7 Fairy Tales Books Like Fablehaven Series

Fantasy Fiction

Fablehaven by Brandon Mull is a fantasy fiction story about a brother and sister who went to their grandparent’s house. But we’ve been known to them in a world of fantasy, mythological creatures, fairies, witches, all crazy things. There are five books in this series, and once you’ve read on it, you want to read the book.

So the story is about a pair of siblings who find out that their grandfather is the caretaker of this preserve for magical creatures called Fablehaven and their adventures in that magical preserve. If you are a lover of fantasy fiction, mythological storylines, and adventure Fablehaven type books, you are on the right platform.

7 Books Like Fablehaven Series

Fablehaven represents a magical, wonderful place with fairies, setters-senators, amazing creatures, and scary creatures like trolls and demons. So there are all these wonderful fun adventures they’re going to have. Our main characters, Kendra and Seth, are excited and curious to find out what will happen and how the day will be saved.

Also, all these characters are not good, and they’re on this preserve, and something happens that causes a big commotion. So Kendra and Seth have to figure out how to save the day and save Fablehaven. Now, I will review 7 children’s fantasy/magic books like Fablehaven. Let’s go!

1. The Gracekeepers

We have two different cultures. The land lockers live on the land, and the dumplings live on the water. This world is largely flooded, and there are small islands of people living on the islands. So we have one main character called North. She is part of a circus, the bear trainer within the circus. Then another main character called Callanish is a Gracekeeper. She lives out on the water on her own, and people come to her when someone has died for her to perform the last graces.

So it’s like a funeral ceremony. She conducts their funeral, so the two girls don’t know each other. We follow each of their stories individually. As time goes on, we see them intersect, and it’s a very beautiful book. I enjoyed the relationship between North and her bear.

It was entertainment and attraction. You travel around, and at the point where we pick up the story, all we know is that North is hiding something. She’s very happy there with her bear, but she’s hiding something, and some of the other people on the crew know what it is, but most of them don’t. She will be disgraced if she gets discovered and has a secret.

By coincidence, these two girls end up meeting, and they instantly connect. That changes the course of both their lives. Both of them have been settled in their lives but are not happy. When they meet each other, they find out they need to be happy. Like Fablehaven’s Kendra and Seth, they need to change up things do things for themselves. Although some of it’s predictable, some of it’s not. Overall, it’s a solid, likable read. I would certainly say check out if it appeals to you.

The Gracekeepers

Author: Kirsty Logan
Average Customer Review: (4.0 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Mythology & Folk Tales
Number Of Pages: 320
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

2. The School for Good and Evil

It’s about the two girls who grow up in a village where the school for good and evil at a certain age will sometimes pull kids into studying to either be heroes or villains. So one girl always grows up thinking that she would be a villain and a witch. The other girl thinks that she would be a hero. But they go to the school, and it turns out that they’re wrong. It undercuts these interesting ideas about good and evil and how we handle gender.

This book tells about love, love, and friendship, similar to Fablehaven. It’s ultimately the story of a beautiful, strong friendship between the two young girls. But all of these other things that it unpacks. So it’s my favorites from childhood and one that I have reread multiple times over the years that continues to hold up very well.

The School for Good and Evil

Author: Soman Chainani
Average Customer Review: (4.8 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Children’s Folk Tales & Myths
Number Of Pages: 640
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

3. Alanna: The First Adventure (Song of the Lioness)

The first quartet of books crosses from middle grade into WHYY. The main character is ten in book one, and by the end of the series, she’s in her early twenties is about Alanna. She has a twin brother, and she is supposed to be sent off to finish school. But what she wants is to be a knight, and her brother wants to be a mage. So they switch places.

Her brother Thom goes and trains magic to be a mage, and she disguises herself as a boy so that she can train to become a knight. This was, in many ways, my first introduction to feminism. I love Alanna as a character. There ends up being magic in the story, and it’s a wonderful world. So I highly recommend Alanna if you love Fablehaven.

Alanna

Author: Tamora Pierce
Average Customer Review: (4.7 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Action & Adventure Fantasy
Number Of Pages: 274
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Mass Market Paperback

Check On Amazon

4. Dealing with Dragons (Enchanted Forest Chronicles)

It is the Enchanted Forest Chronicle series, and this is book number one. Also, it is a middle-grade or children’s series. We follow a young princess called Cimorene who hates her life. She’s in a bad situation where she doesn’t like being a princess. Everyone expects her to act like a princess should act. Everyone thinks that she should smile when people smile at her. They think that she should be quite happy.

Unfortunately, Cimorene does not thrive in the environment of a palace. Being a princess waiting for her prince, she hates it. She wants to get out. So when she finds out that there is a plot from her parents to marry her off. She needs to leave the palace and get out. What she does is she goes to live with some dragons.

I have to say this is one of the funniest, most amusing, wonderful influences on young children that I could recommend to you, particularly young females. A lot of the time in fairy tales, we have the princess waiting for her prince, and she’s very reliant on the man in her life. It shows you a young princess who can think for herself, is intelligent, witty, funny, and get things done. The adventure is simply for children, but the character and the flipped tropes made me so happy. If you like Fablehaven, then you must read this one.

Dealing with Dragons

Author: Patricia C. Wrede
Average Customer Review: (4.8 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Humorous Fiction & Literature
Number Of Pages: 212
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | School & Library Binding | Kindle | Audio, Cassette

Check On Amazon

5. Emperor of the Eight Islands (The Tale of Shikanoko)

The story is set in the same world as the author’s Tales of an Otory series. It’s very simple in the writing style, but the adventure and the plot are fast-paced and fun throughout the whole thing. This is a great way to get that fix of oriental-inspired fiction because it does have a lot of tribal influence from ancient Asia.

We follow a couple of different characters in this, and it’s set in a world three hundred years before the Otori story where people rule in courts. They live in the wilderness like forests, in little shacks, and magic is very much alive in this world. Also, we follow many different big dynasties and families that are ever reaching across this place and big families that will connect with feuds. All plots are going on, or who will be the emperor of this world.

We also follow a young character called Yoshi, the new emperor after the old one is killed. He is very young, though he is a child, and he doesn’t know anything about who he has to be or the expectations. So he is often traveling with other people. Ackie or Akai is the autumn princess. That’s her name, and she is helping Yoshi get away from the situation and hide until he is of age.

The magic in this book has raised the rating for me as Fablehaven. There’s no real explanation behind the magic. It’s a world where magic is a thing, and I like that sometimes to be chucked into a world where magic is just the thing. Overall, it was likable and easy to get into a quick read.

Emperor of the Eight Islands

Author: Lian Hearn
Average Customer Review: (4.4 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Historical Fantasy, Magical Realism
Number Of Pages: 431
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

6. The Iron Trial (Magisterium)

Their middle-grade Magisterium series gives me vibes like reading Harry Potter. It’s got that whimsicalness to it and vivid imagery. But it flips things on its head where instead of our protagonist being the chosen one to save all the people are protagonist might be a prophesied villain who will destroy everything. So it’s fun series like Fablehaven.

The Iron Trial

Author: Holly Black
Average Customer Review: (4.6 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Adult Fantasy Action & Adventure
Number Of Pages: 295
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

7. The Dreadful Tale of Prosper Redding (Prosper Redding)

The story is about a boy who discovers that he’s been carrying another dimension because of his bloodline. Now it’s coming to life after thousands of years, and this being is named Alastor, who is hilarious. He’s been asleep for a thousand years, and he’s trying to come to terms with the modern world. So, it’s a great adventure story, a story about found family and coming of age. The character’s situation and the plot are very similar to Fablehaven.

The Dreadful Tale of Prosper Redding

Author: Alexandra Bracken
Average Customer Review: (4.4 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Family Life Fiction
Number Of Pages: 362
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon Check On Bookshop

Read More Similar Fairy Tales Books: 5 Fairy Tales Books Like Land Of Stories

Pauline Jackson

I like to talk about popular books. My book review inspires you to read and save time. Also, I summarize the book and give you the best lessons or ideas that can change your life. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.