5 Urban Fiction Books Like The Coldest Winter Ever

Black Urban Fiction Books

The Coldest Winter Ever by Sister Souljah is classified as urban fiction. Our main character, Winter Santiago, who lives in Brooklyn, is the tale of our story. She is introduced to this beautiful lifestyle of riches and being well-dressed and popular among her friends. Her father is involved in a drug business.

Eventually, something’s happened, and Winter has to learn how to make it independently. It is unique how many barriers and obstacles she would have to overcome and how she becomes this character we ultimately love to hate. But she is a character who teaches us valuable lessons, not to take many things for granted, and everything you have can be taken away from you quickly. If you want to read books like The Coldest Winter Ever, keep scrolling.

5 Books Like The Coldest Winter Ever ( Black & African American Women’s Fiction)

The Coldest Winter Ever is a great book for many young black women to see themselves, and not that you would want to be in Winter Santiago’s position. But it was relatable in a sense that many black women and men find themselves in this position. Do you want to read more similar books? I will review 5 books that you find the courage girl like Winter. Let’s go!

1. Life After Death

Sister Souljah is an American author, activist, musician, and film producer. Twenty years ago, she wrote The Coldest Winter Ever, an outstanding novel and sold over a million copies. We are introduced to Winter Santiago and her life as a hustler in that novel. The novel ends with Winter Santiago going to prison for 15 long years. Now, everyone who read it wanted to know what happens to Winter in prison, and Sister Soldier answers the very question in the sequel.

The novel begins with a scenario where Winter is getting ready for her release from prison and is shot dead. Winter then gets trapped in the dimension between heaven and hell, where she has to learn vital lessons and evaluate the life she lived while she was on Earth to transcend to heaven.

There are many problems in this book. The book elaborately talks about the Islamic view on life after death. The author writes about Allah being the almighty all-powerful or, as she writes, the one who judges every individual based on their good or evil deeds.

The author is expressing her own political and religious views in the book, but it might alienate her reader base. She also criticizes a few other religions and belief systems, which can be an issue. She also presents an extreme view on abortion being murder, which might also spark a few opposing thoughts in some of the readers.

So the chances are that many readers might disagree with what she’s writing in this book. The book is three hundred-plus pages, and the first 20 to 30 percent is spent figuring out what is exactly going on. The plot jumps from one idea to another, hence confusing the reader. The book has mystical elements, and what was amusing to me is the cars, the clothes, and the brands she witnesses in the afterlife.

Life After Death

Author: Sister Souljah
Average Customer Review: (4.0 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Fiction Urban Life, Black & African American Women’s Fiction
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

2. Flyy Girl

The story follows Tracy Ellison, a young woman in Germantown, a suburb of Philadelphia. She is coming into maturity right before the crack epidemic takes over. She’s young and gorgeous and isn’t afraid of anyone who gets anywhere she wants. Unlike other stories with a similar plot and storyline, this story is different because she comes from a two-parent household and her parents work. So she has that immediate foundation. She has that confidence and certainty from two parents who love her in the home.

Tracy’s father decides that he needs a break. He still pays all the bills he pops up when he wants to, but he doesn’t want to come home and stays gone for a long time. In this period of his absence, Tracy is going through maturity and begins dating and seeking a masculine presence. She doesn’t necessarily process it that way because she’s young, but this is what she’s going through. It is something that does get unpacked as a storyline continues.

Tracy prides himself on being able to do. But Victor is a super handsome, charismatic man who is intimate with any young woman. What makes that so interesting is that he understands the art of manipulation. So even before he physically has intercourse with them, he mentally manipulates their minds.

Like every other person he’s pursued, Tracy falls for him and loses herself in that. But what makes her so different is that she always knows what it is. She never fools herself about it. But what she doesn’t understand throughout the process is that he likes her, too.

So as these two individuals grow, you see them make different decisions. But there’s always mutual love, respect, and maybe even a little, always an interest. We see them meet, fall in love, have that initial passion and desire. Reading this book was so epic because I read this book when I was 12. I focused on Tracy and her encounters and her escapades with the boys and the young man she was dating. The real-life fiction and theme are very similar to The Coldest Winter Ever.

Flyy Girl

Author: Omar Tyree
Average Customer Review: (4.8 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Contemporary Literature & Fiction
Available: Mass Market Paperback | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

3. Tales 4rm Da Dale: A Short Story Collection

This book is a collection of three short stories, all following characters who live in Riverdale, Georgia, and some of the sticky situations they get themselves into. The first book in this collection is Money Blessings, and this book follows a guy named Rico, who is constantly grinding well and selling drugs. He’s trapped, and he doesn’t seem to be making his way up to the top. So he decides to get in touch with a route worker, and after he gets in touch with this real worker, he starts to flourish. But at the end of the day, all money isn’t good money.

The second story is called My Dukes. This is about a guy named Jay Rob, and he is a team that cannot stay out of trouble. Also, it gets to the point where his mom is so fed up with him that she ends up kicking him out.

So this gives him free rein to get into even more trouble. He ends up teaming up with these other two guys for the day, and they decided that they’re going to go, try to pull a few licks. But something goes wrong, and he leaves for dead, and his mom’s love is tested.

The last story in this collection is called Chillout, and it’s about a guy named Rhell, who is in prison. He’s been convicted of murder. He has a young kid in his cell named Juvie. This story is his hope that it would try to get him on the right path. So that is the three stories in this collection. If you like The Coldest Winter Ever, you will love it.

Tales 4rm Da Dale

Author: Elijah R. Freeman
Average Customer Review: (4.9 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Fiction Urban Life
Available: Paperback | Kindle

Check On Amazon

4. The Animal Series

At the beginning of this book, Animal has been sentenced to death, but somehow, Animal escapes prison. He has been living in the Caribbean for three years like a fugitive. However, he has a woman that’s back in Harlem named Gucci.

When he finds out that his old enemies have done something to Gucci, all bets are off. He has to come back to Harlem to light shit up because nobody touches someone close to Animal without consequences. He always seems to stay ten steps ahead of everyone else because he’s intelligent. There are character and plot similarities with The Coldest Winter Ever.

The Animal Series

Author: K’wan
Average Customer Review: (4.7 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Black & African American Urban Fiction
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

5. Moth to a Flame

This book is about a drug kingpin named Benjamin Atkins. He has tried to make sure that his daughter, Raven Atkins, is away from all the turmoil in being in the game. He has sheltered her pretty much her entire life. Raven falls madly in love with Mizan. There’s nothing her father can do to stop her from getting with this duel, even though he’s entirely against it.

At first, everything is so good between them. But at some point, things get very violent. It is a great starting point to a long but excellent story that follows if you can handle reading.

Moth to a Flame

Author: Ashley Antoinette
Average Customer Review: (4.8 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Black & African American Women’s Fiction
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Mass Market Paperback | Kindle | MP3 CD

Check On Amazon Check On Bookshop

Read More: 15 Best Selling Fiction Books All Time

Pauline Jackson

I like to talk about popular books. My book review inspires you to read and save time. Also, I summarize the book and give you the best lessons or ideas that can change your life. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.