5 Children Historical Books Like Esperanza Rising

Children Historical Story

Esperanza Rising by Pam Ryan is historical fiction, and it takes place after the Mexican Revolution. It’s about Esperanza, his journey from being a wealthy citizen in Mexico to traveling to the United States to work in one of the farms that get produced and pack vegetables. It’s an exciting story after her father dies and her uncles try to force her mother into marriage.

Eventually, the story evolves, realizing that Esperanza doesn’t know any better. She’s ignorant of others in the situation. Also, she’s forced into these circumstances where she is either forced to adapt or not to thrive. Esperanza means hope, which is the story’s underlying message. If you like Esperanza Rising, keep reading!

5 Books Like Esperanza Rising (Children’s Historical Fiction)

Esperanza Rising is great because it’s written at an understandable level for students but enjoyable for an adult to read. You can do a cross-curricular historical tie with social studies.

It’s about struggling, overcoming your struggles, and finding hope and desolate situations. I will review 5 books similar to Esperanza Rising, adventurous, and children braveness. Let’s go!

1. Bud, not Buddy

Like Esperanza Rising, this book falls into love, hate, and other filters. But it’s a sweet, heartwarming story, and that’s all it’s trying to be. So this book is about a 10-year-old black boy named Bud who lives in an orphanage during the Great Depression. It’s the story of him trying to find his father because his mother raised him for a long time. But then she died a couple of years before the story started, and that’s why he went to the orphanage.

By the time the story starts, he’s finally tired of getting put in foster homes and coming back to the orphanage over and over again. He’s tired of getting mistreated. The orphanage is crowded, and he doesn’t like it there. So he is going to find his dad. Let’s see what happens. Beyond that, it’s a nice little journey for him.

The main thing that impressed me about this book is the way it’s written, because it’s told from Bud’s point of view, and he’s an interesting character. In that regard, this book does feel like a 10-year-old telling a story but is also intelligent for his age. It doesn’t feel nothing feels dumbed down or anything. Even though he’s brilliant, he occasionally misunderstands things or has things go over his head.

He thinks vampire bats are attacking him at one point, and he thinks it’s going to suck out his blood. Those misunderstandings are funny sometimes. The author of this book does seem to grasp what childhood was like and what kids thought.

Bud, not Buddy

Author: Christopher Paul Curtis
Average Customer Review: (4.7 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Children’s Action & Adventure, Children’s 1900s American Historical Fiction (Teachers’ pick)
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle

Check On Amazon

2. Inside Out and Back Again

This book is written in verse about a Vietnamese girl. She is young, and her family fled Vietnam and came to the United States. Also, it’s her experience between losing her father when she was young and growing up with older brothers. She’s the only girl, and their mom is raising them. While this is fiction, it was based on the author’s real experiences as Esperanza Rising.

This book was easy to get through, though written in verse and chronological order. Even a couple of lines about them made a world of difference. The author touches on race, nationality, and skin color. She discusses a bit of detail about how she was bullied because she was different.

Inside Out and Back Again

Author: Thanhha Lai
Average Customer Review: (4.7 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Children’s 1900s American Historical Fiction (Teachers’ pick)
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | MP3 CD

Check On Amazon

3. Frindle

This book is about two characters. The first is Nicholas Allen, a fifth-grader. He’s a bright kid but a bit of a troublemaker. Then there is his language arts teacher named Mrs. Granger, who is very serious and strict, and you cannot make fun of words in front of her. But since Nick is a bit of a troublemaker, Mrs. Granger gave him homework to make an oral report about the origin of words. Nick isn’t fond of the idea, but he was fascinated while researching at home.

All of a sudden, because words have different origins, whether it’s Latin or Greek roots or French or German language and a whole lot more. So that’s where it all began. Then one day, when Nick was walking down by the street, he found a gold pen, so he picked it up. But instead of calling it pen, one word stuck to his mind. He called it friendly. So this is the pen. He chose to call it pharyngeal, so he made a new word by himself. That’s where this crazy adventure begins.

The word friendly became so popular it immediately clicked to the point where it started receiving national attention. Nick has to face the consequences. Throughout this popularity, one person won’t approve of this. That’s none other than his teacher, Mrs. Granger. So it’s a simple kid trying to make a big difference in this world which is very similar to Esperanza Rising. He’s boosting confidence and pushing forward imagination and creativity.

Frindle

Author: Andrew Clements
Average Customer Review: (4.8 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Etymology, Children’s Classics (Best Seller)
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle

Check On Amazon

4. Walk Two Moons

Sal entertains her grandparents with Phoebe’s outrageous story. Her own story begins to unfold the story of a 13-year-old girl whose only wish is to be reunited with her missing mother in her Award-Winning style. Sharon Creech intricately weaves together two tales, one funny, one bittersweet, to create a heartwarming, compelling, and utterly moving story of love, loss, and the complexity of human emotion.

Two stories are going on here. As we learn more about one story, we gain insight into the main story. Sal is a 13-year-old girl going on a road trip with her adorable grandparents. Also, it all ties back into a road trip that she’s going on with her grandparents.

Phoebe is going to Idaho to find her mother, and along the way, she tells a story. That’s the first pleasure of Walk Two Moons by Sharon Creech. You get the story Sal tells about her friend, the curiously-uptight Phoebe Winterbottom. You get Sal’s story about coming to terms with her mother’s departure and about learning how to live again. Like Esperanza Rising, this book is full of many emotions and real stories.

Walk Two Moons

Author: Sharon Creech
Average Customer Review: (4.7 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Children’s Classics Literature
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Mass Market Paperback

Check On Amazon

5. A Long Walk to Water

This book is a dual perspective from Salva, who is pretty much our main character. It was about life in the eighties in South Sudan when the Civil War was going on. Salva was used to being part of a farming family. He would take care of the cattle and occasionally go hunting with his siblings. One day at school, they heard gunshots, and the teacher told them to run into the bush because they didn’t want to be recruited as child soldiers.

It’s about Salva walking through the desert with other boys and adults. He eventually meets up with his uncle by chance, and a group of these adults is walking, trying to get away from the war and the hardships they go through in the days without water and food crossing over rivers.

Here they have to take care of crocodiles, watching out for lions at night and eventually making it to a refugee camp in Ethiopia and down the road being turned away from there, having to walk to another refugee camp in Kenya. The historical image and adventure are very similar to Esperanza Rising.

A Long Walk to Water

Author: Linda Sue Park
Average Customer Review: (4.8 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Children’s Military Fiction, Children’s African History Fiction (Best Seller)
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | MP3 CD

Check On Amazon Check On Bookshop

Children’s Fantasy Books: 5 Books Similar To The Phantom Tollbooth

Children’s Adventure Books: 5 Books Similar To The City Of Ember

Children’s Mystery Books: 5 Books Similar To The Westing Game

Pauline Jackson

I like to talk about popular books. My book review inspires you to read and save time. Also, I summarize the book and give you the best lessons or ideas that can change your life. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.