5 Career Development Books Like Outliers

Success & Self-help Books

Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell is about the story of successful people. He looks at the lives of extraordinary people who have achieved massive than the rest of us. The author calls these people the outliers. He looks at them in various areas. So those that are business tycoons, software developers, those that we class as geniuses, pilots, education, sports, anyone that’s achieved a little more than what you would expect from the average person.

Also, he looks at their lives to try and determine what makes them so successful and what allowed them to get to the heights they reached within that field. The book also made famous the concept of 10000 hours and One thing. If you want to succeed at anything, you have to devote at least 10000 hours of work and practice first. It’s an informative book that does make you look at successful people differently. If you want to read books like Outliers, follow me.

5 Books Like Outliers (Career Development Books)

After reading Outliers, you want to know more about successful lifestyles. I will provide you with some books to help you succeed in life. If you have read one of Malcolm Gladwell’s books before, you will enjoy these books similar to Outliers because it’s presented and written in the same fashion. Let’s start!

1. Nudge: Improving Decisions About Health, Wealth, and Happiness

Two people wrote Nudge: Richard H. Thaler and Cass Sunstein. They worked together to write this book. This book is a New York Times bestseller. It’s talking about something very subtle that has a significant implication in everyone’s life. You are the type of person affected by this thing, called Choice Architecture. Choice architecture is when you are in charge of creating a system that gets people to make choices and how you make that system to get people to make choices. An example of this would be voting for president.

You work in human resources at a company that offers a retirement plan, and maybe you get to decide what the default retirement plan is for everybody in the company. You chose the plan most people will take because most people will default. So, how do you create or design the way people experience making choices in terms of choice architecture? This book goes into many different examples of what that is, why it’s important and how it affects people in their everyday lives.

This book is called Nudge because when discussing choice architecture, the effect of architecting a choice is to give somebody a nudge in a specific direction. Also, it may not be something that you intend, but it’s something that happens. For example, at the grocery store, food is organized in a certain way on certain shelves, on certain aisles, and the positioning of certain foods makes items or whatever makes it easier or harder to see them access them and ultimately purchase them.

Most of the time, the foods and the things are at eye level or reach level. Easy reach levels are the things that most people buy, and the stuff that’s way too high is something people don’t look at, and the stuff that’s way too low is something people don’t look at.

There are some graphs in this book. If you’re a business person and your product isn’t selling in the stores, maybe it’s not selling because it’s on the bottom shelf. It may be a better product than the one that’s within reach. But that’s the thing people see, and that’s the thing people grab because they can see it. This book has many in-depth analyses of different examples, like Outliers.

Nudge

Author: Richard H. Thaler
Average Customer Review: (4.5 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Business Decision Making, Decision-Making & Problem Solving
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Kindle

Check On Amazon

2. Start With Why

Simon Sinek is a motivational speaker and an author, and he’s well-known for his amazing Ted Talk that ranked over 50 million views. His books Start With Why is popular for business, leadership, and self-help. The basic summary of this book is, he explains, why great leaders are great leaders and how they inspire everyone to take action. Like the Outliers’s author, he references one of the world’s biggest and most successful businesses.

The author states, they are great leaders because they start with why. These leaders are more concerned with why the company exists than what they do and how. They all have a purpose behind these businesses or their missions in life. In fairness, these are the ones that have changed our dinner, the way we think, the way we buy things, and what we have.

He says there are only two ways to influence human behavior through manipulation in one chapter. It is the sticks and aspiration or inspiration, which is the currency. The quote in the book says that when companies do not have a clear sense of why their customers are the customers, they tend to rely on a disproportionate number of manipulations to get what they need.

What drives you to do what you do? Do you know what inspires you? Do you pursue that? The author states that even though these do work, they drive more sales, but they don’t build the most important thing: customer loyalty.

There’s a novel concept in this book called The Golden Circle. So the outer circle is what the business does. The inner circle is how they do it, and the core of the circle is why they do it. That’s what the most successful businesses focus on. They focus on the way that makes such a loyal fan base. They have a purpose behind what they’re doing. If any of you wondering this book is only 250 pages, is it an easy read? Yes, it is! It’s not one of these books where you will have to Google Flippin word every five seconds.

Start With Why

Author: Simon Sinek
Average Customer Review: (4.6 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Leadership & Motivation, Entrepreneurship, Career Development
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

3. The Black Swan: The Impact of the Highly Improbable

A black swan is an unpredictable event that has huge consequences. So the whole idea of this book is that we blind ourselves from seeing these crazy, unpredictable events happening. We are constantly and inaccurately forecasting the future to be the average of what’s happened in the past. But any time a one-off event happens, we push it to the side and discount it as being unpredictable, so we never see them coming again.

The whole Author thing is that they’re going to keep happening. You can’t necessarily predict exactly what will happen or when. But there are ways that if you’re at least aware that they’re going to happen, you can insure yourself so that they don’t have gigantic negative consequences on you.

It’s interesting to talk about a million different ways that we blind ourselves. So Taleb gives an example of being a turkey. A turkey gets fed every day for months and thinks life is great because it wakes up and gets fed every day. Suddenly, it wakes up one day, and life’s not so great. So he says, don’t be a turkey. But he talks about a confirmation bias, how we are looking to reinforce our current beliefs with supporting beliefs, even if they’re inaccurate. That will blind us.

Taleb talks about the narrative fallacy: we prefer to explain what’s happening around us in the world with stories. So even if something is not accurate, we will latch onto it if it’s like explaining something in story form. We would rather have that to explain what’s happening than either not explain it or accept that it might not be explainable.

Like Outliers, the book talks about the lunatic fallacy, which is interesting. It’s the idea that we think that we can use principles from casino games to explain the uncertainties in real life. There’s uncertainty and roulette. It could be red and black. It could be first, third, middle third. But in roulette, even though there are uncertainties, there’s a very fixed, defined set of outcomes in real life. There’s no fixed defined set of anything.

So the example he gives is flipping a coin, he says. You’re asked to assume that a coin is fair, there are heads, and there are tails, and then you flip a coin, and ninety-nine times in a row, it’s tails. What are the odds? It’s going to head on the next flip. So he says that too often, try to say there are heads and tails, and the coin is fair. So it’s still a 50 percent chance that it’s going to head when in reality.

The Black Swan

Author: Nassim Nicholas Taleb
Average Customer Review: (4.4 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Naturopathy Medicine, Business Management, Developmental Biology, Philosophy
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

4. You Are Not So Smart

Have you ever thought you’re so smart? Well, David McRaney would disagree. He would disagree so adamantly that he even wrote a book about it. You’re not everything you think. It is the result of a grand conspiracy going on in your brain. This very minute makes you think that more than you do. David talks about forty-eight different things that the brain thinks you’re smarter than you are.

The first thing your brain does to make you think you know more than you do is the introspection illusion. You usually make a snap judgment based on how you feel, look, smell, and even smell when you judge things. But you think that your rational person makes irrational judgments. So when you think about why you made this decision over decision, you look back into the history.

The second point is what the brain does, which is called confabulation. Confabulation is the process by which you create narratives to explain your choices. These narratives are rarely, if ever, true. Your brain makes up these narratives because it wants to trick itself into believing it’s more rational than it is. If you want to know about the next 46 interesting brain tricks, you need to read this book after Outliers.

You Are Not So Smart

Author: David McRaney
Average Customer Review: (4.5 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Consciousness & Thought, Humanist Philosophy, Career Development
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

5. The Signal and the Noise

Why do so many predictions fail, but some don’t? Is Nate Silver more interested in the nuts and bolts behind algorithms and models? Let’s call it to predict ontology 101. Silver wants to tell us about models what they can do well, what they can’t do well, how and why they work. Most importantly, he helps us match our expectations to reality.

There’s no ability to build on the knowledge already gained. As Silver was sitting down to write this, he thought, Hey, I’ve got a room now, and he makes good use of it. He spends the time to start building up knowledge. Yes, you’re learning more about different things, but you are also learning more and more about how statistics work as time goes on.

At the same time, Silver keeps this topic grounded. He covers a wide range of topics, but all of them seem to deal with somehow things that we are used to. Maybe it’s entertainment like sports or poker. The accuracy of political punditry may be the stock market or economic forces.

The book goes into detail on the banking crisis of 2007. However, the book’s strongest parts are when he talks separately about climate and earthquake prediction despite all of this. His discussion of each of those topics provides beneficial comparisons and contrasts.

If we talk about a very long period, maybe thousands of years, then we could probably predict with pretty good confidence how many quakes will occur and roughly how strong they will be. It’s not that earthquakes aren’t predictable. What we can predict about them isn’t what we hope or even expect to be predicted in that way.

How do we expect to talk about the climate next year when they discuss two completely different things? Silver does more than ground us in familiar topics. He also grounds us in the story. Sometimes he’s talking about the people who are successful at predictions.

Sometimes, he’s talking about the people who aren’t. It is because how better to learn about the future than to tell us about the follies of the past. His style is breezy and engaging, and it serves as a very gentle introduction to the statistics he wants to talk about. The business models and planning are very similar to Outliers.

The Signal and the Noise

Author: Nate Silver
Average Customer Review: (4.4 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Business Planning & Forecasting, Future Studies
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle

Check On Amazon Check On Bookshop

More Inspirational & Career Development Books:

Outliers Book Review With Summary

Tools Of Titans Book Review With Summery

Unshakeable Book Review With Summary

Pauline Jackson

I like to talk about popular books. My book review inspires you to read and save time. Also, I summarize the book and give you the best lessons or ideas that can change your life. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.