5 Historical Romance Books Like Edenbrooke

Historical Romance Books

Edenbrooke by Julianne Donaldson takes place in the eighteen hundreds in England. It begins in Bath, where the main character, Marianne Daventry. She is staying with her grandma after her mother recently passed away, and her father sent her to live with her grandmother in Bath. Her sister to live with their cousins in the town for a season. In this story, as it progresses, she is sent a letter from her sister, Cecily, who is another main character.

Marianne puts her loyalty above everything else. She doesn’t even admit to herself until the very end of the book that she is in love with Philip. At the end of the story, Marianne is kidnapped by the highwayman, the other main character. Philip comes back and saves Marianne, and they admit their feelings for each other. If you want to read books like Edenbrooke, you are in the right place.

5 Books Like Edenbrooke (Historical Romance)

Edenbrooke is an adventurous book where you find true love and loyalty. After reading this book, I learned about the proper meaning of love and what a lover should do.

This historical romance book inspired me to read more books. So I read many romantic books, and now I will review 5 books similar to Edenbrooke that’ll help you discover differently. Let’s go!

1. Bridgerton: The Duke and I

The story follows Daphne, the oldest daughter of eight children, and she is ready to come out into society and find a husband. Unfortunately, she doesn’t have much very promising marriage offers when she first comes out. So she ends up making a deal or scheme with the Duke of Hastings to benefit each other by fake dating.

Daphne will hopefully get more promising marriage offers. The Duke of Hastings can avoid all of the other women trying to marry him because he is not interested in marriage. So it goes from there. It was an enjoyable read. Anthony is not a massive part of the book at all. He knows about the scheme between Daphne and Simon throughout most of the book, and he’s all right with it as long as it doesn’t damage Daphne’s reputation in society. So as soon as he kisses her, that was accurate.

Anthony does get upset with Simon and forces her to say she has to marry him, and they do that whole duel. So that was accurate, but he knows about what’s going on throughout, and they combined some characters. There’s a maid that raises Simon and helps with his stutter. Simon and Daphne meet entirely differently in the book compared to the movie. So read this book if you like the story of Edenbrooke.

The Duke and I

Author: Julia Quinn
Average Customer Review: (4.6 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Regency Historical Romance
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Mass Market Paperback

Check On Amazon

2. Romancing Mister Bridgerton

It is the fourth in the Bridgerton series by Julia Quinn. The book has two main characters, Penelope Featherington and Colin Bridgerton. Since she first laid her eyes on him, Penelope has adored her best friend’s brother, Colin Bridgerton. He thinks that she knows everything about Colin. She watches him here and there.

The heart of the story is that she’s stunned when she stumbles upon his greatest secret. She feels like she doesn’t know him at all. On the other hand, Colin, a lady’s man who’s an empty-headed charmer, is tired of this and tourist gossip and people’s presumptions by the town’s gossip columnist, Lady Whistledown.

Colin returns to London, he realizes, and he comes to acknowledge that Penelope has changed. She’s not like how she was used to be. She’s matured, and he’s becoming into her feelings towards her. However, like every story, when he finds out that Penelope herself has a secret of their dilemma happens, he’s not sure how to see her in this different light.

I thought that was a nice twist to his character that Julia Quinn wrote because it’s something profound and personal even get a different side to him other than his outside character. The relationship between Penelope and Colin, it’s a sweet relationship. It grows from an uneasy acquaintance to friendship to a more intimate romantic relationship, and the book’s plot is a whistle down. It was such a big secret, and the writing is beautifully written, similar to Edenbrooke.

Romancing Mister Bridgerton

Author: Julia Quinn
Average Customer Review: (4.6 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Regency Historical Romance, Women’s Historical Fiction
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Mass Market Paperback

Check On Amazon

3. Matchmaking for Beginners

The book is about the character is Marnie MacGraw. She is engaged to a man. At the beginning of the book, she’s going to a Christmas party, and her fiancee’s family throws the Christmas party. There are many women who all wear red, and there’s this certain dish that is served. Blix is fiancee’s aunt who lives in Brooklyn, and this party is going on. She’s known as the black sheep of the family. Everybody says she’s a witch or whatnot. As soon as Blix meets Marnie, she feels connected and knows she gets this revelation.

Marnie does marry her nephew, and it lasts a week, and then they get a divorce. Blix thinks of herself as a matchmaker. She sees people, and they have like a spark or a color. Also, she sees another person and knows she has an inner sense that they belong together.

So she does everything she can to get them together. The story propels forward, and maybe what you would think is a predictable way. If you’re looking for an easy read like Edenbrooke, I recommend matchmaking for beginners by Maddy Dawson.

Matchmaking for Beginners

Author: Maddie Dawson
Average Customer Review: (4.5 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Humorous Fiction, Historical Romance
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | MP3 CD

Check On Amazon

4. The Viscount Who Loved Me

This one is the second book in the Bridgerton series. It is an enemies-to-lovers trope, and we have Anthony, the eldest Bridgerton child, who has decided that he will get married. But he does not want to marry for love. So he picks out the diamond of the season. Edwina Sheffield is the stepsister of Kate, who is older than her.

She is more than happy for Edwina to marry, but absolutely no way she will marry Anthony Bridgerton. She’s read all about him in Lady Whistledown’s new sheet. He is not good enough for her stepsister. So then Kate makes it her life’s mission to sabotage Anthony’s attempts on Edwina.

Julia Quinn does such amazing banter and humor, and she should write historical romance. My favorite scene is when they play mall at Antony’s country home, where they’re having a big get-together like they’ve invited people. So they decide they’re going to play and they’ve invited Kate to play as well.

So the rules for power in Pamela Bridgerton’s style are that there are no rules. It’s every man for themselves. The winner is the best cheater. Kate was born to be a Bridgerton and born to play pal. She is so fantastic at sabotaging any attempts Anthony makes to win.

During this time, Anthony and Kate start to feel something more for each other. Both Anthony and Kate have an irrational fear that they need to deal with, and they’ve never spoken about it because it’s an irrational fear. It’s not stupid to each of them with their fears. Through the book, Kate overcomes hers. It’s the more resolved way.

Would she get through it without any problems this time around? So you don’t know whether that happens or not. Anthony doesn’t want to fall in love. He can feel himself falling in love with Kate and vice versa. That gets a bit emotional when you read that. So overall, I thoroughly enjoyed this book.

The Viscount Who Loved Me

Author: Julia Quinn
Average Customer Review: (4.6 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Regency Romance
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Mass Market Paperback

Check On Amazon Check On Bookshop

5. The Wild Ones

This book is about a girl named Cami, who grew up on a ranch in North Carolina, somewhere in that area in Kentucky. She could not seem to accept that she needed to dump her loser of a boyfriend she didn’t even love for the guy. She grew up on a horse farm, and she goes back home for the summer while school is on break, and she meets at a bar. This whole thing starts, and it is rough.

So this book of new adults, it is holding a dual perspective. You get Cami’s view alternating with a Trick whose real name is Patrick every other chapter. You will get a lot of climax going on in more than mine. It started happening that you need to read and find out what happened next. Once the plot didn’t pick out, it was more enjoyable. If you’re in the market for a new adult book, definitely give this book a chance after Edenbrooke.

The Wild Ones

Author: M. Leighton
Average Customer Review: (4.3 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Erotic Fiction, Romantic Suspense
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

Read More Similar Books:

Fantasy romance books: 10 Books Like From Blood And Ash

Adult romance books: 7 Books Similar To Ugly Love

Vampire romance books: 5 Books Similar To Crave

Pauline Jackson

I like to talk about popular books. My book review inspires you to read and save time. Also, I summarize the book and give you the best lessons or ideas that can change your life. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.