5 Realistic Fiction Books Like Fish In A Tree

Children's Books On Disability

Fish In A Tree is a story about trying to fit in socially and academically. The protagonist Ally has moved several times in several years because her father’s in the military. Trying to fit in and make friends at school has become like a job for her.

Ally is a very talented artist, but she does struggle with reading and writing. She finally meets a teacher who understands why she struggles and wants to help her. With the support of Mr. Daniels and her eccentric friends Keisha and Albert, Ally begins to discover what makes her special. If you want to read books like Fish In A Tree, stay with me.

5 Books Like Fish In A Tree (Children’s Books On Disability)

Fish In A Tree by Lynda Mullaly Hunt is a New York Times bestseller book and the Schneider Family Book Award winner. I like this book because it reminded me of students’ internal struggles when showing their learning in school. This book has something for everyone, especially students who feel unique learners and educators trying to reach them. I have many books similar to Fish In A Tree. So I’m going to review 5 books about it. Let’s go!

1. Out of My Mind

It is a middle-grade novel that follows the main character, Melody. Melody has cerebral palsy, which is jam-packed with internal dialogue because melody has a physical disability. That makes it very difficult for her to communicate with others in the way that we would, which is verbal. So Melody is in a wheelchair. She doesn’t have very great use of her arms or her hands or fingers, and she is also unable to verbalize her thoughts.

However, she has a communication board, a glorified clipboard with buzzwords, and the alphabet for spelling things out. But even that is limited in the way that she can have discussions and conversations and tell people exactly how she feels.

This book does follow a melody through her fifth-grade year. However, it does jump back into different points in time to emphasize what’s going on. For her disability, she faces many difficulties. Other people do not believe in her ability to get things done and succeed. It’s melody trying her best to learn, to communicate with the people around her without having the ability to verbalize her thoughts.

I appreciated this book talking about the main character with a disability and her life story. Like Fish In A Tree, this story represents so many people with disabilities, whether physical or intellectual, and some of their struggles to get the education they deserve.

Melody could think, and that was a powerful moment in the book because the author perfectly discussed the issue that we are facing with people seeing others only for their disability and not for who they are as a whole. It was a very truthful and beautifully written story about a girl who wanted to go to school and learn to the best of her ability. This book is very evident about it, and it talks about it and all the challenges.

Out of My Mind

Author: Sharon M. Draper
Average Customer Review: (4.8 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Realistic Fiction, Children’s Books on Disability (Teachers’ pick)
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

2. Counting by 7s

The book follows Willow Chance, a highly gifted genius, and her story. This is a contemporary book, and her adoptive parents very much love Willow. She does not doubt that, and she’s very secure in her life how it is now. She’s never been able to fit in because of her high intellect. She hopes to find a friend, make friends, and have a new start as a motivated girl.

So she takes the standardized test and aces it, and the teacher believes that she cheated. The teacher sends her to the school district counselor, Dale Duke, and Dale becomes a big character in the story. It gives a little bit of his back story in that he’s one of those guys who had when he was younger, and he had some big dreams and hopes.

When Willow is sent to him, she is unlike anyone he has ever encountered, and he sits up and takes notice. He starts to think of different things that he needs to do to counsel her. He quickly realizes that she didn’t cheat on the test, but he keeps that to himself because he wants to continue to counsel her and hope that he can maybe get something out of it.

Then we find out, though at the end of the first chapter, that a great tragedy happens, and then the story goes back to see the two months leading up to that tragedy. Then, it moves forward as Willow works through what has happened and is dealing with that. The beautiful aspect of the story is that Willow has no idea of the positive effect that she’s having on the people around her. Also, it’s lovely to see how the little things you do can affect someone else. It sends a good message that the little things make a difference, turning into big things similar to Fish In A Tree.

Counting by 7s

Author: Holly Goldberg Sloan
Average Customer Review: (4.7 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Children’s Parents Books (Teachers’ pick)
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

3. Crenshaw

This is an essential book for young readers for a couple of reasons. One, it addresses homelessness with younger students and younger readers who might not necessarily know how to approach that topic or even adults trying to approach it. It also definitely delves into friendship and family, relationships, and things like that. The cover is brilliant, and it’s one of the things that attracted you to this book.

Jackson and his family have fallen on hard times. There’s no more money for rent and not much food, either. His parents, little sister, and the dog may have to live in their minivan again. Crenshaw is a cat. He’s large, outspoken, imaginary. He has come back into Jackson’s life to help him, but enough to save this family from losing everything as an imaginary friend.

You’ll understand some things, like purple jellybeans, if you’ve read the book. It was one of those stories that you can’t forget about it once you’ve read it because it sticks with you. Crenshaw is one of those books because of the symbolism and subject matter. Like Fish In A Tree, it is tough for young readers because it tackles some hard subjects, but it’s also an important one because not many books for young readers do that.

Most books for young readers take a very general approach, and they don’t like to go into these tough, complex topics. But it’s things that the way the author presents it, it’s not so difficult that a child couldn’t understand it or a young reader couldn’t understand it.

Crenshaw

Author: Katherine Applegate
Average Customer Review: (4.8 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Children’s Homelessness & Poverty, Children’s Fantasy & Magic
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

4. Wonder

This book follows a ten-year-old boy named August Pullman, born with a rare genetic condition that caused a major facial deformity. He’s had many surgeries over the years to try and correct what was wrong, but he’s still left not looking like a normal little boy. Because of these different surgeries, he hasn’t been able to go to regular school. He’s been homeschooled by his mom, and one day his mom tries to convince him to go to regular middle school.

People make all of the snap judgments about him, and he does get bullied a lot. This book is over 300 pages and is told from different perspectives. So obviously, there is August’s point of view, and you get to see what he has to deal with daily. It’s also told from the point of view of his family members and his schoolmates.

It’s technically a children’s book, but it doesn’t read like a children’s book. I enjoyed it because it doesn’t have that elementary vocabulary and doesn’t talk down to the reader. The book sends a great message about how powerful kindness can be in a person’s life. If you’re a little bit kind can change somebody’s life. It is impactful when you have read the entire story and relate it with Fish In A Tree.

Wonder

Author: R. J. Palacio
Average Customer Review: (4.8 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Realistic Fiction, Children’s Books on Disability (Best Seller)
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

5. Rules

Cynthia Lord’s Rules is a classic prize-winner book. It is about a young girl named Catherine, and she has a brother named David, who is autistic, and she doesn’t hate her life by any means. But her life is hard for her in some ways. She wants a normal part of her life, where the friend comes in next door. She wants to not think about having to do with these rules and explain these rules constantly to somebody. That’s what the whole book is about.

Every chapter is like a new rule, as these little rules. Cynthia writes to her brother to understand basic life things. They’re cute, and some of them are good life lessons for herself as well.

So she makes all these word cards for him that she knows that teenagers like to say. It’s cute, and they go for walks together. There’s a little bit of the challenge in the book that she has to merge her life like her friend. Somehow, she thinks this is normal. Then, her paraplegic and the autistic paraplegic friend Jason and her autistic brother David merge those lives and redefine normal. The reality and psychological aspects are very similar to Fish In A Tree.

Rules

Author: Cynthia Lord
Average Customer Review: (4.7 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Medical General Psychology, Children’s Books on Disability (Teachers’ pick)
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon Check On Bookshop

More Children Related Book: 10 Books On Orphans

Pauline Jackson

I like to talk about popular books. My book review inspires you to read and save time. Also, I summarize the book and give you the best lessons or ideas that can change your life. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.