7 Mystery Books Like Behind Closed Doors

Mystery Thriller Story

Behind Closed Doors by B.A. Paris is about a married couple, and it is a thriller. They are Jack and Grace, who very recently got married. The story is told from Grace’s point of view. She has a disabled sister, and they were both in the park. They met the man in the park when he danced with the disabled sister and immediately the woman fell in love. But she didn’t realize that she had fallen in love with an absolute psychotic man.

You learn very early on that this man is perfect on the outside and has an extreme fetish for torturing women on the inside. It all shows very fast, and the entire thing is you watching for what he’s going to do next. If you want to read like Behind Closed Doors, keep reading.

7 Books Like Behind Closed Doors (Mystery Thriller)

In Behind Closed Doors, Jack is a manic, possessive human being. A lot of the things that happened were intense. It was a readable thriller, and that’s why many people who are borrowing it are enjoying it because it’s a huge entertainment read. Now I will review 7 thriller books similar to Behind Closed Doors. Let’s go!

1. The Woman In The Window

The Woman in the Window is Finn’s dark, intoxicating, and unpronounceable debut novel. The book follows the story of Dr. Anna Fox, a 38-year-old child psychologist. She has lived alone ever since separation from her husband.

However, she does spend a considerable amount of time talking to her ex-partner and her daughter, who is in his custody and has a drinking problem and severe agoraphobia. It prevents her from leaving her home. Anna has been trapped inside her three-story home for the past ten months. She does not step outside because of severe agoraphobia.

Most of the time, Anna is under the influence of alcohol and pills to control her anxiety, housebound and drunk. She spends her days watching her neighbor’s daily routines through her Nikon camera. Then one day, she witnesses an attack in her house across the street and tries to report what she saw. But nobody is willing to believe her. Did Anna elucidate her mind playing tricks on her? Was it a side effect of her medication and alcohol? What follows is an excellent and gripping narrative.

Like Behind Closed Doors, the book’s chapters are short, two to three pages long, making for a great, unreliable narrator. She believes what she had seen to be true, but at the same time, she doubts herself because of her condition.

Adding another unique touch to the story is that Anna is a child psychologist who checks online with people suffering from similar situations like hers. The novel’s setting and a three-story home with the basement as another intriguing touch to the plot and character are so brilliantly portrayed that you want to know more of her backstory.

It offers interesting parallels to what is happening around Anna. A big woman in a loan house with black and white classics playing aloud in the background lends a creepy touch to the story. The story was moderately paced, but the short chapters, the twists, and Anna’s character development intrigued me.

The Woman In The Window

Author: A. J. Finn
Average Customer Review: (4.4 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle

Check On Amazon

2. The Couple Next Door

The Couple Next Door is about Marco and Anne, who’s recently had a baby and is suffering from a bit of postpartum depression. On the night in question, they are next door at the couple next door’s house at a dinner party. Their babysitter fell through at the last minute, but Marco wanted to go and suspects because he’s hot for the lady next door.

They spend the whole night drinking and flirting, so she might not be so far off base. They leave their six-month-old at home for the evening, bringing the baby monitor over with them and going in shifts to check on the baby every half hour.

The worst happens when they finally go home. They find the front door, and their baby is missing. What quickly unfolds is a who kidnaps the baby whodunit? You find out about halfway through the book who did it. The book is told in the third person, and its head hops a lot. You get a lot of different points of view, often in the same chapter. More or less, that was done artfully, though occasionally the shift was jarring.

Tensions are high because Anne is a trust fund baby with overbearing parents. She talks to them every single day, and they’re oddly close. They hate Marco, her husband, so there’s a lot of tension there. Meanwhile, the detective is highly suspicious of both parents and the circumstances of the kidnapping.

Something isn’t adding up, and as the clues pile up and your guess, quickly, you’re proven more or less correct of what you suspected had happened. At times, it felt like the couple next door was doing somersaults, trying to give you twists that would surprise you, but at the expense of making logical sense. The storyline and suspense are very similar to Behind Closed Doors.

The Couple Next Door

Author: Shari Lapena
Average Customer Review: (4.3 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Kidnapping Thrillers, Psychological Fiction
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Mass Market Paperback

Check On Amazon

3. The Wife Between Us

This book is about Richard, marrying Nellie, and Vanessa’s ex-wife, who can’t take that well. No wife can take her husband’s marriage, even though he’s her ex-husband. So that’s the concept of the vibe of the story. But this is a psychological thriller. So there have to be some twists like Behind Closed Doors. If you have not read any psychological thriller or have read barely one or two psychological thrillers in your life, you will love this book.

The story is the alternating narratives between Vanessa and Nellie. They are between Vanessa’s Present and Vanessa’s past. Nellie is young, and she’s marrying Richard, and the next person is older and is the ex-wife of Richard. But the first narrative was that of Vanessa when she was younger and about to marry Richard. But along the way of this book, you realize that your assumptions about Vanessa are wrong.

The Wife Between Us

Author: Greer Hendricks
Average Customer Review: (4.4 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Domestic Thrillers, Women’s Fiction
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Mass Market Paperback

Check On Amazon

4. The Woman in Cabin 10

The story is about a woman named Lo Blacklock, and she works for a travel magazine as a writer and as part of her job. She’s given this special perk of going on the maiden voyage of the Aurora luxury cruise ship. While she’s on board, she witnesses some creepy stuff happen, and the story unfolds from there.

This book achieves with the cruise ship, where it takes a life of its own, and you feel like you are there in the story. Like Behind Closed Doors, You will see a few different time shifts, so go back and forth between a present and a future.

The plot is about this journalist who goes on a cruise ship. Then, in the middle of the night, she witnesses a woman being thrown out of the ship. When she reports first to everybody, she figures out that there were no women over there, and that’s how the book’s plot is. In the end, there was a bit of a surprise. Also, a few things happened earlier on in the book.

The Woman in Cabin 10

Author: Ruth Ware
Average Customer Review: (4.1 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Thrillers & Suspense
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Library Binding | Kindle | Mass Market Paperback

Check On Amazon

5. In a Dark, Dark Wood

This book is all about a Hen Party in England where the murder takes place there. Throughout the book, you figure out what happened at this party and who did it. The whole gist of this book’s main character we follow is named Lenora, also called Nora. She is a writer, and she gets invited to this party where her best friend from high school is getting married. We haven’t talked in ten years. But she decides to go anyway with one of her other friends, and crazy things happen.

You don’t know who died and who killed them in this book. It only had about seven characters in it. They were mean to each other the way they would be passive-aggressive when they talked to one another. We had another girl that was the center of attention. She and Claire had a huge falling out, and you are trying to figure out what exactly happened. What do they have this vast falling out? The plots and characters are very similar to Behind Closed Doors.

In a Dark, Dark Wood

Author: Ruth Ware
Average Customer Review: (4.2 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Psychological Thrillers
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Mass Market Paperback

Check On Amazon

6. Sharp Objects

Sharp Objects is about Camille Preaker. She’s a young woman, and she works as a journalist for a small Chicago newspaper. They’re not as popular as many of the other newspapers in the city. But her editor is trying to get the newspaper to become famous and get the stories that the other newspapers might not be paying attention to because they’re too busy watching other stuff. So she is asked by her editor to go back to Wind Gap, Missouri, to investigate the murder of two young girls pre-teen.

Camille hasn’t been home in eight years, and there’s a reason for this. She does not get along very well with her family. There’s a lot of emotional stuff that stems from this. She’s come out of a brief stint in a psych hospital. She’s an alcoholic. We also understand that she cut in the past, so she had a dark past. Going back to Wind Gap opens up some of these old wounds. She stays with her mother, her stepfather, and her younger stepsister. You realize what a twisted family she comes from by being in this house.

Camille is a mighty, confident woman in the sense that when she needs to get stuff done. Often the book so Camille is in Wind Gap, and she’s there to help solve the murder. So she gets some interesting information. But she’s also bringing back these demons from her former life, and it uncovers things that she thought were settled and done with.

Sharp Objects

Author: Gillian Flynn
Average Customer Review: (4.4 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Women Sleuth Mysteries, Psychological Thrillers
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Library Binding | Kindle | Mass Market Paperback

Check On Amazon

7. Into the Water

This psychological thriller is based around a drowning pool in a tiny village somewhere in the north of England, and the village is called Bedford. It’s called the drowning pool because many women have died in it. They’ve either committed suicide, or they have been murdered in there. This was a pool where witches were sent to see whether they were witches or not. Then it’s continued to be a very mysterious river and place, which I told from many different perspectives.

So you’re not immersed in a character’s voice for quite many pages, and then we switch on to another one. Some of the shorter chapters are only a page and a half long. So you get a snippet, a snapshot of a character, and we’re into another one. But each chapter advances the plot.

Into the Water

Author: Paula Hawkins
Average Customer Review: (3.9 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Supernatural Thrillers, Women’s Fiction
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle

Check On Amazon Check On Bookshop

More Thriller Books: 7 Books Like One Second After

Pauline Jackson

I like to talk about popular books. My book review inspires you to read and save time. Also, I summarize the book and give you the best lessons or ideas that can change your life. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.