5 Child Adventure Books Like The City Of Ember

Children's Adventure Books

The City of Ember was published in 2003 by Jeanne DuPrau. It’s a sci-fi fantasy and adventure book about the post-apocalyptic world and a girl named Lina. Her life in the city was created for its inhabitants to survive for the next 200 years. They had enough supplies, a generator, and everything they would need to survive for two hundred years.

They’re called the builders of this city, and they created instructions for what to do after two hundred years in the city because the supplies wouldn’t last much longer. These instructions were put in a locked box for the mayor to keep track of, and only the mayor knew about them. The mayor was supposed to pass them on to the next mayor in that direction.

Lina is searching for some answers. Another young teenager notices that some things are wrong in this society and things aren’t working like they used to, but no one else seems to be worried about it, and everyone else says everything is fine.

So there’s a theme in this book of not accepting what others tell you to be true and finding the answers for yourself. Also, the book has won a few awards. It was a 2003 child magazine’s best children’s book and won the Kirkus Editors Choice Award and the Mark Twain Award. Follow me if you want to read books like The City Of Ember.

5 Books Like The City Of Ember (Children’s Mystery & Adventure)

Imagine with me living in a world in complete darkness, no sunshine, no sunrises, no sunset, no moon, even at night to guide you. Imagine the only light you have is by the string of light bulbs throughout the street, and they keep going out.

Are you feel the adventure and want to discover the world? I know you want because you are here to read mystery and adventure books similar to The City Of Ember. I will review 5 similar books about detective, spy, fantasy, and sci-fi. Let’s start our journey!

1. Among the Hidden

This is the first book in the shadow children’s series. There’s been some population crisis, and the government has put into place a population law that only allows families to have two children for there to be enough food for everyone. Among the Hidden tells the story of Luke Garner, who is a third child. As a third child, he must be kept hidden. Otherwise, his parents will be punished, and he will be killed. So it’s told from Luke’s point of view, and I found myself feeling for Luke.

Initially, things weren’t so bad for Luke because his family lives on a farm and they’re fairly isolated, and they had big woods behind their house. So Luke could go outside and play with his brothers and experience the outdoors. But then the government came and bought up the woods behind his family’s house, cut the trees down, and built housing development. At that point, Luke is not allowed to leave the house anymore. He’s not allowed downstairs out of his attic bedroom because they don’t want his shadow seen in the windows.

So Luke is confined to his windowless bedroom, and he’s desperately peering out these little slats in like the roof’s ventilation for a hint of the outside world. I felt so bad for Luke, mainly because he took it with such grace like he could see that his mother was too tired to tuck him in every night. However, this was the only time he spent with her. But he always thinks of other people like he’s not. He’s not whining or burdening his family with his feelings of isolation.

You will probably continue reading at least a second book to see where this goes. It is because the ending was pretty exciting. It was unexpected, as The City Of Ember. I’m curious to know where the second book, Among the Imposters, takes Luke on his adventure. If you’re looking for something for younger children or your reading pleasure, I recommend checking out the first book, Among the Hidden.

Among the Hidden

Author: Margaret Peterson Haddix
Average Customer Review: (4.7 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Children’s Mystery, Detective, & Spy, Action & Adventure
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

2. Serafina and the Black Cloak

This book is full of suspense and mystery. It takes place in Asheville, North Carolina, at Biltmore Estate, and it is the account of Serafina. She is a bit different than other kids, and her father lives in the basement of Biltmore Estate, which is owned by the Vanderbilts. Snd she is the chief rat-catcher. Serafina looks a little bit different, but as you can tell from her title, she acts slightly different. Also, it all starts in the beginning.

In the first few chapters, she discovers a man in the black cloak who kidnapped children from Biltmore Estate. Serafina is determined to figure out who this man is and what is happening to the children. Are the children dead? Are they being kept somewhere? What’s happening? So that’s the main plot of the story. But then there’s the underlying subplot of Serafina trying to figure out why she lives in the basement? Why can’t she go up to the other levels of the building? She doesn’t have any friends. Her father keeps her a secret and tries to explore her identity and who she is.

Like The City Of Ember, there’s a wonderful theme in this book of good versus evil, and Serafina questions many. It would be great if you are a homeschooler or a teacher and want to use it in your classroom. There are many elements of literature here with the plot and the setting, and it’s a historical setting that’s real. So that would be very interesting to do a character development as well.

Serafina and the Black Cloak

Author: Robert Beatty
Average Customer Review: (4.7 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Children’s Mystery, Detective, & Spy
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

3. A Tale of Magic

The genre of this book is fantasy. This book is truly for everyone who loves fantasy and who loves to explore a new world. It picks up with Brystal Evergreen, the main character, the protagonist of this story. She lives in a family and in a world where women are suppressed. Magic exists but is forbidden by law, and if you have magic powers and come forth with them, you are sent away to boarding schools. So the minorities are suppressed, and the men are the law, and they can do whatever they want.

Brystal is a very smart girl. She wants to go to school, but she can’t because she’s a girl. She reads books that her brother brings her. Then she takes a job at the local library and finds a hidden section in that same library. She is caught in that hidden section and sent away to school, but it’s not truly a school. It seems a camp where she has to do all terrible things, and it’s awful. There are all these girls there with magical powers. But Brystal is saved by a mysterious woman named Madame Weatherberry. Madame recruits a few other characters.

This book has a massive twist, and Chris Colfer did it again. He also said that this was the most challenging book that he had written. Fun fact, The second book has been announced in this series, A Tale of Witchcraft. This book is full of powerful messages similar to The City Of Ember. There are many things that people give you hate for about yourself if it is your interest or your talent or something. Fight for what you love then you will have a great life. So this book was very optimistic, but it was also so enjoyable.

A Tale of Magic

Author: Chris Colfer
Average Customer Review: (4.8 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Children’s Books about Libraries & Reading, Fantasy & Magic
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

4. The Hunger Games

This is a post-apocalyptic story set in what once was North America. The world has been split up into 12 districts, used to be 13, but we’ll learn about that later. A ruthless capital rules it as a punishment for rebelling against the capital. Each district, every year, must send two kids between the ages of 12 and 18 to compete in what is known as The Hunger Games, and only one will survive. So in this book, we are following the events of Katniss after she volunteers for the Games and what happens afterward.

In this first book, I already see Katniss in a much different light, and I see her as a survivor. She may think that she doesn’t care about anybody else on the surface. She has a lot of compassion for other people. If she deems you loyal, she will do anything to keep you safe.

That’s what gets her launched into The Hunger Games, seeing her sister Primm being called being chosen to be in the hunger games. She can’t let that stand. So, she’s going to volunteer. Once she’s in the games, she will find that making relationships with other attributes is largely a bad idea since only one of them can survive.

The Hunger Games

Author: Suzanne Collins
Average Customer Review: (4.7 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Dystopian Sci-Fi for Children, Teen & Young Adult Fiction about Self Esteem & Reliance (Best Seller)
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle

Check On Amazon

5. Witch And Wizard

The story centers around two main characters, Wisty and Whit. It starts with them being suddenly woken up by soldiers from the new utilitarian government called the New Order. Also, it is led by somebody known who is the one they are arrested under the accusation of being accused of witchcraft and wizardry. The children are very confused. They don’t know what’s going on before they can do anything. They are arrested and sent to prison, where they go under a judge and get sentenced to be executed while waiting for their execution.

The children discover that they have hidden powers and use them to escape the prison with the help of a few outlawed children. They then use their powers to try and save their parents, who they think were also arrested by the government. There were so many twists and turns in this story that it kept you on your toes. Although this book is about three hundred pages, it’s got like one hundred and four chapters. It is because it would go like one or two pages, and then a new chapter would start, and it would be through some through the other character’s point of view. The characters and plot are very similar to The City Of Ember.

Witch And Wizard

Author: James Patterson
Average Customer Review: (4.5 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Dystopian Sci-Fi for Children
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle

Check On Amazon Check On Bookshop

More Children Fantasy Books: 5 Books Like The Phantom Tollbooth

Pauline Jackson

I like to talk about popular books. My book review inspires you to read and save time. Also, I summarize the book and give you the best lessons or ideas that can change your life. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.