5 Mental Illness Books Like It Is Kind Of A Funny Story

Mysteries & Mental Illness

It’s Kind of a Funny Story revolves around the life of a young teenager named Craig Gilner, and he is a student in New York City. He wants to get into a high school where it’s quite elite so he can get into an Ivy League school. After he finishes high school and college, there is tremendous pressure. From this, Craig cannot keep up with the growing pace of work that he has to do.

He has many family pressures of teenage life. Ultimately he falls into anxiety. This anxiety leads to depression, and one day Craig gets so far that he tries to commit suicide. Craig realizes that he has more to his life than this. So he decides to opt-out of trying to commit suicide and admit himself into a psychiatric hospital in Manhattan. Then he does meet some interesting characters that help him through this process. If you want to read like It Is Kind Of A Funny Story, stay with me.

5 Books Like It Is Kind Of A Funny Story (Mysteries & Mental Illness)

It’s Kind of a Funny Story is a phenomenal book, mirrored in the author’s actual life. He spent some time in a psychiatric hospital when he was younger, based on Craig’s different personality. But it has got elements to his life in it.

There are a lot of other minor characters, such as Craig’s family, friends that are not in a psychiatric hospital. Also, the friends that Craig meets at the psychiatric hospital learn a little bit about each character. I will review 5 books similar to It Is Kind Of A Funny Story. Let’s go!

1. Thirteen Reasons Why

The story revolves around Hannah Baker, who killed herself two weeks before her suicide. She has recorded tapes on the 13 reasons and the people that led her to make this decision. Clay Jensen, a boy who always liked Hannah, comes home from school one day and finds the box of tapes lying in the sport. He starts listening to the tapes and realizes that he is one of the 13 reasons Hannah killed herself. What he hears changes his life.

The book itself is fairly easy to read, like It Is Kind Of A Funny Story. You will like the narration style in the story through Clay’s thoughts and Hannah’s dialogues. Also, halfway into the book, when stuff starts happening to Hannah, she knows that she is not strong enough and cannot speak her mind and ask for help. So why does she keep getting involved with the wrong crowd to get disappointed over and over again?

If she knows she cannot stand up for herself, she should seek professional help. There are many instances where she could have reached out to Clay for help, knowing that he is a good friend and would help her out. But again, she does not do anything about that.

Thirteen Reasons Why

Author: Jay Asher
Average Customer Review: (4.5 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Mysteries & Thrillers, Romance, Mental Illness
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Mass Market Paperback

Check On Amazon

2. Turtles All The Way Down

The main character is Aza Holmes. She’s in high school, and she has a best friend who writes like Star Wars fan fiction, and a billionaire goes missing in their town. Aza never intended to pursue the mystery of fugitive billionaire Russell Pickett. But there’s a $100000 reward at stake, and her most fearless friend Daisy is eager to investigate. So it’s about their investigation trying to find this billionaire so that they can get the prize money.

What’s interesting is that Aza knows his son. They went to a camp together when they were younger, and Daisy reiterates this multiple times. Aza has OCD and anxiety. You’re going to get a story about this girl with anxiety and OCD and her interaction with this boy. Also, there’s nothing wrong with that. If you’re looking for a super wild adventure book, this isn’t that. But it is interesting to read similar to It Is Kind Of A Funny Story.

Turtles All The Way Down

Author: John Green
Average Customer Review: (4.6 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Depression & Mental Illness, Coming of Age Fiction
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

3. The Perks of Being a Wallflower

The Perks of Being a Wallflower was published in 1999. It is told in the form of letters from Charlie. He is starting his first year of High School. We follow him as he navigates his new school, makes some friends, deals with his family, and tries to come to terms with two traumatic events from his past. The suicide of his only friend a year before and the death of his favorite aunt in childhood.

We only get the important bits of Charlie’s life, or rather the bits that Charlie thinks are important and wants to write down. It has a lot of universal themes that people would relate to, especially teenagers. Charlie goes through many things in High School that others would recognize, like the cliquey nature and trying to make friends and find a place, relationships, discoveries, family. It tackles some difficult subjects like abuse: mental, physical, sexual, suicide. Other themes are addressed, drugs and sexuality like It Is Kind Of A Funny Story.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Author: Stephen Chbosky
Average Customer Review: (4.7 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Coming of Age Fiction, LGBTQ+ Fiction
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

4. Impulse

Impulse was published in 2007, and it has 666 pages. It focuses on three people: Tony, Vanessa, and Conner. Each of them has tried to kill themselves in one way or another. As a result, they have landed themselves in the psychiatric hospital Aspen Springs. We meet all three of them at the beginning of the book.

The main female character is Vanessa, and she has a mother who is bipolar, and her father is in the army. She is also battling whether she will end up having bipolar disorder as well, and her refuge or way out is through cutting herself or self-harm, as people tend to call it.

Like It Is Kind Of A Funny Story, there are lots of self-harm, but she is obsessed with cutting herself and the rush of drawing blood. Then we have Toni, who is gay, and he had an abusive childhood and was in juvenile detention. His escape is through drugs, and that lands him in Aspen Springs.

Then our final one is Conner, the all-American quarterback, the star athlete, top of his class, good looking, rich, everything any guy would want to be. He is miserable. So he tries to shoot himself. Try being outward because he failed. That is also landed him in Aspen Springs, where the three characters meet each other.

So the whole book is focused on following the three characters through their struggles. They’re all connected. They are all battling their inner demons, and they want to find a way to normalize happiness and, at the same time, wonder whether they want to find a way to happiness, whether it’s even possible. You’re following the three characters through their struggle in Aspen Springs and going through the levels.

Impulse

Author: Ellen Hopkins
Average Customer Review: (4.7 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Teen & Young Adult Fiction about Depression & Mental Illness
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

5. Dear Evan Hansen

The story’s protagonist is Evan Hansen, in high school. This book is written to instantly relate to Evan Hansen and the issues he is dealing with in his high school. It’s more about a mental connection you create with the book’s protagonist, which creates this bond that nothing can break.

So when you’re reading the book, you are already so absorbed in it that you cannot leave it at that. The story is written so that it is so captivating, and there’s something or the other always happening. Every decision that Evan takes in this story leads to another decision. There are characters in this book who are still dealing with mental illness, revealed to you when you read the book like It Is Kind Of A Funny Story. There is so much in this book for you to discover and explore.

Dear Evan Hansen

Author: Val Emmich
Average Customer Review: (4.8 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Fiction about Suicide, Depression & Mental Illness (Best Seller)
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon Check On Bookshop

Read More Similar Psychological Books: 5 Books About Hallucinations

Pauline Jackson

I like to talk about popular books. My book review inspires you to read and save time. Also, I summarize the book and give you the best lessons or ideas that can change your life. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.