Nora Kelly Books In Order With Details

Nora Kelly Series Reading Order

The Nora Kelly series is a popular thriller/mystery series written by Douglas Preston and co-authored with Lincoln Child. The series features the main character Nora Kelly, an archaeologist, and includes FBI agent Corrie Swanson as a secondary protagonist. The series is famous for its well-researched archaeological elements, thrilling plotlines, supernatural elements, and historical mysteries. The authors create a highly engaging reading experience that keeps readers on the edge of their seats.

Nora Kelly is a complex and relatable character who faces challenges while trying to solve mysteries. I love her confidence and intelligence. Corrie Swanson brings a unique perspective to the investigations with her background in law enforcement and fiery personality. One of the series’s strengths is the detailed settings, from archaeological digs to desolate mountain landscapes. The attention to detail and descriptive writing makes the series highly immersive.

Overall, the Nora Kelly series is a highly entertaining and engaging read, perfect for thrillers, mysteries, and archaeology fans. Keep scrolling if you are waiting to read the Nora Kelly series in order.

Nora Kelly Books In Order (Nora Kelly Reading Guide)

Each book in the Nora Kelly series can be read as a standalone, but I recommend reading them to understand the character development and overarching storylines. Reading in order will also allow you to follow the progression of the relationships between the characters and their professional growth. Here are the Nora Kelly series books listed in order of publication, along with their tropes and main theme:

  1. Old Bones (2019).
  2. The Scorpion’s Tail (2021).
  3. Diablo Mesa (2022).
  4. Dead Mountain (2023).


  • Thunderhead (1999).
  • The Cabinet of Curiosities (2002).

Checkout my list: Nora Kelly Books List


An action-packed adventure that takes readers on a thrilling journey through the Grand Canyon. Nora Kelly is a likable and relatable protagonist, and the book is full of interesting historical and archaeological tidbits. Nora searches for a lost city and the dangers that come with it.

Tropes: Archaeology, Lost-city, curse, Treasure-hunt.

The Cabinet of Curiosities

A gripping page-turner story that keeps readers on the edge of their seats. The historical aspects of the book are fascinating, and the murders are gruesome and chilling. Nora Kelly is the pursuit of a serial killer and the discovery of a secret chamber.

Tropes: Murder-mystery, Hidden-chamber, Serial-killer.

Old Bones

A thrilling and suspenseful novel that combines archaeology with crime investigation. The story follows the analysis of a missing person case, which leads to the discovery of an ancient skeleton and the revelation of long-buried secrets in a small town. The book also explores the clash of personalities between the two main characters, who must learn to work together to solve the case.

Nora Kelly and Corrie Swanson are well-drawn and complex, with contrasting personalities that make for an interesting dynamic. The setting of the small town adds to the atmospheric nature of the story, and the mystery is well-plotted and keeps readers guessing until the end. The historical aspects of the novel are also fascinating, as Preston draws on real-life archaeological discoveries to add depth and authenticity to the story.

Tropes: Archaeology, Missing person case, Serial killer, Small town secrets, Clashing personalities.

The Scorpion’s Tail

A mystery thriller novel follows the adventures of archaeologist Nora Kelly. The story is set in the deserts of southwestern America and follows Nora Kelly and her team as they try to uncover the truth behind a mysterious archaeological discovery.

Along the way, they must confront dangerous enemies and unravel a complex web of secrets. This book has received generally positive reviews, with critics praising its engaging plot and well-developed characters. Many readers have noted the book’s fast-paced action and suspenseful twists and turns.

Tropes: Mystery, Hidden-treasure, International-intrigue.

Diablo Mesa

Nora is skeptical but is tasked with the job. However, she uncovers two murder victims at the site, leading Corrie to be assigned to the case. As Nora’s excavation continues, Corrie’s investigation uncovers Pandora’s box of espionage and violence. It reveals a powerful force willing to do anything to protect its secrets and potentially put them all in danger.

Tropes: Mystery, Thriller, Science Fiction, Suspense.

Dead Mountain

A group of young engineers sets out on a cross-country skiing trip in Colorado, using their new outdoor equipment. However, they never return and are reported missing. Nora and Corrie take on the task of investigating and uncovering what happened to the skiers. As they delve deeper into the case, they realize it may be their most challenging yet.

Tropes: Mystery, Hidden-treasure, Thriller.

Whether or not it’s worth reading the Nora Kelly series depends on your preferences. If you enjoy action-packed adventure stories with elements of mystery and suspense, then you may enjoy these books.

Douglas Preston’s other popular series: Gideon Crew Series In Order

Pauline Jackson

I like to talk about popular books. My book review inspires you to read and save time. Also, I summarize the book and give you the best lessons or ideas that can change your life. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *