5 Self-Help Books Like The Defining Decade

Psychology & Motivation

Why do your twenties matter, and how to make the most of them now? This book’s cool because it’s tailored to the twenty crowds but not specific to those. Many universal skills, tools, and tips go far beyond that. Whether young or whether you’re older, you’ll still get a lot out of it. If you are in your twenty-something, this is a book that’s worth picking up.

Author Meg Jay breaks it down into work, love, brain, and body. Meg had a client that was struggling with all these choices. She talked about how you can customize how you want your life to be as you go. You can adapt and choose different parts that don’t fit into a particular mold. You can create whatever molds you want to do or create. We’re all multidimensional, have multiple parts of our personality, and it’s okay to follow various passions. Keep scrolling if you are waiting to read books like The Defining Decade!

5 Books Like The Defining Decade (Psychology & Motivation)

The Defining Decade describes picking your family, the cohabitation effect, dating down, being in like, and she uses the antidotes from some of her. The author talks about how between ages 20 and 30, your brain is the most flexible and has the most neuroplasticity. That doesn’t mean if you’re past 30, there’s no hope for you’re stuck. It means you can still make those changes.

When you want to focus on what habits you want to develop long-term, which is incredible because that’s a lot of stuff we talk about in this book. Now I am going to review 5 books similar to The Defining Decade. Let’s go!

1. The Psychology Book

This book introduces you to where psychology is come from, background, and the early psychologists. It goes through behaviorism and cognitive psychology. So all the main areas went through all the key psychologists over time in those days. Those areas went across time based on what was happening in society. Behaviorism came first, and then it was more cognitive with the introduction of computers. So it is chronological, but it’s not because many of the areas do overlap.

Negative reinforcement is the removal of something unpleasant. If you know nothing about psychology is good because it does mention most of the psychologists that you would come across in a psychology degree. It does talk about what they did and what the contribution was. Like The Defining Decade, these entries are based on a scientific journal.

The Psychology Book

Author: Joannah Ginsburg, Voula Grand, Merrin Lazyan
Average Customer Review: (4.6 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: History of Psychology, Psychology Reference
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle

Check On Amazon

2. Tuesdays With Morrie

This book never once stated that it was based on a true story or about the author’s life, similar to The Defining Decade. The main character is Mitch Albom. The majority of this book is based on transcripts of Mitch-Morrie’s conversations. This book is about Morrie Schwartz, who is a professor of sociology. He’s very in touch with his emotional side. Mitch Albom was his student for a long time until Morrie was diagnosed with ALS (motor neuron disease).

Als has recently gotten some attention in the media because of this ice bucket challenge being done by celebrities. So these celebrities are donating more to the cause than their obligatory ten dollars plus nominating ten other people. But certainly, it’s gotten awareness out about the disease, also called Lou Gehrig’s disease, after a baseball player who was afflicted. It’s the disease that Stephen Hawking has. When Morrie finds out that he has it, he decides to use what time he has left on Earth for the best.

So he ends up on television, on a Dateline show, and that’s where Mitch sees his old professor realizes that he wants to reconnect with him and looks him up. They get together to write their last thesis about life, death, love, life lessons, and spirituality. They sit down every Tuesday, and they have a deeply emotional conversation which meets records with a tape recorder and then goes home and transcribed and turned into this book.

Tuesdays With Morrie

Author: Mitch Albom
Average Customer Review: (4.8 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Friendship, Educator Biographies (Best Seller)
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle

Check On Amazon

3. 101 Secrets For Your Twenties

Like The Defining Decade, this is a great read for anybody approaching their twenties and would make an excellent college graduation gift. The book is filled with wisdom on everything from dating to career to following your dreams and keeping the right attitude. So you can best navigate those waters of being a young adult to read from the book. Paul says this book is not meant to be a step-by-step plan but a conversation starter and an instigator to prompt us to think, speak and believe differently about lives.

The author does it effectively, and he weaves a great sense of humor through every page of the book. So rather than feeling like you’re being lectured to about these 101 secrets, you feel like you’re hanging out with an older friend who’s helping you laugh as you also digest a lot of wisdom-filled nuggets.

We need to sail our ship instead of drowning, trying to swim to everyone else’s. This is good stuff in the working world. The biggest risk of your twenties would never be taking any risks at all. If you’re going to have a lot of fun while you digest a lot of insightful, wisdom-filled nuggets, recommend the book.

101 Secrets For Your Twenties

Author: Paul Angone
Average Customer Review: (4.6 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Business Motivation & Self-Improvement, Leadership & Professional Humor
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

4. Breath: The New Science of a Lost Art

The author, James Nestor, has packed this book with the latest research on reading. He talks about paranoia, about yoga, about people who’ve cured themselves of various ailments by changing the way they breathe.

Breathing is something that is supposed to be natural to us. We take 25,000 breaths on average every day. Yet, Nestor says most of us are not breathing properly. He says this is because of evolution. Our skulls and nasal cavities have become smaller as we’ve evolved, leading to respiratory problems. While we can’t change that, we can make subtle changes in our breathing to improve our health.

There are two that the author recommends. The first, he says, when it comes to breathing, shut your mouth, breathe only from your nose. In fact, he put himself up for an experiment at Stanford, where for 10 days, his nasal cavity was plugged. He could breathe only from his mouth, and specific parameters were measured. His blood pressure increased by 13 points. His heart rate variability plummeted, putting him in a state of hypertension when he was allowed to breathe from his nose. Things went back to normal.

Scientists say this is because our noses act as filters. They want the air, the moisture in the air. The second thing, he says, is that we need to breathe less. He means that we need to breathe slower, softer, have longer exhalations, and increase the pauses between exhales and exhales. Also, he talks about the ancient yogis from India, the planning and techniques, and the primary methods that achieve that.

While he speaks about many, there are two he mentions, in particular Ujjain, where you make a horse sound at the back of the throat while breathing and primary where you make a humming noise, and bravery, in particular, is known to increase the nitric oxide levels. It is antibacterial, and it’s a neurotransmitter that helps us relax. You will know about many health and psychological tips similar to The Defining Decade.

The New Science of a Lost Art

Author: James Nestor
Average Customer Review: (4.7 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Health, Fitness & Dieting, Anatomy (Best Seller)
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Spiral-bound

Check On Amazon Check On Bookshop

5. Attached

This book is the new science of adult attachment and how it can help you find and keep love. It enables you to understand why people are the way they are in the relationship and why they are needy in some relationships and not other relationships.

So it’s based on the fact that each person falls under one of three attachment styles. There are anxious, secure, avoidant, and anxious people who love intimacy. They love to be with a partner all the time, but they’re quick to have doubts about the relationship as soon as someone shows signs of avoidance.

An anxious attachment style tends to want to be very close to their partner. They want to know where they stand in the relationship, and the moment they have any doubt, their anxiety system is activated. It’s not until they get reassurance or confirmation that a relationship is fine that they feel less anxious again. So there’s another way better description in the book.

Relationships can seem a vast part of your life, and people with an anxious attachment style tend to be very sensitive in what goes on in the relationship. Then the next attachment style is secure, so secure people know how to cope with their feelings.

They’re usually great at communicating what they need and want no relationship. They crave intimacy. So people with avoidant attachment styles need to be self-sufficient. This book helps you identify your attachment style, similar to The Defining Decade.

Attached

Author: Amir Levine, Rachel Heller
Average Customer Review: (4.7 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Love, Dating & Attraction, Communication & Social Skills
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Spiral-bound

Check On Amazon

More Self-help & Psychology Books: 5 Books Similar To The Power Of Now

Pauline Jackson

I like to talk about popular books. My book review inspires you to read and save time. Also, I summarize the book and give you the best lessons or ideas that can change your life. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.