5 Dystopian Feminism Books Like The Grace Year

Feminism Fiction

The Grace Year is about a county, and within this county, they have a lot of rules for regulating women. But they believe that when women enter their 16th year, they become their magic, which makes them irresistible, and they’ll tempt men away from God. So people round up all of the girls turning 16 in that year, and they send them out into the woods to live alone for a whole year to burn out their magic. But out here in the woods, there’s a lot of things going on.

There are also these men out in the woods poaching these girls because they believe if they cut up, they will get some of their magic, some of their vitality. So these girls will have to deal with each other and these men who want to cut them up and eat them. If you want to read novels like The Grace Year, keep scrolling.

5 Books Like The Grace Year (Dystopian Feminism)

The Grace Year follows the main character, a girl named Tierney, which goes into freedom. She doesn’t want to be a wife. She wants to be herself. So throughout the entire book author describes her journey and other women. Now I will review 5 feminist books similar to The Grace Year. Let’s go!

1. The Handmaid’s Tale

The Handmaid’s Tale is set in the Republic of Gilead, and it’s set somewhere in the future. It’s dystopian in which the Book of Genesis and the Bible are used and followed word for word in this new society. The story follows our protagonist, Offred, and that’s not her real name. We don’t get to find out her real name throughout the entire novel. But she’s called that because she belongs to Commander Fred Ergo Offred, and she’s a handmaid. It means she is one of the few fertile women. Therefore, she is used to producing children for other couples.

As a handmaid, it also means that her rights are completely stripped from her. It has so much depth and complexity to it. The descriptions, the little details are mentioned set an atmospheric setting to the whole experience of reading it. The whole book is written from Offred’s point of view, and we get into our innermost thoughts and experience things the way she’s experiencing them. The resigned behavior of the protagonist allows getting accustomed to the world that she’s living in.

At times you have to keep reminding yourself that, no, this is terrible. This isn’t supposed to be happening. At the same time, their options are limited to either fight or live in this society and die slowly. So women’s options are very limited.

It was so beautiful and descriptive, and throughout the story, as things were happening, Offred would apologize for her nature, for the events that we’re reading. Also, we have to read them because things are so terrible. The pain that she feels would often create all of these alternate scenes that never happened. If you like The Grace Year, you must read it.

The Handmaid's Tale

Author: Margaret Atwood
Average Customer Review: (4.4 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Dystopian Feminism Fiction
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle

Check On Amazon

2. The Power

This book tells the story of women who have developed power. So at the beginning of the book, we meet a character called Roxy. She and her mother are in danger. She starts feeling this buzzing in her hand, and she can create the electric shock. She gets her and her mother out of danger. We read from four different perspectives most of the way through this. We meet a character called Ali, who has been in foster care for most of her life in America. Then Margot, who is a local politician, and then we follow one male character called Tim Day. He gets thrown into reporting what’s going on in the world.

So the idea behind this power is that girls have this extra muscle or something below their collarbone here, which is where the electric current comes from. Naomi Alderman based that on some research that she’d done about electric eels. It’s in young girls, and it starts spreading throughout the world. So this book deals with the idea of switching gender roles in a world where women have all of the power, similar to The Grace Year.

The Power

Author: Naomi Alderman
Average Customer Review: (4.2 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Dystopian Science Fiction & Fantasy, Women’s Fiction
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

3. Red Clocks

This book follows five female characters who all live and interact in the same town, with one exception, which we’ll get to in a minute. The United States of their world has passed a personhood amendment. The author talks about imagining coming to pass based on proposed legislation. The personhood amendment is based on an amendment proposed by socially conservative lawmakers.

Abortion and fertilization are now illegal. She also examines the fact that often the type of lawmakers who propose things like personhood amendments and full fetal rights. They also want a quote-unquote traditional male-female home for every child. There’s a law that has been passed but has not yet gone into effect that requires a married mother for all adoptions. So you could not adopt, and same-sex partners couldn’t adopt a child as a single person.

So it makes sense that if this is a society in which a personhood amendment could pass, likely other socially conservative pieces of legislation could also pass. We follow five characters, and they are all defined by their role. We have the mother, the daughter, the biographer, the mender, and then the biographer writes a biography.

Red Clocks

Author: Leni Zumas
Average Customer Review: (3.9 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Dystopian Science Fiction, Feminism
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

4. I Will Make You Pay

This is a classic, suspenseful crime thriller as The Grace Year. It is about an investigative journalist named Alice who finds herself the target of a demented stalker. This guy comes every Wednesday and does something increasingly creepy, which is escalating towards violence, perhaps to deadly consequences, with the help of a private investigator by the name of Matthew Hill. She tried to determine who was targeting her, why their target area, and what Wednesday had to do.

Matthew Hill is an ex-police officer turned private investigator. He’s very empathetic and relatable. His struggles between family life and work and his career’s effects have had on him over the years. Alice gets the police involved, but she withholds information to help them with their investigation. She feels as if she locks herself away in a panic room for the rest of her life.

I Will Make You Pay

Author: Teresa Driscoll
Average Customer Review: (4.5 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Private Investigator Mysteries, Women’s Psychological Thrillers
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Kindle | MP3 CD

Check On Amazon

5. Parable of the Sower

This is dystopian, and it takes place in the year. It takes place in the year 2027. The government, society, and environment are all falling apart. This is told through the eyes of a young girl named Lauren, who is 17. She’s a preacher’s daughter living in California with her father, stepmother, and brothers. The only sci-fi aspect is that throughout the book, we’re told that Lauren has a thing called hyper empathy, where she can feel the pain and pleasure of people around her.

Lauren and her family are black. As the world has fallen apart in this society, people have started to segregate themselves. So people only surround themselves with people of the same race, and interracial marriages or relationships are looked down upon and rare.

Lauren’s father is a preacher, and their family is Baptist. But she secretly does not share any of those beliefs. She loves reading the Bible and picking out the pieces that she thinks coincide with her beliefs about what God is and in her mind. The overarching theme with her religion is that she thinks God is changing. So at the beginning of every chapter, there are almost poems from her religious text that she’s writing called Earth Seed. So they are so beautiful and fascinating to read, similar to The Grace Year.

Parable of the Sower

Author: Octavia E. Butler
Average Customer Review: (4.6 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Science Fiction
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Mass Market Paperback

Check On Amazon Check On Bookshop

More Women’s Friendship Books: 5 Books Like In Five Years

Pauline Jackson

I like to talk about popular books. My book review inspires you to read and save time. Also, I summarize the book and give you the best lessons or ideas that can change your life. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.