5 Books Like Matched In Mate Seeking Dystopian

Dystopian Romance Fiction Books

Matched is very similar in theory to Delirium but very different in writing. This one is similar because it’s a dystopian book surrounding love, but very different at the same time. In this book, when you reach a certain age, you go to a matching ceremony where the government matches you with the person you will marry. The way it’s written leads you to believe that you get matched with your true love.

Everyone’s happy with their matches like the government has this scientific way of calculating all your brain waves and then matching you to the one person in the entire country that you like match the best with, if that makes sense. So it’s very scientific, but it works. In the book, people are happy with their matches. It’s a way for society to create the happiest environments because you can choose whether you want to be matched.

You can be single and not get married, but you’re not allowed to have kids. If you want to go the route of having a family and having kids, you have to be matched and marry your match. Society seems to be pretty stable and pretty happy until inter cast the lead girl of this book. Everything gets mixed up when her matching ceremony doesn’t go exactly to plan. If you want to read books like Matched, follow me.

5 Books Like Matched (Mate Seeking Books Review)

In the book Matched, the entire storyline of this book surrounds the fact that Tasya gets matched to two people. She’s the only person in the history of society. There’s a glitch, and she gets matched to two people. So for the first time in this girl’s life, she has to question society and question she knows which guy is her true match, so which guy she’s supposed to be with, according to society.

As a reader, you know that this book focused on true love and many relationship facts. I love the style that the book presents the relationship and society. After reading this book, I found some similar books with it. Now I’m going to review 5 books similar to Matched. Let’s go!

1. Divergent

It’s the story of Beatrice Prior later on in Tris. It is a dystopian young adult novel. You have to start by explaining what the world is like because that’s usually the thing that stands out. The story is set in Chicago, and people live in different factions.

The factions are Dauntless for the brave abnegation, For the selfless candor, For the honest amity, For the intelligent. You live in the area that belongs to that faction and your race that way. But then, when you’re 16, you have to go through this test, and then you have to decide which faction you want to belong to and where you want to live.

Beatrice was born in the Abnegation faction, and they wear gray clothes, and they can’t even look in the mirror only once or twice a year. Early on, Beatrice doesn’t feel like she belongs in the faction she was born to. The most exciting thing would be if she would choose the thing that’s opposite to her faction, which is Dauntless for the brave, and that is what she ends up choosing.

So a huge part of this book is Tris trying to adapt to this new faction. She has to adapt to this new life, and she has to learn how to fight. There are lots of other interesting characters in this book, like Matched.

With all these different factions, it doesn’t take very long before you connect to the Hogwarts houses and how it’s impossible to divide people up into the five categories. You always get the people who want to be like slither claws or something like that.

So that’s one of these things that you get to think about while you’re reading this book. No one is entirely perfect for one of these factions. There are always going to be different sides to your personality. That’s the thing that Tris struggles with, which is very exciting.

Divergent

Author: Veronica Roth
Average Customer Review: (4.6 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Dystopian Fiction, Fantasy Romance, Fiction about Values & Virtues (Goodreads Choice)
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

2. American Royals

I don’t need any magic in this version of royalty or setting with aristocrats. We have an actual royal family that governs the country, but the plot of this book follows four main protagonists. The first character we follow is Beatrice, the heir to the throne. She is the oldest daughter of the King Queen. Then we have her sister, Samantha, who has a twin brother called Jeff.

The third character is Nina, Sam’s best friend, the only commoner out of the four. While one of her moms works for the monarchy in the cabinet, she has no noble blood. Finally, we have Daphne, who is the antagonist of the story. She’s very keen to marry Prince Jeff.

You will love this book if you are a fan of The Princess Diaries and Matched. It’s The Princess Diaries meets the Gossip Girl drama that went down. So Princess Beatrice is the heir to the throne, and that’s for the first time in history that a woman can inherit the throne when there is another male child in the line of succession, which is so important. I loved the world-building of this book because there is no precedent for this. Katherine truly invented her own rules about how the American royal family would govern.

This book has a lot of tropes. The tropes in this were perfect for the setting, and it’s a rom-com in that way. I particularly appreciate how this book delves into each girl’s positions and how each has ups and downs. Beatrice is so lucky to be the Queen of America, and Samantha is the spare. Often she talks about how her code name is the sparrow, which genuinely means she is the sparrow.

If anything were to happen to Beatrice or Jeff, you might think she’s unlucky in that aspect, but then you see how much Beatrice has on her shoulders her whole life. She has been training for a job that she doesn’t even get a say in, whether she wants it or not.

American Royals

Author: Katharine McGee
Average Customer Review: (4.4 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Fantasy Romance, History & Culture for Teens (Teachers’ pick)
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

3. Delirium

Delirium is a similar book with Matched. It is set in a dystopian world where the government has controlled society and decided that love is a disease that humans should be cured of. Humans should be immune to love so they cannot feel it and feel the hysteria associated with love. People would be brainwashed into thinking that love is a disease and not a good thing. But the author does such a good job describing the emotions you feel when you’re in love and using the feelings of love as symptoms of the disease.

In this society, they change something in your brain to not feel love at all. The results of the surgery can backfire as well. It can make you abuse animals and children more than you would in real life. Like in our world, that sometimes happens too. But it’s due to removing love from your abilities in this world.

Your brain can’t feel that emotion anymore. There are rules to every, and there are people that might not. The surgery might not work on them. Some people who live outside of the city are non-believers. They believe that love should be embraced, and they have to run for their lives because the city will kill them.

The main character’s name is Lena, and she is looking forward to her surgery. She is scared of the disease, and this society brainwashes her so much. Throughout the book, there’s little before every single chapter. There’s a quote, and it’s always quoted as we recognize, but they are twisted. So it will be like a quote from Romeo and Juliet talking about how amazing love is. But the words will be changed slightly, and it will be like second-grade English.

The whole thing is that she’s excited about the surgery, and then she falls in love, and it happens. That’s what the book was about. She would have someone fall in love and try to beat the system, and that’s what happens. If you are not the type of person that ever read that ever cries in books, then you probably will have no problem at the end. But if you cry in books, sometimes I have been known to cry in books before.

Delirium

Author: Lauren Oliver
Average Customer Review: (4.6 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Science Fiction Romance, Dystopian Fiction (Editors’ pick)
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle

Check On Amazon

4. The Princess Bride

Like Matched, The Princess Bride is a classic tale of true love and high adventure abridged by William Goldman. There’s never a case when it’s better to see the movie before reading the book. Reading the book always should come first because everyone loves the movie so much. William Goldman wrote the screenplay himself, so the movie and the book both have the same fun and silly flavor.

When you first get to the book’s introduction, it’s already the book itself. So the author is a character in this book that talks about him being a child and not being into reading. William Goldman is a genius storyteller. His father read this story to him when he was younger.

As he’s gotten older, he has realized that the story that his father read to him was much shorter and condensed. His father only read him the good parts, fencing, fighting, and adventurous stuff. Also, his father left out all the boring parts, like the royal family’s history and monsters.

The story starts outwards with Buttercup and Wesley, and Buttercup is the milkmaid’s daughter. She is a commoner, and Wesley is a farmhand who works for her father on the dairy farm. Eventually, they fall in love as many young people do when they grow up. Wesley decides that he will go off to the other country and work and make enough money to marry buttercup and start a family when he comes back.

So after Wesley leaves news, he gets the better cup that the Dread Pirate Roberts overtook the ship he was on. The bad thing about that is that he has a reputation of not leaving any survivor’s sad face. So Buttercup takes this news, and she assumes that there is no way that her Wesley has survived.

It’s not long after this where Prince Humperdinck interests the story, and he and Buttercup become engaged, even though Buttercup has made it quite clear that she does not love Prince Humperdinck and never will. On the day that buttercups engagement with Prince Humperdinck is announced, she is kidnapped by three men whose names are Vicini Fennec and Inigo Montoya.

This is where the story begins and takes off. That way, you can see what happened earlier in their lives, why they are the way they are, and how they were brought together. In the book, it’s quite different to see her transformation and grow in the story better.

The Princess Bride

Author: William Goldman
Average Customer Review: (4.7 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Literature & Fiction, Romance
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle

Check On Amazon

5. Rebecca

Rebecca follows a young woman traveling through Europe as a companion, a paid companion of this older woman, where she meets a very mysterious older man called Maxim. Maxim is very well known for owning the huge English estate of Madeleine and because he’s been widowed recently. His wife, Rebecca, who was pretty much loved and adored by everybody that she met, has very recently died tragically after spending some time together in Monaco. Maxim proposes to this young woman and takes her back to the Manly estate.

However, our heroine finds it hard to adjust as she feels like Rebecca’s presence haunts her every time. The girl finds some typical answers. It’s a very slow-moving plot that essentially focuses on this young girl who struggles with adjusting to life in a place where she feels like she’s always going to be second best to this ghost of Rebecca.

They’re looking for an action-packed story similar to Matched. This book has a very gothic feel, and by having such a slow-moving plot, you will get the feel of the suspense building up inch by inch. Also, it made such a brilliant climax at the end.

The characters in this book are so interesting. When you don’t like the characters, you wouldn’t want to be friends with them, but you can still empathize with them and see where they’re coming from. The main character was fascinating. She’s a very wallflower-type narrator because she’s never given a name. She’s utterly insignificant compared to Rebecca, who is remembered as being this massive, forceful personality and even the book’s Rebecca.

Rebecca

Author: Daphne du Maurier
Average Customer Review: (4.5 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Psychological Fiction, Gothic Romances
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle

Check On Amazon Check On Bookshop

Read More: 7 Books Like Ugly Love

Pauline Jackson

I like to talk about popular books. My book review inspires you to read and save time. Also, I summarize the book and give you the best lessons or ideas that can change your life. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.