5 American Literature Books Like East Of Eden

American Literature Books

East of Eden by John Steinbeck traces two families: Hamiltons and Trasks. You get two generations of these families talking about how they are re-enacting the biblical story of Cain and Abel throughout the generations. So it’s a fascinating look into all of the characters’ lives and how they interact. But it’s also written in an incredibly gripping way. It’s hard to put down once you’ve started it.

It starts a little bit slow because you get a big description of most of the book’s setting. Once the author starts getting into the characters, you’re hooked because every character is distinct. He allows us to look into their minds, which is amazing.

The book is written from a limited third-person perspective. So theoretically, there’s a narrator, but you do end up in the minds of many characters, which would mean that the book was written more third-person omniscient. Keep reading if you are waiting to read books like East Of Eden!

5 Books Like East Of Eden (American Literature)

In the book East Of Eden, the struggle for many of the characters shows how to deal with not being their father’s favorite. This book plays out as a fascinating study of how you need to learn how to deal with that, and it can’t necessarily be solved besides the characters themselves. It is the interpersonal relationships between all the characters and how they interact. Now I’m going to review 5 books similar to East Of Eden. Let’s go!

1. Of Mice and Men

This book is mostly about two men, George and Lennie. George is the smaller one out of the two. He’s very clever, and he has his plans ready. Lennie is very big, but he also has a very childlike mind to the point where he seems he’s a four-year-old. He has a lot of trouble remembering things, even tiny ones. George takes care of Lennie and tries to keep him out of trouble.

When the book starts, they’re on their way to arrange where they’re going to work, and they hope that they can stay out of trouble. Lennie has a dead mouse in his jacket pocket that he keeps stroking. It’s a small and innocent thing, but it immediately makes you realize how Lennie thinks and sees the world.

Everything was very vivid in the book, like East Of Eden. You can feel how tragic this book is, and you can see what’s going to happen, but you keep hoping that it won’t. This book is so full of hope and full of sadness. At the same time, you have these guys with their American dream of getting a little cottage and then living there and being happy.

Of Mice and Men

Author: John Steinbeck
Average Customer Review: (4.7 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Classic American Literature
Available: Audiobook | Hardcover | Kindle | Mass Market Paperback

Check On Amazon

2. The House on Mango Street

It is a novel of vignettes about a young Mexican-American girl named Esperanza living in Chicago. She lives in a barrio as many Spanish-speaking people live together in the house on Mango Street. It’s not a particularly great place. It’s one of the reasons why Esperanza is desperate for a home different than the house on Mango Street. It’s somewhere in between poetry and prose, which is interesting.

The novel’s tone is very conversational as if she’s talking directly to you. But if you dig deeper, there’s a lot more there, especially if you’re into poetry. You will find more in this book than what is on the surface. Gloria Jones will do like Sandra Cisneros, speaks a lot about the difficulties that people living between two cultures deal with. That comes up a lot in this book, especially in Borderlands by Gloria and Zelda.

This also talks about abuse and dealing with the extremely patriarchal society growing up dependent on your father. The historical and cultural aspects are very similar to East Of Eden.

The House on Mango Street

Author: Sandra Cisneros
Average Customer Review: (4.5 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Hispanic American Literature & Fiction
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

3. The Crucible

The story follows a small Christian community. They’re very strict Christian, and it’s a small town of people who all believe that one girl has been affected by the devil. Now they don’t know how the devil has affected her. They’re saying she’s been contacted by the devil so possessed, and then they have to work out what to do. So around this time, if you are found to be a witch, it was a crime, and you would be hung. It’s an incredibly shouty play by that, and sometimes you can’t understand what people are saying.

No one wanted to be branded a witch or anyone in their family to be a witch. They were shouting, and they didn’t know any of the right information. There are such beautiful parts when Eddie talks about himself and the people around him and what he thinks now, looking back in his life.

What happened is the women were suffering from shock, and they couldn’t articulate the things that they wanted to say. This book is incredibly important because it doesn’t make light of anything. It shows it to you plain and bares like East Of Eden.

The Crucible

Author: Arthur Miller
Average Customer Review: (4.5 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: American Dramas & Plays, Classic American Literature (Best Seller)
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle

Check On Amazon

4. Something Wicked This Way Comes

It is a story that takes place in the sixties. The story itself is a week before Halloween. The Carnival comes into this town and is sinister and spooky. There are the teen boys, and they are best friends. They can tell that something’s off about this carnival. Also, it’s the boys who bring it upon themselves to save their town from the wickedness of this carnival.

To save the town from what the Carnival is trying to do to the people. That’s the setup of the story exciting and fun. But the story is so much more than surface-level what you would think.

There’s so much going on underneath that you’re paying attention to, depending on the age you read this book. This book plays on is fear of the unknown fear of aging. It talks a lot about what it means to be younger and, coming of age, friendship, what happens when you get older as a kid and maybe you lose contact with some people. That’s life.

We have one of our characters. His name is Charles, the father, and he is an older parent. He didn’t have his child till he was around four, around his 40s. So the book talks about reflecting on aging and the fear of many different things similar to East Of Eden.

Something Wick

Author: Ray Bradbury
Average Customer Review: (4.5 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Contemporary American Literature & Fiction
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Mass Market Paperback

Check On Amazon

5. One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest

Like East Of Eden, this is a classic novel turned into a classic film. It gives you much insight into how mental health can sometimes be perceived, especially in the nineteen sixties. It’s about a guy (McMurphy) who is in jail instead of working out his sentence in the work camp. He decides to fake insanity to be sent to an insane asylum. McMurphy wants to bring freedom to the ward, which doesn’t sit very well with Nurse Ratched. Then McMurphy also learns that some of the other patients with him aren’t committed.

They could leave if they wanted to, which is strange to him as well. It shows that even though he’s forced to be there, other patients who choose to be there built their prison around them. Some people are essentially imprisoned by society, and others are voluntarily imprisoned by society.

So McMurphy shakes up the whole system like he is very different from all other men. They think that they have to follow Nurse Ratched’s every command, and they don’t have to question anything when the doctors and the staff give surface-level the patient’s medication. They don’t even know, but they do it because they’re following the system.

The book is told through McMurphy’sperspective, and in the film, it’s not told through anyone’s perspective. So you get to know more about the chief and earlier on in the book than you do in the film.

One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest

Author: Ken Kesey
Average Customer Review: (4.7 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Classic American Fiction, Literary Fiction
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle

Check On Amazon Check On Bookshop

More Literature Fiction Books: 5 Books Like Catch 22

Pauline Jackson

I like to talk about popular books. My book review inspires you to read and save time. Also, I summarize the book and give you the best lessons or ideas that can change your life. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.