5 Psychological Books Like Man Is Search For Meaning

Philosophy & Psychology Books

Man’s search for meaning is a popular self-help book that is a psychology of life. Finding meaning in life is one of our greatest tasks, and in this book, the author showcases how he was able to find meaning in one of the worst situations.

The author describes his experience in a Nazi concentration camp and how he could find meaning through that suffering. In the second half of the book, he talks about his school of logger therapy and how it can be used to find meaning in suffering. If you are waiting to read books like Man Is Search For Meaning, you are in the right place.

5 Books Like Man Is Search For Meaning (Ethics, Morality & Philosophy)

I learned from this book that meaning can only be found through suffering, whether internal or external sources. It’s important to reframe these experiences as ways to find meaning. There is something within it that can help you with any experience you’re going through.

It also helps to reframe and give a different perspective on what someone else went through. I hope you will learn more and enjoy the book Man’s Search For Meaning. Now I will review 5 books similar to Man Is Search For Meaning. Let’s start our journey!

1. The Denial of Death

We know that we’re going to die someday. This is a unique problem to the conscious animal humans, but we don’t feel it because we have to repress this truth to function. So what to do? It’s tough for us to accept that worms are used in the dirt. Humans are, by nature, so paradoxical. Our bodies are so animalistic and limited what our minds are boundless, and God likes.

So what we need is the vital lie. We need a big one, a grand one, something that we can always rely on because we need something that transcends us. We need a system of ideas and powers that embed us, whether it’s a flag guru the proletariat religion.

In this book, you will familiarize yourself with the terms of characters. Carl Jung is one Freud, Kierkegaard Eric from to name a few. The truth is that he is an inner symbolic self, which signifies certain freedom bound to a finite body. This limit is freedom. So how much freedom are you willing to take in? The book talks about the depressed person who takes too little in and schizophrenia. I have a quote that talks about this and touches on it.

If we would stop and consider everything that could happen at any moment, we would be paralyzed by options and fear. There are so many possibilities of things going wrong in the world. We need that filtering process. We need to limit ourselves. Anxiety is the possibility of freedom.

If life is such an insurmountable problem, we have to think about what level we want to put our illusion on, which we base our lives on. This book checks all the boxes. I mean, it’s complex and nuanced, but it well thoughts like the book Man Is Search For Meaning.

The Denial of Death

Author: Ernest Becker
Average Customer Review: (4.5 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Medical General Psychology, Sociology of Death
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Mass Market Paperback

Check On Amazon

2. 12 Rules for Life: An Antidote to Chaos

Jordan Peterson is a university professor that teaches psychology at the University of Toronto. He’s also well known for his incredible smart intellect and interview on Channel four last factor with 20 million views. He was sharing his views on cultural and political issues. He is also well known for his long lectures that have racked over millions of views on YouTube.

The book is about 12 rules for life that you can implement in your own life. So these are Jordan’s antidotes for the chaos that can help you improve your life for the better. So it’s a self-help book, and the author interprets these rules through anecdotes that include psychology, religion, and ethical principles. But most of them are Christian anecdotes and references throughout the whole book.

For example, rule one is standing over your shoulders back. It states that your posture can influence the way people treat you, resulting in you being a happier, healthier person. So he says that having an open posture perceives people to look at you as an individual that is confident and ready for life. A weaker, slumped, and rounded-off posture can make you seem weak or vulnerable, showing lower social dominance. So that was one of the reasons I liked the book after Man Is Search For Meaning.

12 Rules for Life

Author: Jordan B. Peterson
Average Customer Review: (4.7 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Ethics & Morality Philosophy, Philosophy of Society (Best Seller)
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle

Check On Amazon

3. Flow: The Psychology of Optimal Experience

The happiest people spend much time in flow, a state in which people are so involved in an activity that nothing else seems to matter in the book Flow. Like Man Is Search For Meaning, the author talks about this beautiful state of living, human consciousness, and pleasure in life. It means that you have to choose flow activities to be happy with your life truly. So what is flow?

Flow is somewhere in the middle, right up here, where your challenges and your skills align. If you’re doing something like sitting on Facebook or watching TV, which requires no skill or challenge whatsoever, you will be in a state down here. State of apathy that’s where the most anxiety, worry, boredom, stress, cortisol, release, and pain genuinely come from. But if you start choosing behaviors and activities that you enjoy and increase the challenge and skill, you’ll get closer and closer to that state of flow.

Mihaly said enjoyment of life exists between the boundary of boredom and anxiety. Boredom is where you have good enough skills, but there’s no challenge. Anxiety is where you can have skills, but the challenge is too high and scary. You want to find the perfect spot between skills and challenges and do something you love. For example, writing, reading, socializing, and things that include challenges and skills you love. Those are things which you can enjoy flowing.

What if you keep doing the kick? The challenge decreases, but the skill level is still there, but you get bored of it. If you keep the challenges the same with the same skill you develop, it will get boring. If you’re a brand new beginner guitar player and start playing and trying to compose a tough piece of music, your skills are low.

The challenge will be too high, so you’ll have the anxiety to find that place between boredom and anxiety where flow exists. So with skateboarding, you could be trying to do a double kickflip or kickflip while moving, increasing the challenge a little while using the same skill with the guitar.

Mihaly also talks about flow insight, breathing, and walking, so you can find flow in your everyday activities. You have to start taking on the mindset to enjoy the flow and more opportunities in your life, and you fall into a flow state. You become so involved with the activity. Time itself seems to disappear, and a state of flow is the true state of a human being. So if you’re feeling numb with life, you’re doing too many activities with too little skill.

Do something challenging if you’re bored with writing but love to write. Set a deadline to write a creative piece within two hours and post it online. Increase the challenge, and you will find flow. So that’s about the main theme of the book.

The Psychology of Optimal Experience

Author: Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi
Average Customer Review: (4.5 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Popular Applied Psychology, Personality Study
Available: Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle

Check On Amazon

4. Thinking, Fast and Slow

Thinking, fast and slow is a book on behavioral psychology and decision making. The book summarizes research that Daniel Kahneman conducted over decades. After reading this book, go ahead and research a bit about most towards key because you will get a lot of new information. Daniel Kahneman is an Israeli American psychologist and economist notable for his work on the psychology of judgment and decision making, as well as behavioral economics.

The central thesis is a dichotomy between two modes of thought. The first one is system one, the fast-thinking brain, and the system, which is the slow thinking brain. So system one is fast, it’s instinctive, and it’s also emotional. It jumps to conclusions and makes decisions based on biases and heuristics.

On the other hand, System two is slow, deliberate, and logical. It’s also used for analysis, problem-solving and deeper evaluation. The main purpose of reading this book is to understand your brain properly and your thought process. Often, we don’t understand why we do certain things and why we judge others?

So when you understand your fast thinking and slow thinking brain, you realize that is the reason. It is better for you when you know yourself because you will not judge others that way the next time.

The book is pretty lengthy, and it can get tedious at points. There are a lot of experiments and explanations similar to Man Is Search For Meaning. That’s why not everyone will enjoy this book, and it’s a truth. It demands a lot of reading and focus, and not everyone is willing to do that. But if you love to read such books and love to absorb every bit of information, then this book is for you.

Thinking, Fast and Slow

Author: Daniel Kahneman
Average Customer Review: (4.6 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Medical Applied Psychology, Decision-Making & Problem Solving
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon Check On Bookshop

5. Siddharth

The Buddha’s real name is Siddhartha Gautama. However, the book is rooted in Eastern traditions, a western writer writes it. Siddhartha was born into an aristocratic family in ancient India. He is the son of a Brahmin, and he is very high up in society. Also, he indulges in much luxury and wealth. He also is part of rigorous religious rituals. However, neither he nor his father nor his father’s friends has ever found enlightenment.

In the book Man Is Search For Meaning, we know that Viktor is finding the meaning of life. Here, Siddharth and a friend embark on a quest. They leave the prestigious position, and instead, they embark on a journey to find enlightenment for themselves. But they don’t know how to do this. They go through practically every walk of life and experience firsthand the class system of India.

It’s a quest for them to understand the world going through the different provinces of India. I found this book to be enlightening in itself. It’s a very fulfilling read, and honestly, reading it makes you realize the essential things in life and the person with schizophrenia you should focus on. It’s one of those books everyone should read, and as you can see, it’s not very long.

Siddharth

Author: Hermann Hesse
Average Customer Review: (4.7 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Religious Literature & Fiction, Personality Study
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Mass Market Paperback

Check On Amazon

Read More Psychological Books:

Outliers Book Review With Summary

10 Best Books About Willpower

Six Pillars Of Self Esteem Review With Summary

The Way Of The Superior Man Book Review With Summary

Pauline Jackson

I like to talk about popular books. My book review inspires you to read and save time. Also, I summarize the book and give you the best lessons or ideas that can change your life. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.