites that attract romance. We have a very grumpy character who wants her to be alive at the end of the day and wants to protect her. There are many behavior similarities between Molly and Verity.

Talk Me Down

Author: Victoria Dahl
Average Customer Review: (4.1 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Fantasy & Futuristic Romance
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Kindle | Mass Market Paperback

Check On Amazon

8. For the Love of Pete

This one is romantic suspense with opposites attract grumpily and miss sunshine trope. Zoey has a niece, and someone stole her niece in the car. Then she needs to do everything she can to get back her niece. But what happens is that she hijacks Dante’s car. Dante so happens to be a federal agent. He is not going to let her get away with stealing his car.

So he’s along the way to solve crimes in the process. This book happens at a rapid pace, and there are a lot of events happening left, right and center. But you still feel the intense chemistry, and there are elements of mystery like Verity.

For the Love of Pete

Author: Sherryl Woods
Average Customer Review: (4.6 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Contemporary Romance Fiction
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Kindle | Mass Market Paperback

Check On Amazon Check On Bookshop

9. Lies

Betty and Thom are in a developed relationship already. But Betty doesn’t feel the vibes are there anymore and that their chemistry is not there anymore. Simply because Thom’s personality is a little bit boring, and she is completely bored by it. If she wants to be happy in a relationship, she should probably break up with him.

Something explodes when they’re about to break up, and things suddenly get a little more interesting. Thom is a special operations agent, and many people are out to get his head. As Betty is closely tied to him now, she’s in danger too. This one is thrilling with romance as Verity. It also goes by a lot quicker, and it makes you feel like you’re watching a movie inside your head.

Lies

Author: Kylie Scott
Average Customer Review: (4.3 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Romantic Suspense
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

10. Don’t Play With Odin (Trouble for Hire)

Odin is very quiet, shy, and does not speak much at all. But he’s super intelligent, and he’s super good with computers and hacking. Also, he’s very protective of the people he loves. Odin has to deal with a very annoying neighbor who is into true crime. Maisey likes keeping up to date with the crimes in her small town. Further, she noticed on the news that there was a serial killer.

So she knows that the P.I. firm that was hired to track down the serial killing could help her out with her current predicament. The police don’t believe her when she says that her next-door neighbor might be a serial killer. So she hires Odin to come, help her out, and track down the neighbor to see if the neighbor is a serial killer. This one seems like opposites attract romance again, sunshine and grumpy trope like Verity.

Don't Play With Odin

Author: Cynthia Eden
Average Customer Review: (4.6 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: College Romance
Available: Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle

Check On Amazon

Read More Mystery Thriller Books: 7 Books Like Behind Closed Doors

Pauline Jackson

I like to talk about popular books. My book review inspires you to read and save time. Also, I summarize the book and give you the best lessons or ideas that can change your life. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.