5 Fairy Tales Books Like Land Of Stories

Fantasy Fairy Tales

The Land of Stories by Chris Colfer is a children’s fantasy and magic book. The book’s based many fairy tale aspects around the two brothers and sister. Alex and Connor are thrust into this storybook world.

Hence the name is the land of Stories, and they have to find their way back home. But the only way to do that is to collect the items needed for the wishing spell. To do that, they have to travel throughout the entire kingdom and collect these different elements that they need for the Wishing Spell. Follow me if you are waiting to read books like Land Of Stories!

5 Books Like Land Of Stories (Fairy Tales)

The Land of Stories follows fairy tales. There’s nothing better than fairy tales, whether you’re a child or an adult. We all can appreciate fairy tales in one way or another. The storybook happens to be a portal into the land of stories, and Alex and Conner find themselves in the land of stories, having all crazy adventures.

We see a good deal of the major fairy tale characters in this book, and it takes place after all these fairy tales have happened. We also see lots of interaction between all these fairy tale characters, and it was a great thing to read. I will review 5 books similar to Land Of Stories to read more. Let’s go!

1. Keeper of the Lost Cities

The book is about a girl named Sophie Foster. She’s 12 at the beginning of the first book, and she lives in San Francisco. Since she was little, she hit her head. Ever since then, she’s been able to hear everyone’s thoughts around her. So she’s like a prodigy in school but has no friends.

In the very first chapter, We get she’s in the museum. She’s on a class field trip. Author Shannon Messenger gets right into it, which is good because the world she’s building isn’t the human world anyway.

You will find that Sophie is not a human, and that’s why she can hear people’s thoughts. She is an elf. So the founder is a Fitz, and this is a side character. He finds Sophie, then takes her to where she’s supposed to be. It’s called one of the lawsuits. She lives in the city, and she doesn’t know what it’s called the Old City. That’s not supposed to be real for humans, and humans are banned from the lost cities.

The whole book is about her coming, and she’s so behind everyone else her age. When she finds out her family’s not her real family, she doesn’t know her parents. She has to go and stay with these people she doesn’t know. Then she starts at the magical school and can read people’s minds. Like Land Of Stories, this book has many magical and adventure elements that you will love.

Keeper of the Lost Cities

Author: Shannon Messenger
Average Customer Review: (4.9 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Children’s Fantasy & Magic, Friendship Action & Adventure
Available: Paperback | Hardcover

Check On Amazon

2. Story Thieves

This is the first book in the series of Story Thieves. There are also three books in that series. It’s about a girl named Bethany, and she has a new friend named Owen. Bethany is a book jumper, which means she can jump into books, and she’ll end up in that book. She can do whatever she wants in the stories. Owen one day sees her jumping into a book. He finds out she can jump into books.

Now they have to get home before it’s too late, because if you guys have heard of this time travel. If you’re in time travel and see yourself there, you’ll turn into stone. If you’re in a book and mess with the stories and characters and add things that aren’t in it, it will ruin the whole book series. So they have to get home before they ruin anything else. The characters and world-building are very similar to Land Of Stories.

Story Thieves

Author: James Riley
Average Customer Review: (4.6 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Children’s Fantasy & Magic
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

3. Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library

This is a middle-grade contemporary story about a 12-year-old boy named Kyle. He feels as though there’s nothing special about him. He has a smart older brother and an athletic older brother. One thing about Kyle is that he loves games, and his favorite game maker of all time is Mr. Lemoncello. So when he hears that Mr. Limoncello is building a library in his community, he wants to check out this library because it’s not going to be any other library.

So Mr. Lemoncello and his fellow library creators plan on having 12-year-olds spend the night in a lockdown to celebrate the library’s opening. Kyle and a couple of his friends are lucky children who get selected to spend a night in the library. So when they go to the library, they realize that they will be staying there for a lot longer than they bargained for.

Mr. Lemoncello locks them in the library and tells them they have to find their way out. He left a bunch of clues and hints and stuff like that. So they have to go on quests and scavenger hunts, and they have to use their mystery detective, uncovering skills to find clues in books and various parts of the library.

There are holograms and mannequins of all dead authors who walk around and talk. There are all crazy technology and impossible things, so I consider this literary book fiction. You have some of Kyle’s best friends like Miguel, Ikimi, and Sierra. Sierra is a fascinating character.

Then you have Charles, another kid in the library who’s arrogant and stuck up. You have Haley, who’s this snobby rich girl. So this book is the breakfast bunch meets Charlie, and the Chocolate Factory meets Scooby-Doo. You get to see them talk about The Hunger Games and Land Of Stories.

Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library

Author: Chris Grabenstein
Average Customer Review: (4.7 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Children’s Mystery, Detective, & Spy, Action & Adventure
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

4. A Wrinkle in Time

Like Land Of Stories, A Wrinkle in Time is a sci-fi book. You’re whisked off on this magical journey through time and space to save Meg and Charles Wallace from the impending black thing that is trying to suck the life out of everything. It is horrifying, and it’s consuming everyone and everything we love. We go to all of these different planets. We meet all of these different beings, these alien-type things. There are these three women, Mrs. Whatsit, Mrs. Who, Mrs. Which, who seemed to know all, and there’s something very mysterious going on about them.

It’s all rooted in this story of this girl being different from everybody else and learning that what makes her different and what makes her stand out from society is what makes her great. Her greatest faults are her greatest strengths, and you will love seeing that throughout the book. We see that with Meg and Calvin, who come along for the ride. We also see that with her little brother, Charles Wallace, a very odd five-year-old who talks in complete sentences. He is intelligent, and he might read people’s minds.

A Wrinkle in Time

Author: Madeleine L’Engle
Average Customer Review: (4.6 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Children’s Time Travel Fiction, Classic
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Mass Market Paperback

Check On Amazon

5. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

Sorcerer’s Stone is filled with so many classic Harry Potter scenes. We have when Harry is at the zoo for Dudley’s birthday, and he’s talking to the snake for the first time, and the glass disappears, and that’s the first view of Harry’s magic. After 20 years of Harry Potter being released and after all the books have been published, J.K. Rowling is trying to push the fact that Slytherins are not all evil. They’re not all bad, and they can be great wizards too. Even Ron explicitly says, “there has never been a witch or wizard who went bad who wasn’t in Slytherin.”

In Sorcerer’s Stone, when Malfoy and Harry meet for the second time on the train, Draco tries to be nice to him cause he knows it’s Harry Potter. Jo constantly sets us up for an expected reaction. He was using internal and external factors to set this up that this will be a tough, negative moment for Harry, but as it turns out, he ends up being the youngest Seeker in a century and is asked to play on the Gryffindor quidditch team.

We learn throughout the series that Hogwarts has protective enchantments. That’s why things with electricity don’t work at Hogwarts, that’s why you can’t apparate in or out of Hogwarts. So why can they fly onto the grounds like that? A critical point in their security?

Nearing the end of the story, after Ron, Hermione, and Harry have figured out the stone is what’s being protected inside of Hogwarts, that’s it’s in the third-floor corridor. They’re confident that Snape’s going to steal it. They go after Dumbledore to tell him, but they catch McGonagall. This part of the story frustrates me because McGonagall is so dismissive of them. If you like Land Of Stories, you must give it the first chance.

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone

Author: J.K. Rowling
Average Customer Review: (4.8 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Teen & Young Adult Wizards & Witches Fantasy (Best Seller)
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle

Check On Amazon Check On Bookshop

More Children Fantasy Books: 5 Books Similar To The Phantom Tollbooth

Pauline Jackson

I like to talk about popular books. My book review inspires you to read and save time. Also, I summarize the book and give you the best lessons or ideas that can change your life. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.