5 War-Fiction Books Like The Alice Network

War Fiction Books

The Alice Network is a historical fiction novel during World War One and Two. The story starts with Charlie, and she steps off a boat and from America into England. Also, she’s there with her mother on a trip to Switzerland because she has gotten pregnant and they’re going to Switzerland to get rid of it.

However, Charlie has another plan in mind. She has a name and address written down in her pocket. It has something to do with her cousin, Rose, who’s gone missing during World War Two. Charlie goes out on the adventure and tries to figure out the mystery of what happened to Rose. If you want to read books like The Alice Network, follow me!

5 Books Like The Alice Network (Historical War Fiction)

In the book The Alice Network, I love seeing Charlie progress and learn her story and background and everything she lived through, and it was a beautiful book.

This book is all about a girl’s adventure and struggling. I read many war fiction books and found similar books with The Alice Network. So I will review 5 books similar to The Alice Network that you find Charlie’s character. Let’s go!

1. The Huntress

This book is a World War Two historical fiction, and it takes place more creatively after the war is over. We’re following three different perspectives in this one. The first one is a woman named Jordan. She’s a very young woman and lives in Boston. She is living with her father and his new wife. So her new stepmother also brought a younger daughter into the family. So she has a stepmother, stepdaughter who has suddenly appeared in their lives and is living under their roof.

We also get the perspective of Ian, a retired war journalist. During the war, he traveled and wrote stories about the soldiers and things happening. He has stopped doing that because it took a lot out of him, but he has now created a committee of people hunting war criminals from Germany.

So they are finding out who these people are, what they did, what their war crimes were, and then he’s trying to hunt them down so that they can be arrested and pay for their crimes. Many of these people have disappeared, taken on new identities. They’re scattered throughout the world, basically living in hiding.

The third perspective we get is a woman named Nina. She is a Russian woman, and she was part of the war as a Russian pilot, and it was a fleet of female pilots who would fly and bomb the Germans. That was a real thing that happened. I was found myself googling this fleet of women a lot because some of the people depicted here were real people who did this. So, it was very interesting to see what was written in here versus what was happening.

The one person that ties all three people together is a woman that has been nicknamed the Huntress. The Huntress was a German woman married to a high-ranking German officer. She took a lot of pleasure in hurting the enemy. The Jewish people and Polish people and anybody who wasn’t German, she committed some horrific crimes.

She was able to commit these crimes because she lured her victims to her, charmed them, and fed them. This stuff is not super well known to the public, but it is very well known to Ian, who is trying to hunt her because he has a personal connection with her.

This book is a historical thriller because you’re following these people. It’s not always incredibly heart-pounding, but there are some heart-pounding moments here. It also made a lot of sense for the character it represented. You can find the characters and plots similarities with The Alice Network.

The Huntress

Author: Kate Quinn
Average Customer Review: (4.6 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Historical Russian Fiction, Military Historical Fiction (Best Seller)
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

2. The Four Winds

This book’s general success is that we follow Elsa, a 25-year-old her family does not love. She’s very much pushed aside, told that she’s ugly. Also, she has a little mistake happen with this one guy. She ends up marrying him, and it goes off from there. But essentially, she is in a loveless marriage with a man who has big hopes and dreams during this challenging period in time. So essentially, this takes place over the Great Depression. My American history is a little bit spotty.

The story follows Elsa and her family’s struggles to survive working on a farm when there is this drought and then these dust storms coming through and her sons getting dust pneumonia. So she’s forced to learn to be courageous and stand up for herself and her family.

It tells the tale of their journey to that. There’s a lot of criticism with Kristen Hannah’s books because they center her around stories with four women with female protagonists. There are themes that everyone can pick up, mostly her most recent ones. So overall, you will enjoy this struggle and feel their emotions like The Alice Network.

The Four Winds

Author: Kristin Hannah
Average Customer Review: (4.5 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Women’s Historical Fiction
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

3. The Nightingale

Nightingale started World War Two in France when the Germans invaded. You have the perspectives of two wildly different sisters, polar opposite personalities. Although she’s lovely, quite fearful, a bit of a scaredy-cat in general, she has a very loving husband and daughter. Then you have Isabelle, who is incredibly rebellious and staying at her home, hiding from the Nazis and trying not to get in their way. She wants to head out and fight against them.

Then the other significant aspect of this book takes up about 20 percent of it is during the present day in the United States. You will enjoy the dynamic between Vaughn and Isabel and their relationships and character development.

At the beginning of the book, they both feel like little caricatures. Isabel felt such a stereotype of that rebellious older teenager who’s beautiful. But throughout the book, that changes and develops. So I enjoy that aspect of their characters, relationships, and ebbs and flows. The other major pro is the emotional impact similar to The Alice Network.

The Nightingale

Author: Kristin Hannah
Average Customer Review: (4.8 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: World War II Historical Fiction
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle

Check On Amazon

4. The Great Alone

Our protagonist is Leni, but her mother, Cora, and dad are the other main characters. Leni is 13 years old. Her father has come back from Vietnam. He’s dealing with PTSD. He’s also an alcoholic and abusive to Cora, his wife, Leni’s mother. One day, he passes away in Alaska and leaves a tiny cabin. He’s dealing with all of the demons and that going to Alaska. Moving his family will be a fresh start for all of them.

So we uproot his family and move to Alaska, and it’s not as if he’s moving to a small city in Alaska. They are moving to the middle of nowhere, Alaska. Other people in the town tell this family that they have no idea what they’re doing.

People love this idea of moving into the last frontier when they have no idea what they’re getting themselves into. You feel trapped in Alaska, trapped in the cabin and isolated. Like The Alice Network, this book takes place over a long period. People will be dying, but it feels like how people die. She’s also trying to make you cry.

The Great Alone

Author: Kristin Hannah
Average Customer Review: (4.7 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Women’s Domestic Life Fiction
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

5. Outlander

This book is about Claire Randall. Claire Randall is on her second honeymoon in Scotland with her husband, Frank, but things take a turn for the crazy and the time-traveling when she touches standing stones in the Scottish Highlands. She gets transported back in time to 17:00 Scotland. Here is where she goes on the adventure of a lifetime and meets Jamie.

This book is so action-packed from Page two hundred and on. You have to get through the first two hundred pages like it’s a perfect book, no matter what, but the first one to 200 pages can be a little bit dragging B setting up the entire storyline.

So stick with it until the two hundredth page mark. Jamie is such a unique but very mysterious character from the start. You do not know the entirety of a story until you finish this book, and reading about him seeing him unravel as a character was so heartbreaking.

It’s fascinating to watch his character develop throughout the story and learn why he is the way he is. They don’t look at each other and fall in love. So they have to adjust to this relationship because there is a time difference. There are also some fantastic supporting characters like Alice Duncan, Callum, and Dougal Mackenzie.

They are awesome supporting characters that you truly like to know about in the story because they’re essential but not as important as Claire and Jamie. Eleanor is told from Claire’s point of view. So you get to see the world how she sees it, and that’s what I enjoy about this book because it is alternate points of view. The time travel and fantasy elements are very similar to The Alice Network.

Outlander

Author: Diana Gabaldon
Average Customer Review: (4.7 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Scottish Historical Romance, Time Travel Romances (Best Seller)
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle

Check On Amazon Check On Bookshop

More War Related Books: 5 Books Like The Boys In The Boat

Pauline Jackson

I like to talk about popular books. My book review inspires you to read and save time. Also, I summarize the book and give you the best lessons or ideas that can change your life. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.