5 Serial-Killer Books Like The Devil In The White City

Real Life Serial Killer Books

The Devil In The White City by Erik Larson is the story of Chicago as they were getting ready to host the world fair in 1893. Chicago was dead set on using this world fair to announce itself as a major world city. They felt like they were viewed as a second-rate city compared to Chicago, especially in America.

Also, they wanted this world here to showcase not to America but the entire world that Chicago was an elite city. Half of this book is focused on the city of Chicago, architects, and engineers who mobilized to make this. Suddenly, they have to overcome because it needs to be planned and built this entire event.

After two years, they built a city from scratch. The world Ferris ground was this ideal model city, and each building had its focus. The other half, this book focuses on a darker side of the city of Chicago. So the white city refers to the fair because all the monumental buildings were coated in white. The devil refers to this individual who built a hotel for the World Fair and turned it into his murder ground. He designed all these secret rooms ways to pop gas into hotel rooms to kill people or knock them out. If you want to read like The Devil In The White City, stay with me.

5 Books Like The Devil In The White City (True Crime & Serial Killer)

The Devil In The White City is a true event serial killer book where a devil chooses the white city for his crime. All the sorts of macabre-type stuff that he created his ideal killing ground. So you have this interesting element where you’re looking at this world fear, a huge accomplishment in humankind.

As a fascinating delve into both sides of the city of Chicago and the evil side through the devil. There are many true accounts of serial killer biographical books on Amazon. But I found 5 similar story and plot-related books that you like to read. If you like true crime books like The Devil In The White City, you’ll enjoy these books.

1. Zodiac: The Shocking True Story of the Hunt for the Nation’s Most Elusive Serial Killer

This is the first book in the Zodiac Killer series. If you like books dealing with serial killers and crime, you might enjoy this one. This one has a detective Darek who has a bit of a sordid past. He has a new partner in Lizzy, who is an FBI agent. Derek wants to get into the FBI, but his current case brings up some things from his past that could ruin him.

So in this, he is trying to solve the case so that he gets the job he wants, but at the same time trying to protect himself and his other zodiac buddies from his youth. Many events are going on in this from both the past and the present.

It is a book that ends with quite a cliffhanger like The Devil In The White City. You will have to read the rest of the series to get closure and answer this. The first book in the series doesn’t give you any answers. It’s giving you a lot of questions you find that quite annoying. Some elements innate open your eyes to a whole new world there. The characters in this that are being abused are all quite young. So some trigger warnings for you there.

Zodiac

Author: Robert Graysmith
Average Customer Review: (4.7 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Serial Killers True Accounts, Criminology
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Mass Market Paperback

Check On Amazon

2. The Monster Of Florence

It is a novel written by Douglas Preston. He is in the story because this is based on true events. Douglas Preston is an American who moves with his family to Florence to write a novel and experience something new. Whereas Mario Spezi has been a journalist his entire life, he’s lived in Florence. He’s been covering the monster killings since the first day they happened. Imagine beautiful countryside in Italy with a vineyard or the most beautiful overlooking the hill.

The story begins with a couple going at it in a car and then murdered. We don’t know if there’s one killer or multiple killers, but they end up killing lovers all over the place. There’s a sketch of who they think is the actual killer. This book will show you Italy’s justice system and its difference from America.

There were rumors that they were planting evidence to ensure that they weren’t the case. So basically, they were trying to make sure that they were saving their careers and that the entire world wasn’t laughing at Italy. It is because they couldn’t find the killer. It was fascinating, similar to The Devil In The White City, and I enjoyed reading this.

The Monster Of Florence

Author: Douglas Preston
Average Customer Review: (4.3 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Criminal Procedure Law, Serial Killers True Accounts
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Mass Market Paperback

Check On Amazon

3. If You Tell: A True Story of Murder, Family Secrets, and the Unbreakable Bond of Sisterhood

This book is the most intense true crime I’ve ever read in my entire life. It follows a woman named Shelley, and it talks about her childhood, which was an absolute hot mess. So the book starts horribly, and then it keeps getting worse and worse. When Shelley was a little kid, her mom was a hot mess. She was an alcoholic and super abusive.

No one knows what her childhood was like, but her dad divorced her mom. Then her dad married other girls, and he tricked her into thinking that he was only four years older than her when he was ten years older. It is a big deal because when they got married, the girl he married was like 18. So he tricked her regarding his age, or he lied about his age.

Shelly is the most controlling kid ever. She has a brother that comes with her, and he will not even talk. Shelly does all the talking for him, which is bizarre, and sometimes apparently, he had been seen in his room. One day the mom is murdered. Finally, this family gets the other boy, who is now older. They never say how old he is, but he’s old enough to sit at the table, and he’s not a baby. But he is entirely feral when they get him. So they struggle with these three kids, but they get the feral boy a little more involved in normal behavior.

As Shelley gets older, she gets more and more malicious, where she is doing things intentionally to hurt people, including breaking glass and putting it in people’s shoes. So that is horrible. Then, she grows up and becomes a mom herself. It is her story as a mom and the three daughters she has. Like The Devil In The White City, it is so graphic, heartbreaking, and horrible.

If You Tell

Author: Gregg Olsen
Average Customer Review: (4.4 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Serial Killers True Accounts, Biographies & Memoirs
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

4. American Predator: The Hunt for the Most Meticulous Serial Killer of the 21st Century

Israel Keyes is one of the most terrifying serial killers in history. You got to get into how he manipulated his world, how he was two different people, and the real person was what everyone saw. Everyone saw this fake personality that wasn’t him. He’s a cold-blooded killer. He couldn’t show that. So he had this persona.

I enjoy the book because I’ve always enjoyed true crime fan of the psychological aspect of how human beings go one way or the other. When it comes to morals, they have those because of some dysfunctional issue in their brain. Either way, they become these people, and this man, Israel Keyes, became a serial killer and killed many people in the United States. You can relate the character with The Devil In The White City.

There are different authors. It’s going to be interesting to see their spin on how they tell the story of this serial killer. Most people have heard of Richard Ramirez. He is a stone-cold serial killer. So it’s good to revisit this information in a dense book like this one.

American Predator

Author: Maureen Callahan
Average Customer Review: (4.5 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Serial Killers True Crime, Crime & Criminal Biographies
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Library Binding | Kindle

Check On Amazon

5. I’ll Be Gone in the Dark: One Woman’s Obsessive Search for the Golden State Killer

This is a true crime novel, and it’s one woman’s obsessive search for the Golden State Killer. You might not be familiar with the Golden State Killer. The East Area rapist broke into people’s houses in Northern California and raped women, whether they lived alone, with a couple or with children, or with a partner. He ransacked their house, and he raped them. Then he would leave nothing. There was violence, but no one was murdered. But then, eventually, he was linked to 10 murders down in Southern California.

So he became known by McNamara as the Golden State Killer once all those crimes were connected. Within this book, we have McNamara. She was an investigative journalist, and she interviewed detectives and cops who went through the investigation when they were the crimes were occurring. She passed away before this novel was published or entirely written.

So her partner had a techie guy assistant who did all the tech work on the internet. The mystery has never been solved, so she writes this book is called a genre buster, which is very true. You will get the same thrill and feelings as The Devil In The White City.

I'll Be Gone in the Dark

Author: Michelle McNamara
Average Customer Review: (4.7 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Serial Killers True Crime, Law Enforcement Biographies
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle

Check On Amazon Check On Bookshop

More Crime & Psychopath Books:

10 Books Based On Psychopaths

7 Books Like American Psycho

Pauline Jackson

I like to talk about popular books. My book review inspires you to read and save time. Also, I summarize the book and give you the best lessons or ideas that can change your life. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.