7 Realistic Racism Books Like Dear Martin

Realistic Racism Books

If Nic Stone’s “Dear Martin” left a profound impact on you with its raw, honest exploration of race, identity, and social justice, then your quest for meaningful literature is just beginning. In this post, we’ll explore a selection of books that resonate with the impactful themes of “Dear Martin.” These novels not only entertain but also provoke thought, inspire change, and open a window into the lives and struggles of characters grappling with societal challenges.

From heartfelt stories of personal growth to powerful narratives about fighting against systemic injustice, each book offers a unique perspective on the world we live in. So, brace yourself for an enlightening literary journey, one that promises to deepen your understanding and empathy as you traverse through these compelling, life-affirming stories.

7 Books Like Dear Martin (Realistic Racism Bio)

“Dear Martin” addresses racial profiling, police brutality, and the struggle for justice through the eyes of its protagonist, Justyce McAllister. Books in this vein offer insightful perspectives on systemic racism and its impacts on individual lives. Many of these books are written for young adults, making complex social issues easy and relatable to a younger audience. They feature teenage protagonists, providing a narrative voice that resonates with young readers.

So the recommended books are for everyone to read, whether you’re black or white or brown or whatever. Here are seven of them, which are super helpful. Let’s get straight into it.

NameKey FocusTropes
Becoming by Michelle ObamaThe memoir chronicles the life of Michelle Obama, tracing her journey from her childhood in the South Side of Chicago to her role as the First Lady of the United States, offering insights into her personal life, her advocacy work, and the challenges and triumphs she faced.Coming-of-age, American Dream, female empowerment, public service, racial identity, family values, work-life balance, political backdrop, personal growth, societal expectations.
Why I Am No Longer Talking to White People About Race by Reni Eddo-LodgeThis book explores systemic racism in the United Kingdom and discusses the author’s decision to disengage from conversations with white people about race, due to the emotional and psychological toll these discussions often entail, while also delving into history, feminism, and the structural aspects of racism.Systemic racism, historical analysis, social commentary, feminism and intersectionality, personal narrative, societal critique, activism, racial identity, discourse on privilege, structural inequality.
Taking Up Space by Chelsea KwakyeA groundbreaking exploration of the experiences of black women in predominantly white British universities, addressing the challenges they face, the systemic barriers to their success, and the need for institutional change to promote diversity and inclusion in higher education.Educational inequality, racial and gender identity, personal narratives, systemic racism, diversity and inclusion, activism and advocacy, university life, cultural challenges, empowerment, institutional reform.
Diversify by June SarpongThe book examines the societal and economic benefits of promoting diversity and inclusion across various sectors, including race, gender, age, and disability.Social inclusion, diversity benefits, unconscious bias, case studies, actionable strategies, societal commentary, personal anecdotes, economic arguments for diversity, intersectionality, advocacy for change.
We Are Displaced by Malala YousafzaiA personal stories from refugee girls and women around the world, including Malala Yousafzai’s own experiences, highlighting the traumas, challenges, and resilience of displaced individuals, and shedding light on the human side of political conflicts and forced migration.Personal narratives, refugee experiences, global conflicts, resilience and survival, women’s empowerment, activism, cultural displacement, human rights, educational advocacy, personal growth amidst adversity.
Brit(ish) by Afua HirschThe complexities of identity, race, and belonging in modern Britain, exploring the author’s personal experiences and the broader historical and social contexts that shape discussions around race and heritage in the UK.Personal memoir, racial identity, cultural heritage, colonial history, societal critique, mixed-race experience, national identity, belonging and alienation, racism and discrimination, self-discovery.
How to Argue With a Racist by Adam RutherfordA scientific exploration that dismantles racist stereotypes using evidence and facts from genetics, history, and anthropology, offering readers tools to challenge and debunk racist arguments and promote a more informed and inclusive dialogue.Scientific debunking, anti-racism, genetics and race, historical context, myth-busting, educational guide, societal critique, evidence-based arguments, diversity and inclusion, combating stereotypes.
Books Like Dear Martin List

1. Becoming

This number-one international best-seller book gives us insight into Michelle Obama’s life. She is a black woman, and many of her experiences are shaped by her race. So, the book does focus on race, but not so much because she talks about her experience becoming who she is and her journey through life. But all of it is shaped by her color. She talks about that and her treatment in the White House as the first lady.

From a black perspective, you understand how much racism she and Barack received when they were in the White House. It gives you an understanding of American racism and why it shaped the way that it is. So, you can see everything she’s discussing is from the perspective of a black woman. It gives you an insight into how racism affects someone’s life. The cover of this book is also gorgeous.

Becoming

Author: Michelle Obama
Publisher: Random House Audio
Average Rating: 4.8/5
Tropes: Black & African American Biographies, Political Leader Memoir (Best Seller)
Number Of Pages: 426
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

2. Why I Am No Longer Talking to White People About Race

This teaches you why black people are tired of having to explain their existence. They often don’t want to talk about why you shouldn’t tell them anything you want. Little things that are called microaggressions, why they bother black people a lot, and why many have decided to no longer talk to around White about race. It’s going to become a whole defensive thing. White privilege gets brought up, and people deny white privilege. Then you have to explain why!

This book explains and articulates perfectly why that is. So, if you are a white person who reads this, you’ll understand those little things. I love this book because it talks about the things that are not overt. Also, it is good for black people because it allows you to find the words, articulate your feelings, and realize what you might think is silly to mention.

 Why I Am No Longer Talking to White People About Race

Author: Reni Eddo-Lodge
Publisher: Audible Studios for Bloomsbury
Average Rating: 4.7/5
Tropes: Racism & Discrimination Studies
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

3. Taking Up Space: The Black Girl’s Manifesto for Change

This is a story of the realities of two girls (Chelsea and Ore) who go to Cambridge, and they talk about their experience as black women and how that was shaped by it. All the microaggressions they face and the curriculum they’re studying get into a university experience for someone who’s black and how hard it is, which is phenomenal.

Chelsea already did a fantastic book. Everybody should read it if you’re white. Once again, you better understand how to be an ally to your black friends at university when they’re going through some of these things. You realize that you’re not alone or crazy if you’re black. Things you feel are real, and other people go through it. So, if you’re going to university, I’d recommend you read this before you go because it’s super powerful and will give you insight into what black students face daily.

Taking Up Space

Author: Chelsea Kwakye
Publisher: Merky Books
Average Rating: 4.7/5
Tropes: Inclusive Education Methods, Social Activist Biographies
Number Of Pages: 336
Item Weight: 7.7 ounces
Dimensions: 5 x 0.9 x 7.75 inches
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle

4. Diversify

June Sarpong highlights groups often marginalized in our society, including women, those living with disabilities, and the LGBTQ community. Diversify uncovers how a new approach to work, learning, and living can help us reach our maximum potential, lessen the pressures on the state, and solve our most stubborn challenges.

I love it because it tackles all the aspects of different marginalized groups in our society, including black people. Also, she tackles it, gets into it well, and lets you see how each group chuckles at the face. Essentially, you can help, give a helping hand, and become an ally.

Diversify

Author: June Sarpong
Publisher: HQ, First edition
Average Rating: 4.6/5
Tropes: Government Social Policy, Social Justice, Feminism & Race
Number Of Pages: 288
Item Weight: 9.9 ounces
Dimensions: 5.08 x 1 x 7.8 inches
Available: Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle

5. We Are Displaced

In this book, Malala Yousafzai gathers a group of displaced girls and talks about their situations, how they’ve changed, and how education has been affected. I recommend this book because it gives you insight into the lives of the people you will be helping or advocating for. It also allows you to understand how they got where they are and how they feel.

When we talk about race, diversifying, accessibility, and equality, we use terms and forget that these are actual people that we’re discussing. This is what that book does. It allows you to meet the young girls who are displaced, who are going through these things, and they tell their stories themselves. Each chapter is a story from each girl.

We Are Displaced

Author: Malala Yousafzai
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Average Rating: 4.8/5
Tropes: Civil & Human Rights, Social Activist Biographies
Number Of Pages: 224
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

6. Brit(ish): On Race, Identity, and Belonging

This book tackles race, identity, and being a person living in Britain, understanding the history of Britain, and how you can help dismantle those institutional systems that are racist. The book cover is quite edgy and different from the other covers. So it says this personal and provocative investigation for her explores a British identity crisis.

We are a nation in denial about our past and our present. We believe that we are the nation of abolition but forget that we are the nation of slavery. So this is a story of how and why this came to be and an urgent call for change.

On Race, Identity, and Belonging

Author: Afua Hirsch
Publisher: Random House Audiobooks
Average Rating: 4.7/5
Tropes: Racism & Discrimination Studies
Number Of Pages: 367
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle

7. How to Argue With a Racist: What Our Genes Do (and Don’t) Say About Human Difference

This book gets into history, science, race, and reality. The author touches on the scientific reasons you cannot be racist and how we’re all bound together genetically, biologically, and historically. When you argue racism, let’s not based on emotions or feelings; it’s based on facts.

It also works in what’s happening with it today because many people forget the reasons why black people are all over the world. The author talks about arguing racism, which is a vital manifesto for the 21st-century understanding of human evolution and variation. It does help you understand the lives of women in different parts of the world and predominantly focuses on Africa.

How to Argue With a Racist

Author: Adam Rutherford
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Average Rating: 4.4/5
Tropes: Physical Anthropology, Anti Racist, Nonfiction Science
Number Of Pages: 224
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD


These narratives, rich with depth and realism, offer more than just an escape; they provide a lens through which we can examine our world, understand diverse experiences, and contemplate our role in shaping a more just society. So, as you go on your next reading adventure, may these books enlighten your mind, touch your heart, and spark conversations that lead to change.

Until our next foray into the world of thought-provoking literature, happy reading, and may each story you encounter leave a lasting imprint on your journey toward understanding and empathy.

Read More Similar Books: 5 Racism Memoir Books Like Born A Crime

Pauline Jackson

I like to talk about popular books. My book review inspires you to read and save time. Also, I summarize the book and give you the best lessons or ideas that can change your life. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *