5 Horror Books Like Flowers In The Attic

Gothic Horror Books

There are five books in the series Flowers in the Attic. This book is about four kids named Kathy, Christopher, Corey, and Carrie. A tragedy happens in their family, and all four kids end up locked in and add to their grandfather’s house.

These young kids are working together to stay alive crazy. It is an incredible book, and it will make you frustrated, upset and hopeful, scared, and worried. This young adult horror mystery book teaches you a lot about life, and it opens your eyes up to what reality can be. If you want to read like Flowers In The Attic, follow me.

5 Books Like Flowers In The Attic (Horror Fiction)

As a mystery and horror lover, I always try to read this type of book every week. So my horror list collection is very long. The book Flowers In The Attic is in the top five positions in this list because I love gothic horror. Do you want to know my list? You are here because you want to read more horror books. I’ll review 5 books similar to Flowers In The Attic so that you keep your excitement until the last page of the book. So let’s go!

1. Mexican Gothic

Mexican Gothic is not a gothic romance. It is a gothic horror novel. If you are interested in a horror story with gothic vibes that includes a super creepy house that may be haunted, you might have come to the right place. I love the project of what Silvia Moreno does as an author. She infuses Mexican history, culture, and mythology into her writing in all her books, regardless of genre. Mexican Gothic is no different.

The story is set in Mexico in the 1950s, and it follows a young woman named Noemi, who’s about twenty-four years old. She goes to an isolated, creepy, possibly haunted estate to check on her cousin. Her cousin had married a white man who lives at this estate and had recently sent home a threatening letter.

So Noemi goes there to check on her and see what’s happening. When she arrives, things slowly start to go very wrong. You probably want to go into this book without knowing much about it. It is incredibly atmospheric, like Flowers In The Attic. I love the way that it weaves history and culture in exciting ways.

Mexican Gothic

Author: Silvia Moreno-Garcia
Average Customer Review: (4.2 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Gothic Horror Fiction (Best Seller)
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle

Check On Amazon

2. Paperbacks from Hell

Paperbacks From Hell is the twisted history of the 70s and 80s horror by Grady Hendrix. This book comes complete with publisher histories, author and artist bios, shocking book synopsis, and hundreds of full-color book covers. Many artists who did the covers for the book and the authors themselves are relatively unknown today. So it took a lot of research for Grady to compile all the history here in this book.

Aside from the history, all of the book plots that Grady chose to feature are a lot of fun and shocking. Some of these books’ plots are borderline on the downright offensive, but you have to remember it was the 80s. Also, it was a very different time. This book is very well researched and beautiful to look at. Even if you aren’t a horror fan, you can appreciate this book for the artwork. It is also suitable for publisher enthusiasts, so this book lays down some fascinating history similar to Flowers In The Attic.

Paperbacks from Hell

Author: Grady Hendrix
Average Customer Review: (4.7 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Horror & Supernatural Literary Criticism, Literary History
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

3. Harrow the Ninth

This book takes place after the first book Gideon the Ninth. The main character in this book is Gideon. If you thought Gideon the 9th was confusing, get ready because Harrow takes it to a whole other level. It was one of the most confusing and disorienting reading experiences I have had in a very long time. This book is told in two timelines, although it’s sometimes non-linear and can jump around even then.

One of those times is mostly future and is said in the second person, which feels weird. Nick Jemison was one of the only other people I’ve read, a second-person narrative from where it’s been done well. Then there’s also another perspective that is in the third person.

There are many complicated relationship dynamics and politics, and we do get an opening up of the world in this. We got new characters, saw new places, and got a lot more insight into what’s happening in this world and why things are the way they are. Nothing is ever clearly explained for you, but you got plenty of hints dropped throughout. So for those confused about the world and why things work the way they do. Also, you can relate to the book “Flowers In The Attic.”

Harrow the Ninth

Author: Tamsyn Muir
Average Customer Review: (4.5 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Gothic Horror Fiction, Space Opera Science Fiction
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle

Check On Amazon

4. Carrie

Carrie is about Carrie White, who has a very religious mother. She is in high school, and she is not popular at all. She gets bullied, and one day something traumatic happens. That event sets her off, and she discovers that she has these telekinetic powers.

Then one day, she gets asked to the prom by a popular guy because one of the girls feels sorry for her. They prank her at prom, and everything gets a bit out of hand. This was Stephen King’s first novel, and it is quite short. It is one of those very familiar stories where most people know what happens to Carrie at prom.

The mother is so abusive and messed up. You do not expect to feel sorry for Carrie. You think she’s the monster, but you’re rooting for Carrie. What’s interesting about the writing style of this book is that it is split up into bits from Carrie’s point of view, bits from newspaper articles, pieces from research papers about telekinetic powers, and about the incident that happens at the school.

At the same time, it also provides some extra information that you wouldn’t have gotten if it was from Carrie’s point of view. The first bits of the book were not very scary. You assume that it’s terrifying because of monsters and blood and murder. But this book makes you sad and angry. So you can avoid it if you feel disturbed by these incidents. If you like Flowers In The Attic, you must try it.

Carrie

Author: Stephen King
Average Customer Review: (4.7 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Occult Horror Fiction, Psychological Thrillers
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle

Check On Amazon Check On Bookshop

5. The Amityville Horror

The true event that happened that inspired this book is there was a true-life massacre. It starts in a house where all this is set. A boy one day killed his mom, dad, two sisters, and two brothers. No one knows why. When he got to court, he then said, I was possessed. No one believed him. He is in prison. That’s a true-life thing that happened. People often think about exploiting true-life events. But those people lost their lives. So put that to the side because that’s not the main plot. That’s already happened. Then a year later, in real life again, a family moved into the house.

The family members are George, Kathy, and their children, two boys, one girl. They move into the house because it’s a beautiful neighborhood. It’s a massive house, cheap because of the massacre. So when they move in, they know about the massacre. So that’s what this book is about. It’s about their time in the house. They only stayed in the house for 28 days because they say weird stuff happens in demonic possession. Things happened inside the house, and so they fled. That’s a true-life event.

The actual plot of this book is about the Lutz story. It’s told from George’s point of view and Kathy’s point of view. The priest in real life wanted absolutely nothing to do with this book and tried to sue the Lutz. So there’s another weird thing about the book, and it’s told from their point of view.

There’s a huge thing about possession and demonic possession, and they’ve taken those things, and that’s what’s in the book. So it is not easy because it’s not original. The one thing that I would say is that this is controversial. It’s about a young girl who becomes possessed, and they have to do an exorcism on her, and it’s told from her mom’s point of view and the priests. You get to see many characters and thematic similarities to Flowers In The Attic.

The Amityville Horror

Author: Jay Anson
Average Customer Review: (4.6 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Supernaturalism, Religious Cults, Horror
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | MP3 CD | Mass Market Paperback

Check On Amazon

Read More: 7 Books About Good Vs Evil

Pauline Jackson

I like to talk about popular books. My book review inspires you to read and save time. Also, I summarize the book and give you the best lessons or ideas that can change your life. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.