5 Paranormal Books Like The Vampire Diaries

Vampire Fantasy Novels

The Vampire Diaries by L.J. Smith is a book series based on a CW TV series. It’s about Elena, a girl who’s 10 of the popular girl. She has tons of friends, and she’s so cool. This new kid she is drawn towards, and she wants to make him hers. But he was standoffish at first.

Then they come together, and she learns that the secret stuff on that he is a vampire. So it’s about their love and their relationship. Then it’s tough on the brother Damon. He’s the bad boy who gets thrown into the mix because he comes to the town and starts shaking things up a little bit. Stay with me if you want to read books like The Vampire Diaries.

5 Books Like The Vampire Diaries (Vampire Fantasy)

The Vampire Diaries is a different take on the whole vampire love triangle thing, especially since there are two brothers, Stefan and Damon. So it’s a different take than Twilight and the Vampire Academy. Now I am going to review 5 books similar to The Vampire Diaries. Let’s go!

1. Dark Lover: The Black Dagger Brotherhood

This is the first in J.R. Ward’s Black Dagger Brotherhood series. He is the reluctant king, reluctant going blind king of the vampire race. They live amongst humans but are not a part of human society. They do their own thing anyway. So Wrath is the leader of the Black Dagger Brotherhood.

They’re warriors but not brothers. The lessers are the opposite of the vampires. They’re part of a dark energy force that is the opposite of the vampire race and species. The lessers are trying to kill all the vampires. The vampires have the brotherhood to help prevent that from happening anyway.

So this book is all about Wrath, The King, and Beth. She is a free transition vampire female, and she’s been living in the human. Her dad is one of the brothers of the Black Dagger Brotherhood. So he knows that she is about to the right age to transition into being a full-fledged vampire. Wrath helps her with the blood she needs for her transition, and he helps her with his wiener, which is lovely.

Ward is not shy about the love scenes in her book. She paints a pretty picture when it comes to the love scenes. Some parts of the book are cheesy. You have to have conflict and reasons to move forward with the story.

Dark Lover

Author: J. R. Ward
Average Customer Review: (4.5 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Erotic Horror, Paranormal
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Mass Market Paperback

Check On Amazon

2. Dracula

This was published in 1897, and this is a gothic horror novel about vampires. It’s one of those books that we wouldn’t have a lot of vampires today in our pop culture if we didn’t have this. It isn’t even the first vampire book, but this is the vampire book that changed the game when it came to vampires.

Dracula follows Jonathan Harker, and he is the lawyer trying to sell the property to a specific someone that someone being Count Dracula. So he travels to Transylvania, to Dracula’s estate, and tries to sell him property in London. It’s very quickly that Jonathan starts to notice things are off with this person. Things start getting dark. Like The Vampire Diaries, this book captures you in its tone and atmosphere. It almost has the effect of weighing on you.

Dracula isn’t in this book all that much. He’s at the beginning for a bit. Then he goes away for a bit. But this book presents vampires as amazing because, as creatures, they were never meant to be the rock stars. Vampires can be seductive and appealing, but it’s different. In Dracula, vampires are shown as these evil beings. They’re evil creatures to continue to live in their undead fashion. They need to drain the life of other creatures.

Dracula

Author: Bram Stoker
Average Customer Review: (4.6 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Horror Fiction, Vampire Fantasy
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Mass Market Paperback

Check On Amazon

3. Bloodlines

This is set straight after the Vampire Academy and Vampire Diaries series. There are six books in the series, the first one being Bloodlines. This book follows the main character, Sydney, who is an Alchemist. It is their job to protect the world from vampires. So they protect the vampire’s secrets and help save human lives. But Sydney got into a little trouble with the last encounter with the vampires, so right now, she’s sitting on the thin edge in the alchemist’s point of the line.

One night she’s waking up in the middle of the night, and she is sent on a mission. She thinks that she’s going to be in trouble and that she’s going to be sent away. But instead, she is sent on a vital mission for the Alchemist. She finds out that it is her job, along with a few others, to protect Jill, the sister of Mory Greene. Jill is in mortal danger, and it’s up to Sydney to be her guardian and protect her. So Sydney, Jill, and a few other characters are sent to Palm Springs in California, where they live in a normal high school, pretending everything is normal.

But the issue is uppermost are trained to hate vampires. So when Sydney finds out that she has to live with Jill, she’s got this issue to deal with. Sydney has to spend her time with all these vampires who she’s been trained to believe that they’re evil. She doesn’t also have to protect Jill. She also has to deal with a few other vampires, including Adrian. It isn’t that easy to deal with. He seems to be getting into trouble a lot. Paul certainly has to do with all of this and protecting Jill and trying to live a normal life.

Sydney’s perspective tells the first three books, and Sydney and Adrian tell the last three books. There are no complications and confusion of which character is which. It’s done, but the characters are so good. The characters grow so much throughout the series, especially Sydney and Adrian. As the other side characters, you fell in love with everyone.

Bloodlines

Author: Richelle Mead
Average Customer Review: (4.7 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Paranormal & Supernatural Fantasy
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle

Check On Amazon

4. Marked: House of Night

This book is about a girl who gets chosen and is marked to become a vampire. She is a fledgling, and she goes to a school for vampires called the House of Knight. They go through classes and learn about vampire history. It’s her going through the changes, and it’s you’re in school, and you learn about how to become a vampire.

There aren’t many people of color in this, so the main character talks about her American Indian roots and is perceived as American Indian. They focused on her appearance, but they never mentioned her skin tone. It’s got full of tropes in this book as well. There’s quite a bit of book in the series. If you like this one and The Vampire Diaries, check out other books.

House of Night

Author: P. C. Cast
Average Customer Review: (4.7 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Contemporary Fantasy, Horror Fiction
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Mass Market Paperback

Check On Amazon

5. Dead Until Dark: Sookie Stackhouse Southern Vampire Mystery

The main character, Sookie Stackhouse, refers to herself as disabled. It takes place in a small town in Louisiana, and in this universe, vampires are known to exist. They can take their vampire hotels. There’s a whole cult of vampire fanatics that always follow the vampires around as they go to the various nightclubs. So they have established creatures in this universe, and the main character is wanted to meet a vampire.

Sookie is a waitress at a local bar, and one day a vampire comes in, and she was at the vampire. The story starts from there. Sookie refers to herself as disabled because she can read minds. She would hug her brother in front of patrons to get points for hugging a disabled person like the line in the book. That’s something you can do in a world with vampires and the occult established. It idealized possessive relationships as a common trend with vampires similar to The Vampire Diaries.

Dead Until Dark

Author: Charlaine Harris
Average Customer Review: (4.6 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Paranormal Fantasy, Mysteries
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Mass Market Paperback

Check On Amazon Check On Bookshop

More Vampire Romance Books: 5 Books Like Crave

Pauline Jackson

I like to talk about popular books. My book review inspires you to read and save time. Also, I summarize the book and give you the best lessons or ideas that can change your life. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.