5 Literature Fiction Books Like Catch 22

Literature Fiction Books

Catch 22 by Joseph Heller refers to the infamous rule that an insane soldier cannot fly more missions. All he has to do is ask to be grounded based on being insane. However, he cannot be insane and fly by evaluating his mental state. If he flew them, he was crazy and didn’t have to. But if he didn’t want to, he was sane, and he had to. This illogical logic runs rampant throughout the novel as a result.

It is ruthlessly funny, which is the second reason you should read it. A young man given the same three names by a father who thought he was funny was immediately promoted from a private to a major due to a computer error. But more importantly, the third major reason you should read Catch-22 is that it’s a serious novel. It’s an anti-war novel, but in a way that’s different than others. This is because it’s difficult to argue against World War Two morally. If you want to read books like Catch 22, stay with me!

5 Books Like Catch 22 (Literature Fiction)

In the book Catch 22, the fact remains that many innocent people are going to die, and many of them will be poor. As the main character, Yossarian, points out, it doesn’t make a difference who wins the war to someone dead. So Hitler’s problem is that so many unwillingly drafted men will die while colonels get promoted in, many businesspeople make money.

So while the novel is funny, Heller uses that humor to lull you into a false sense of security to surprise you with tragedy. Now, I am going to review 5 books similar to Catch-22. Let’s go!

1. Slaughterhouse-Five

Slaughterhouse-Five is about a man at the bombing of Dresden during World War Two because Brazil was a tiny little town. But it was thought to be making warheads, so the Americans bombed it to smithereens. The author Kurt Vonnegut was there. He was captured during World War Two, and they took all of them to Slaughterhouse-five. They put them down on the meat lockers in the basement. So when they bombed Dresden off the map, the few people down on this meat locker were the only survivors.

Kurt writes about this in this book, and it’s his way of getting those demons out of his head. So he writes it as this man who is in the bombing of Dresden. He gets unstuck in time when he comes out, so he sees the rest of his life non chronologically. He’ll be on his honeymoon, and then he’ll be seeing one of his children and playing catch and then losing his virginity at 17.

So everything’s out of order, and it’s about him trying to pretend like everything’s normal. Like Catch 22, there’s an interesting thing in this where every time people die. So it goes every time there’s good or bad.

Slaughterhouse-Five

Author: Kurt Vonnegut
Average Customer Review: (4.5 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Humorous Science Fiction, Classic Humor Literature Fiction
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

2. The Catcher in the Rye

This book’s story is told by a boy named Holden Caulfield. He’s a rebellious teenager who also has a few psychological issues, and he tells us about the three days he spent in New York after being kicked out of his third school. He is a typical conflicted teenager with manic depressive tendencies who doesn’t know where he belongs in this world.

The main topic is Holden’s disgust with human behavior and social standards. There are two types of people that have read this book. The first type is those who enjoyed it because they could connect with Holden’s emotions and feelings.

The narration is written in a conversational form exactly how Holden would speak, and it was very unpleasant. He repeats himself repeatedly, and it was so frustrating reading this. The kid takes the Lord’s name in vain, like every other sentence, and is centered around very negative activities like prostitution and illegal drinking. The main character belittles women all the time. If anybody disagrees with him, he explains how stupid these people are. The amount of cursing is entirely insane. The historical aspects are very similar to Catch 22.

The Catcher in the Rye

Author: J. D. Salinger
Average Customer Review: (4.5 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Classic American Literature, Literature & Fiction
Available: Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Mass Market Paperback

Check On Amazon

3. The Grapes of Wrath

Like Catch 22, It’s a classic, and many readers bring a lot of information to the table with them. This book was published in 1939, written by the American and Californian extraordinaire John Steinbeck. He won the National Book Award, the Pulitzer, and then largely responsible for Steinbeck, winning the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1962.

The story focuses on one Oklahoma family the jobs during the Great Depression. They’re forced to move from Oklahoma to California because of the Dust Bowl, and their small family farm hurt. The family is large. It’s three-generational, but they manage to pile themselves into one car and head out west for the Promised Land of California. What happens next?

Above all else, the author talked to the organizers to get the workers together to earn an actual living wage. The plot of this book is based on the harvest of gypsies. These chapters are usually shorter, and instead of focusing on specific characters, they focus on people. They seem historical at times, but also they’re often biblical or poetic.

The Grapes of Wrath

Author: John Steinbeck
Average Customer Review: (4.7 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Classic Literature, Historical Fiction
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle

Check On Amazon

4. The Great Gatsby

The book was written in the 1920s and is also set. To be precise, we are reading the book from the perspective of Nick Carraway, who moves from Long Island to West Egg. He rents a small house and ends up living next to Jay Gatsby. People don’t seem to know a lot about Gatsby. He’s quite mysterious, but he’s wealthy and throws fabulous parties. The other people involved in the story are Daisy and Tom Buchanan. They are also very rich, and Daisy is Nick’s cousin. A lot of these characters aren’t very pleasant, like Catch 22.

During the dinner party, we discover that Tom has a mistress. The rest of the story is set partly in New York, partly at Gatsby’s house. During some of his fabulous parties and in some of the other character’s houses. There’s a lot of intrigue and unexpected situations.

Also, the story of The Great Gatsby seems to be present in the collective cultural consciousness. Once you’ve read it, you’re in the know, and you’ll understand all the jokes and all the references.

The Great Gatsby

Author: F. Scott Fitzgerald
Average Customer Review: (4.4 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Classic Literature, Viking Historical Romance
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Mass Market Paperback

Check On Amazon

5. The Sun Also Rises

The Sun Also Rises was published in 1926. Though it was Hemingway’s first novel, it established a place among great American writers. He’s an American writer living in Europe post-World War One, and he’s broken and aimless and very much a representation of Hemingway’s lost generation. The story takes us out on the town in Paris in the nineteen twenties, and we get to experience the roaring nightlife and travels to Spain for violent bullfighting.

Along the way, we’re accompanied by a group of disillusioned American men and the beautiful, flamboyant, and heartbreaker Lady Brett. It’s through this motley crew of lost, carefree souls that we experience the helplessness of the lost generation.

There’s dancing, drinking, and love affairs that keep the pages turning, but Hemingway’s simplistic writing style that I found the most impressive writing style and classic elements similar to Catch 22. He doesn’t hide behind any flashy technique or piles of metaphors. It’s a conversational telling of his earliest years in Paris as he struggled as a young writer and married his first wife and great love.

The Sun Also Rises

Author: Ernest Hemingway
Average Customer Review: (4.3 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Classic Literature & Fiction
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Mass Market Paperback

Check On Amazon Check On Bookshop

More War Fiction Books: 5 Books Like Beneath A Scarlet Sky

Pauline Jackson

I like to talk about popular books. My book review inspires you to read and save time. Also, I summarize the book and give you the best lessons or ideas that can change your life. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.