5 Books Like Conversations With Friends

Contemporary Literary Fiction

Conversations with Friends by Sally Rooney is contemporary cultural fiction. Our main character is called Frances. She is a 21-year-old student in Dublin and her ex-girlfriend Bobbie, who is the same. They perform spoken word poetry together because they’re cool.

Then there is Melissa, who is a journalist and a photographer. She’s in her mid-30s, and she’s very cool. Her husband, Nick, who is also in his mid-30s, is an actor, and these two couples meet on the spoken word scene. They fall into this on the back cover it, says Minaj. But mostly, it’s about Frances having an affair with Nick. If you want to read books like Conversations With Friends, stay with me.

5 Books Like Conversations With Friends (Contemporary Literary Fiction)

In the book Conversations With Friends, the author was trying to show off that monogamy was based on a commission model that serves the needs of men and patrilineal societies by allowing them to pass property to their genetic offspring.

Non-monogamy could be based entirely on an alternative model, but we said something more like spontaneous consent. Now I am going to review 5 books similar to Conversations With Friends. Let’s start!

1. Exciting Times

This book follows Ava’s story, a 22-year-old Irish woman who moves to Hong Kong after university to teach English as a foreign language. She meets Julian’s old English banker and her relationship with Edith, a Hong Kong native but was educated in the UK. So we get this with Ava’s relationship. Ava teaches English as a foreign language to Hong Kong’s children, whose parents pay for them to be taught British English.

So it’s quite a lot of meditating on British English versus Irish English. The story is told in the first person by Ava. You can compare this book to Conversations With Friends. The easy comparison to make brings the same debating society at UNI. They know each other, and it’s Irish characters. But they have a very similar vibe. Then we have Edith, who’s like Bobby. Ava romanticizes the concept of the perfect apology then never acts on it. She is self-destructive, and she loves Edith. Why doesn’t she apologize to Edith?

Exciting Times

Author: Naoise Dolan
Average Customer Review: (3.5 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: LGBTQ Contemporary, Women Fiction
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

2. Girl, Woman, Other

This book is about 12 different women’s lives, so each chapter is different. The first chapter is by a woman called AMR, an artist. She also has a teenage daughter called Yaz. Then the next chapter is Yaz, her teenage daughter’s story, so everyone follows on from someone else they know.

You have a woman talking, and then the next chapter will be that woman’s mother talking about them or that woman’s grandmother. So they’re all linked in some way to the last person you’ve heard about.

Everyone seems to be very much linked to AMA, the main character who is throwing this event, and she’s putting on a play. At the end of the story, there is an after-party where many come together in the same room. So you’ve already found out about their life stories in the chapter. Like Conversations With Friends, It goes into their political opinions on their job, childhood, family structures, and past. Also, it is a little snapshot of short stories into each of those women.

Girl, Woman, Other

Author: Bernardine Evaristo
Average Customer Review: (4.4 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Transgender Fiction
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | MP3 CD

Check On Amazon

3. Ghosts

There are many differences in how people decide to live their lives in is the decade where you feel there are big differences in choices that people have made. You may lose friendships relationships over that. This is a book with hidden depths, and the main character deals with very real-life problems similar to Conversations With Friends.

So the story is about Nina Dean. She is a successful food writer who, at the end of her 32nd birthday, decides that she’s going to sign herself up for, and she’s an online dating site. She’s one of her last friends to be single, and she feels a little bit as though she’s getting left behind.

Nina matches Max, who tells her that he will marry her on the first date. Max and Nina date for a couple of months, then he disappears. So Nina’s been ghosted. The book’s title is ghosts, and you might be led to believe from the blurb, but those ghosts are all-around online dating in the modern sense.

The life that Ninan thought she would have at this age and the friendships that she thought would stand the test of time. At the same time, there is the story of Nina’s dad and his dementia, which adds a heartbreaking side to it. It’s very light-hearted women’s fiction, but it has a very sobering side presented so delicately and sensitively. It’s so relatable, whether that is talking about dating in your 30s or how friendships fall to the waysides.

Ghosts

Author: Dolly Alderton
Average Customer Review: (4.2 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Contemporary Literary Fiction
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle

Check On Amazon

4. A Little Life

Like Conversations With Friends, this book is about the lives of four best friends from their college years up until their 50s. It takes place in New York City, and it goes about their relationships with each other, their dynamics with other relationships with other people.

The whole story overall focuses on one of the main characters. His name is Jude St. Francis, and his past trauma and how his trauma affects his past life and his current life with his current relationship with the people surrounding him. It was very heartbreaking, but at the same time, we’ll go into that heartbreak.

It was devastating because of this one main character, Jude. There are a lot of flashbacks past and present. You would be reading about a little snippet of a character’s life, and then all of a sudden, it would go back into the past and explain what they did. They’re dynamic with each other. You will love their true raw peer friendships. It’s very rare, and it doesn’t exist for many people to read about it.

A Little Life

Author: Hanya Yanagihara
Average Customer Review: (4.5 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Coming of Age Fiction, Family Saga Fiction
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | MP3 CD

Check On Amazon

5. On Earth We’re Briefly Gorgeous

This is a book about a happy and means half-white young man writing a letter to his illiterate mother, knowing that she will never read it. So it is a little bit brutally honest and at times a little inappropriate. It’s the letter to his mother. There’s no shape or form that this takes other than that he talks about.

Ocean Vuong is a poet, and he wrote this book within an inch of its life with beautiful poetry so flowery it’s very fluffy. At times he got hung up on the idea of a comma. But then he kept going on about the comma.

So at times, he kept referring back to metaphors that we’ve already established, and we’re moving on from it. But he kept going back to it. It’s a little bit rambly. There were beautiful moments of insight. This book mainly talks about his relationship with his mother. It was going to be about him and his mother and their relationship. This book does not have a plot. You can feel and taste because the writing is evocative and solid as Conversations With Friends.

On Earth We're Briefly Gorgeous

Author: Ocean Vuong
Average Customer Review: (4.4 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Asian American Literature & Fiction, LGBTQ+ Literary Fiction (Best Seller)
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon Check On Bookshop

More LGBTQ Romance Books: 5 Books Similar To I Will Give You The Sun

Pauline Jackson

I like to talk about popular books. My book review inspires you to read and save time. Also, I summarize the book and give you the best lessons or ideas that can change your life. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.