5 Horror-Fantasy Books Like Wilder Girls

Fantasy & Horror

It’s been 18 months since the Raxter School for girls was quarantined. A disease hit the island school, killing most staff and leaving the girls to fend for themselves. The bodies of the girls who survived changed into something else. Some emerged with bruised bodies, second spines, or clawed hands.

So you have this place where the girls are constantly told that there’s a cure being worked on. They have to wait it out not to break the quarantine and go into the woods as this disease feeds off the island. You have the main character, Hetty, and her friend goes missing. So she decides to do anything to bring her back, even if it means breaking the quarantine and leaving the zone and going into the horrors of the woods. Stay with me if you want to read horror fantasy books like Wilder Girls.

5 Books Like Wilder Girls (Fantasy & Horror)

Wilder Girls by Rory Power is a fantasy and horror with adventure and mystery. You will love the survival and the idea of these girls being cut off from the rest of the world. There’s the crazy mutating virus that’s been lost on this island, and things are happening to them.

The story is told from two different perspectives. It’s told from two girls within the school, and it’s told from one who gets taken away. So you can get some pieces about what’s going on here. Now I am going to review 5 books similar to Wilder Girls. Let’s go!

1. Cinderella Is Dead

It’s a standalone fantasy novel, which you don’t have to worry about reading a trilogy of 12 books. The book is a Cinderella retelling, which is also fairytale retelling. Like Wilder Girls, it deals with how history can be twisted to help those in power.

So for this world, it’s been 20 years since Cinderella has died. It’s been two hundred years since Cinderella found her Prince Charming. Everywhere you look, everything is about Cinderella and the magic of the ball, the magic of the fairy godmother. It’s almost the religion of this land. It is a very patriarchal society.

Men are the heads of the household. They have the last word. Women are second-class citizens. So when girls turn 16, they’re required to go to the annual ball to find a husband, and the kingdom’s men attend to find wives. If the girls don’t attend, it’s terrible for their families and themselves. They get three shots of finding a husband. After that, they disappear, and again, it ends badly for their family also. So it’s in your best interests to put all your energy into the ball, into pampering yourself.

The main character of the book is Sophie. She is getting ready for the ball that she does not want to attend. She would rather be with the love of her life, her best friend, Aaron. So she attends the ball, and trouble ensues, and she runs away and then running away, she runs into one of the last descendants of Cinderella sisters named Constance. The two of them team up to bring down Prince Charming.

So you deal with history, and they have to deal with how the Cinderella tale wasn’t, how they were always told. You have girls who decide to create their fairy tale ending.

Cinderella Is Dead

Author: Kalynn Bayron
Average Customer Review: (4.5 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Fairy Tale & Folklore Adaptations, LGBTQ+ Romance
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle

Check On Amazon

2. Crier’s War

Crier’s War takes place in a world like Detroit. If any of you have ever played that game, except it is also very much imperial and pretty dresses and fun stuff. So Crier is made, and in her time, the made creations of humans. They were made to be perfect and immortal. All that fun stuff rose against the humans because they believed they were superior and should be in charge, and there was a big power flip. We have all made creatures on top and their human servants beneath them, and Crier is made.

Crier is the daughter of somebody very important when it comes to the whole plot of all of this. She’s engaged to somebody essential when it comes to the entire plot of all of this. But then we also have Ayla, a human servant who wants to kill her career, start a rebellion. You will love seeing Crier and Ayla’s relationship evolve as the story goes on. There’s so much rich history of this world and many details as Wilder Girls.

Crier's War

Author: Nina Varela
Average Customer Review: (4.7 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Epic Fantasy, Science Fiction & Dystopian Romance
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

3. Sawkill Girls

The story follows three girls, Marion and Zoey, and Val. They all live on Sawkill Rock, which has a mysterious past of missing girls. Marion is the new girl in town. Zoey is the outcast who has been there a while, and Val is the queen bee. Their stories start to intertwine when more girls go missing, and they figure out their role in that. So this is a horror thriller-type story similar to Wilder Girls.

It has a paranormal-type element to it, so it almost has a magical realism sense to it, the world of Sawkill Rock and the area of Sorcha, which is in itself a magical place. Over time, this story has been brewing of these women and girls who have gone missing. The ridiculous richness and level of wealth make for its layer to a story. It isn’t about the character’s wealth because most of the characters in the story are not wealthy. But it adds that backdrop of borderline like Gatsby parties.

We have these three girls who are so complex and multidimensional, and the way their lives weave together is so interesting. So the story is about female friendship and female bonds, not even with friendship and women in love with one another and their power of women. Also, two of the main characters are women who love other women, and one of the main characters is asexual.

Sawkill Girls

Author: Claire Legrand
Average Customer Review: (4.2 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Dark Fantasy, Friendship Fiction
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

4. Girl, Serpent, Thorn

The story’s plot follows Soraya, and she is a girl that a demon has cursed to be poisonous to anyone she touches. So because of this curse, she’s led a very isolating life. Even though she is a princess, her twin brother will become king one day. She can’t interact with her family, so she’s very sad. The only thing she loves is her garden.

One day, while she’s standing in her garden, looking at her brother, who’s going down a procession. She notices a soldier, and they have this connection. Then later that day, she realizes that a demon has been caught and is put in a dungeon.

Soraya hopes that with the help of this soldier and the demon, she’ll be able to break the curse on her. As the story unfolds, she realizes the benefits and power of this curse. One of the characters is a male soldier, a complex, interesting dynamic.

Like Wilder Girls, the world-building in this was phenomenal. It has a Persian influence, which was unique, and it felt very immersive. There are two main settings with the demons having this place in a mountain, and it feels very dark. Then you have the kingdom where Soraya lives and her garden. That sounds very lush and beautiful. There’s an author’s note where Soraya explains her influence, which is unique.

Girl, Serpent, Thorn

Author: Melissa Bashardoust
Average Customer Review: (4.4 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Monster Fiction & Dark Fantasy, Ethnic Fairy Tales & Folklore
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

5. One Last Stop

This book is a standalone adult contemporary with queer-positive romance. It follows two women, so one of them is named August, and she has moved to New York City. She’s trying to make her own life because she’s always been subject to whatever her mum wants and needs. So she’s based her existence around her mum.

One day on the train, she runs into a girl named Jane. Jane is a punk-looking leather jacket girl. August is developing a crush on her. This is a queer rom-com and a subway time travel romance, a huge tongue twister. There are a lot of characters in here that aside characters as well. All of the characters that were side characters felt fleshed out. They had their personalities and motivations. There was a lot of focus here on friendship and family, which is very similar to Wilder Girls.

One Last Stop

Author: Casey McQuiston
Average Customer Review: (4.5 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Multicultural LGBTQ+ Romance
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon Check On Bookshop

More LGBT Romance Books: 5 Books Like I Will Give You The Sun

Pauline Jackson

I like to talk about popular books. My book review inspires you to read and save time. Also, I summarize the book and give you the best lessons or ideas that can change your life. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.