5 Women Friendship Books Like In Five Years

Women's Friendship Books

In Five Years is one of the best women’s friendship fiction, totally different from other books. The main character of the book is Dannie Kohan. She’s well on her way to fulfilling her life goals, and she has a perfect husband with a luxurious life. One day, she falls asleep, only to wake up in a different apartment with another ring on her finger and in the company of a very different man. It’s the same night, December 15th, but 2025, five years in the future.

It was a dream, and she tells herself when she wakes. But it felt so real, determined to ignore the odd experience, and she files it away in the back of her mind. That is until five years later when Dannie meets the man from his dreams wasn’t what she was expecting.

Dannie does wake up, skip the past five years of her life and then follow her fiance and best friend for the entire year. It is a cute little romance novel. Also, it’s interesting to see how the author has made those things happen. If you are waiting to read books like In Five Years, keep scrolling!

5 Books Like In Five Years (Women’s Friendship Fiction)

We know that girls are jealous and selfish, but the book In Five Years breaks this concept and creates a new psychological discovery. This book shows how two women feel each other and how their friendship builds strong. As a man, this type of story will destroy your thinking and belief.

You will learn something new about women’s world and psychology. Do you want to read more? I’m going to review five books similar to In Five Years. Let’s go!

1. The Last Flight

The story starts with the two women who both pretty much hate their lives. They hate their lives so much that they serendipitously find themselves sitting next to each other in an airport. They decide to abandon their previous lives completely, switch places with each other, change identities, and change plane tickets. Then the story becomes even crazier when one of those planes ends up the crash.

At the very beginning, the plot seemed too contrived, where it was all of these different plot elements and tropes. They were all thrown in in the first few chapters. Also, the writing style felt a little bit too contrived, especially at the beginning.

Like In Five Years, this book did a great job establishing a real sense of impending doom or danger. It was a true thriller in every sense of the word. You had the ticking clock and villains. The book’s main concept was interesting, but the subplots add depth and dimension to the story.

The Last Flight

Author: Julie Clark
Average Customer Review: (4.4 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Women’s Psychological Fiction, Domestic Thrillers
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

2. Every Last Secret

The story revolves around a husband and wife named William and Cat Winthorpe. Cat has struggled in life, and she has worked hard to have a good social standing. She has a wealthy husband and has a lavish lifestyle. Then one day, they get new neighbors, and her husband might have moved next door.

Neena immediately latches on to William. Neena works in Williams company as a life coach, and she soon sets her targets on William. She thinks of William as the next best thing that could happen to her financially and socially. Also, she wants to make sure that Cat is out of the picture.

So then what starts as an infatuation soon turns into an obsession for Neena, where she has to get William even though she is friends with Cat. She wants to make sure that Cat is out of the picture, so the story continues with these two women fighting over the same man. It slowly starts with jealousy, and then it moves into toxic and finally leads to attempted murder. In fact, the story starts with Neena being questioned by the police for murder. So you don’t know exactly who her target is.

Cat and Neena are fantastic characters, and the author wrote both of them in such a delicious manner. From the get-go, you start to hate Neena for how she latches onto William and how she would do anything to get him. What I liked about Neena’s character is how she knows how to read the psychology of people and how she studies behavior well.

So it was more like watching chess gameplay out where she is looking at two steps ahead. She’s planning her most very carefully, and she knows how to act the right way at the right time to capture her feelings slowly. On the other hand, Cat is a lovable wife, and she knows that something is wrong because she knows people like Neena and wants to stop her. But at the same time, she also wants to give her husband the benefit of the doubt and trust him to make sure that he will not do anything stupid.

Things will not progress as you would like them to as the story continues. The story ends as soon as the climax is over, and the book finishes. I have noticed in most of the thrillers that I read. But in this book, the author spends ample time with a few chapters post the climax to give us the impact of the consequences from whatever happened.

It gives you a sense of satisfaction and enclosure to the characters and the storyline, and you don’t feel the story ends abruptly. The author still keeps you on the edge because she writes the story in such a manner that you feel like something might happen again. Also, the characters and plot are very similar to In Five Years.

Every Last Secret

Author: A. R. Torre
Average Customer Review: (4.3 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Women’s Friendship Fiction, Psychological Fiction
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

3. The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo

This is an adult stand-alone historical fiction mixed with some contemporary where Evelyn Hugo is an aging starlet. She’s about 80 years old. She has been a starlet in Hollywood since the fifties, and she has never done interviews or shared much about her life story. But then she contacts a magazine and says that she will interview and requests one of their junior journalists named Monique. So Monique ends up going there, and Evelyn gives her entire life story in the way that she has for no one before.

This is historical fiction. Let me talk about world-building a little bit. The story is broken up into eras based on husbands. So you get back into the fifties and before Evelyn was even a child before then. You will feel that, especially in Hollywood glamour.

Evelyn Hugo is very much a Marilyn Monroe-type character, and you will feel what’s going on around you. She is a powerhouse, beautiful, cunning, ambitious woman, and it’s impossible not to love her. She’s one of those people that only have a few people in her life that she loves and trusts. Those people are so vital to her.

We get a contemporary part of the story and life lessons about herself. Hugo is also bisexual, and it’s an important part of the story. Like In Five Years, It shows how that would affect somebody both now and in that time. It was wonderfully done because you had her both in the present and the past saying that she was bisexual. We also have many people surrounding her and other co-stars and husbands.

So, there were a lot of family elements with some of the people she was with throughout her life. One of her best friends is a constant throughout her life.

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo

Author: Taylor Jenkins Reid
Average Customer Review: (4.6 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Women’s Divorce Fiction, American Literature (Best Seller)
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

4. Truly Madly Guilty

A huge tragic event happens, as in most of Liane’s books. You go and take the majority of the book getting to that event to explore what it is. We have three different couples, and these couples come together, and they have a barbecue. They are Erika, Sam, and Clementine, who are almost like sisters. They’ve been best friends ever since forever. But you learn throughout this book that they have a very strained and tough relationship where it’s one-sided. There are also a lot of marriage problems in this book.

This book explores the same themes of marriage and friendship that are similar to In Five Years. However, there’s also a theme of how you react to a crisis. Clementine and Erika are best friends in this story, but their friendship is complicated. One day they go to a cookout.

Clementine and her family go to a cookout at Erika and Oliver’s neighbor’s house. It’s a day that they wish never happened. What I like most about Liane Moriarty is her character’s internal dialogue, so you get inside the head of all of the characters.

Truly Madly Guilty

Author: Liane Moriarty
Average Customer Review: (3.9 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Psychological Fiction, Women Literature & Fiction
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle

Check On Amazon

5. Verity

This book is not Hoover’s typical emotional romance genre. The story follows a girl named Lowen Ashleigh. She’s not a very successful writer. She is super broke struggles to get book deals. She gets offered a fat deal to finishing a book series by an author of Verity Crawford. She’s been in an accident, and she needs three books left of her series written. They are working to deal with her to finish the series.

Verity has been in an accident, so she has significant brain damage. She can’t move, she can’t talk like she’s a vegetable. Lowen is in this house, going through Verity’s office, looking through her manuscripts, trying to figure out the best way to finish this series. She gets closer to Verity’s husband, Jeremy, who is very handsome and mysterious. Lowen comes across a manuscript in Verity’s office that starts an autobiography that she was writing. We quickly find out that Verity is one sick, twisted sister.

This book has some dark, twisted moments that made me physically nauseous, which is a compliment because it takes a lot. The writing of this was incredible. This book reminded me of the book In Five Years. The story is not the same, but it’s that same aspect, and the character reminds me of dark secrets. Read this book! It’s twisted and dark and is going to mess you up in the head. There are some romantic aspects to this. You do get some of that, and you get your fill of that. But for the most part, this is straight like mystery and thriller.

Verity

Author: Colleen Hoover
Average Customer Review: (4.6 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Romantic Suspense
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon Check On Bookshop

More Friendship & Romance Books: 5 Books Like One Day In December

Pauline Jackson

I like to talk about popular books. My book review inspires you to read and save time. Also, I summarize the book and give you the best lessons or ideas that can change your life. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.