5 Adventure Books Like Where The Red Fern Grows

Children's Pet Friendship

Where The Red Fern Grows by Wilson Rawls is about a boy named Billy. He lives in the mountains and wants to order two little hunting dogs. His family is poor, so he screams and saves to buy these dogs. The book’s first scene tells you that the story is about how this man had two dogs that gave up their lives for him in the past.

The writing of this book was exceptional. In the end, the Red Fern was the symbol that grew on their grave, and it’s one punch to the gut after another. The author has been trying these mountain legends for the whole book into the story. If you like Where The Red Fern Grows, stay with me!

5 Books Like Where The Red Fern Grows (Children’s Pet Adventure)

Where The Red Fern Grows is a family and friendship story that you feel real, and many can relate it to their lives. Our pets are our best friends, and sometimes they do something unbelievable to save us. So after reading this book, you feel silent because of the ending of the story. You want to read more to fill up the blank emotions. I’m going to review 5 books similar to Where The Red Fern Grows. Let’s go!

1. Because Of Winn-Dixie

The book is about a girl who moves to Naomi, Florida. The main character in this book is India Opal, and she’s with her father, who she calls preacher. She doesn’t fit in the new town because she’s the preacher’s daughter, and all kids get a little intimidated by her. It’s pretty hard for her to make friends and stuff. She does not fit in quite well until everything changes when she goes to a Winn-Dixie grocery store to pick up a few things.

Then, a dog runs around in the grocery store, making ads and all. The dog looks at her smiles, and that’s when everything changes. The book is very inspirational. It deals with what we go through every day, giving out life lessons. Opal is a very good character, and she owns the characters and everything else throughout the book. Like Where The Red Fern Grows, the plot is well-paced and put together.

Because Of Winn-Dixie

Author: Kate DiCamillo
Average Customer Review: (4.8 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Children’s Dog, Children’s Emotions & Friendship
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

2. The One and Only Ivan

If you’ve ever read any of Katherine Applegate’s other stories, then you’ll know that this is going to be a story with a message. This book is narrated by Ivan, a silverback gorilla who lives in a cage in an old rundown mall next to the video arcade. Ivan has other animal friends who live with him, like Ruby the elephant, Bob the Dog, and other supporting cast members. Ivan gains attention because he can draw and he’s an artist. Also, he comes from people all around to see Ivan and his artwork.

This book is too long, almost 400 pages for an early reader to tackle alone. It’s a perfect read-aloud with your kids. The story or the message from Katherine Applegate is about animal rights and the ethical treatment of animals. Despite the heavy nature of that message, it’s this wonderfully charming story.

There’s a perfect balance of silly and touching. The animals are wonderful narrators. It’s a lot of fun to read. Other than the descriptions of violence against Ivan’s parents, the content is accessible to all ages, so I encourage you to give it a try with your kids. If you love the book “Where The Red Fern Grows” then you will also love it.

The One and Only Ivan

Author: Katherine Applegate
Average Customer Review: (4.8 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Children’s Art Fiction, Children’s Zoo
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

3. Stone Fox

The story is about Little Willy and his dog, Searchlight. They are inseparable, and they love each other. Willy lives on a farm with his grandpa. Grandpa gets sick. They can’t pay for the farm. How is he supposed to make a five hundred dollar payment? Grandpa is sick in bed, like deathly sick, and he can’t do it.

One day he is in town trying to get the money. Things looked hopeless. Then Little Willy found the way he was at Leicester’s general store when it happened. He saw the poster every February, the National Dogsled Race was held in Jackson, Wyoming.

People came from all over to enter the race, and some of the finest dog teams in the country were represented. It was an open race. Any number of dogs could be entered, even won. The race covered 10 miles of snow-covered countryside, starting and ending on Main Street, right in front of the old church. There was a cash prize for the winner. It happened to be five hundred dollars. All the characters here are fictitious, but the ending to this story belongs to the legend and is reported to have happened. The adventure and classical view are similar to Where The Red Fern Grows.

Stone Fox

Author: John Reynolds Gardiner
Average Customer Review: (4.7 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Children’s Classics, Children’s Winter Sports Books (Best Seller)
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

4. Pax

Sara Pennypacker packs this book, and it is about a fox. The story is about a boy named Peter and his pet fox Pax. They get separated, but then they try to find their way back to each other is the most heartwarming story you will ever read. Like Where The Red Fern Grows, the writing style is quite simple because they use very simple language. But it includes some of the most beautiful imagery that I had ever read in my life. It’s stunning, but this novel is a dual narrative, so every other chapter is from the perspective of either Peter or Pax.

It’s more about the characters’ growth as they try to make their way back to each other, for goodness sake. Even Pax has such a fantastic character development like it’s insane. I mostly read it for character development and world-building. Though there’s a lot of character development, the story isn’t slow. It tends to dramatic moments.

In the beginning, it’s way different from what it is at the end, and they’re immature. But towards the end, they have a bigger understanding and a more mature perspective on things. The characters felt all three-dimensional and original.

Pax

Author: Sara Pennypacker
Average Customer Review: (4.7 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Children’s Environment, Children’s Friendship
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

5. The Tale of Despereaux

The story follows a desperate tiny mouse, which is different from all the other mice, and he falls in love with a human princess. The human princess gets mixed up in the scheming of this evil rat, and it’s up to desperate to save the day. Though he’s tiny, he doesn’t think he can do it.

One of the things that I loved about this book was how it explored light and darkness, how light and dark affect people, and how it gets inside you. There is a lot of symbolism throughout the book, similar to Where The Red Fern Grows.

So even though it was a simple story for younger children because this is written for a younger audience, it still had a lot of deep symbolism about good and evil. It highlighted human goodness and light. I loved that it focused on that rather than on the darkness in the book. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys children’s literature. It was a very lighthearted read that made me think a lot. If you enjoy children’s literature, you will probably enjoy this book.

The Tale of Despereaux

Author: Kate DiCamillo
Average Customer Review: (4.8 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Children’s Folk Tales & Myths, Fantasy & Magic
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Audio CD

Check On Amazon Check On Bookshop

More Children’s Adventure Books: 5 Books Alike The City Of Ember

More Children’s Mystery Books: 5 Books Alike The Westing Game

Pauline Jackson

I like to talk about popular books. My book review inspires you to read and save time. Also, I summarize the book and give you the best lessons or ideas that can change your life. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.