5 Books Like Dark Matter For Sci-fi Thrill Lover

Sci-Fi Thriller Books Review

Blake Crouch presents ideas in mysterious ways, so we don’t know what’s going on. He throws us into the worlds where we’re not sure what’s happening, and part of the fun of the books is figuring out what is going on. I also love his books because they have big emotions, especially run. Dark Matter is for sure his best book yet. I love all those things he did in other books and take them to the next level.

Dark Matter is the story of this guy, Jason Dessen. He is a physics teacher at a small college. He’s got a wife and child, the wife and son he loves. This book reveals many secrets and cool things to you later on. It’s a love story, as well as being a science fiction thriller. Most readers like this story and plot, and there is a huge fan of it.

5 Books Like Dark Matter (Sci-fi Thriller)

After reading Dark Matter, we have some imagination and scientific knowledge that we can use in another book. You are here because you want to read this suspense and thriller book. Don’t worry! I have made a list of your demand. I will review 5 books similar to Dark Matter. So let’s start!

1. Project Hail Mary

Interstellar, A rival and The Martian are blockbuster sci-fi films. Project Hail Mary blends all three of those movies into one brilliant book, and it is such a fun ride. This book is all about discovery, adventure, mystery, and the suspense is built. The premise of Project Hail Mary is that scientists have discovered that the Earth’s sun has started to deteriorate or dim.

It’s losing its strength, light, and heat, which can have incredibly detrimental effects. They’re expecting extinction across many species, including humankind. So what do they do? They collect as much data as possible and try to put a team together to solve the problem, except for one glaring issue.

Our main character wakes up on page one and doesn’t know who he is, where he is, or what he’s there for. The only people in the room with him are two dead people attached to the decayed medical machines. He doesn’t even know who he is or where he is. So effectively, the best scientists in the world have put together a team, and we’ve only got one person remaining. Also, he doesn’t even know why he’s dead has no memory of the situation. It’s the same character as the book Dark Matter belongs to.

The book plays out when we go back and forth between the present tense, trying to work out what he needs to do and how he can do it. It is also going back to the past where we’re going through his memories, and he’s relearning why he’s on this mission.

He’s learning that there’s a big problem on Earth that he has been chosen to resolve. It almost felt nonfiction. It felt like this could happen, or that will happen, even though it’s fictional. Some parts didn’t feel completely realistic. But for the most part, it did feel realistic to me, and I did find myself thinking about what happened next.

Project Hail Mary

Author: Andy Weir
Average Customer Review: (4.7 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Adventure Science Fiction (Best Seller)
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

2. The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue

It is a standalone novel that is a modern story. It is very much the time traveler’s wife meets. The story is about Addie LaRue. She is a girl who was born in France in the nineties. She grows up and is a dreamer, like she wants more for herself. When it comes time for her to get married, her parents sell her off. She panics, and she learns about the old gods like the witch of her village. Also, she was told, ‘Don’t pray to the gods that answer after dark.’ She wants to be free and live this life to be whatever she wants.

When it comes to a fairy tale, any wish is that all wishes come with a price, and ease price is that she will be free. She will live this long life, and she won’t ever age or anything like that, but she will always be forgotten. She is erased from the memories of her parents.

Everybody in the village and the second she meets somebody if they turn away from her, if they leave the room, if they close the door on her, they will instantly forget her. It makes you think about how she will live this long life like she lives three hundred years by meeting her in this book. Can you relate her with Jason Dessen, the same forgotten man in the book Dark Matter?

It’s beautiful the way she is so determined to keep going. A lot of that determination does come from the fact that she’s trying to spite this dark god. He is constantly showing back up and trying to say, are you tired yet? Can I have your soul now? She always says, No, I’m going to keep going. Early in the book, she meets somebody, and it’s the first person ever that can remember her. The story takes on this beautiful life of its own from then on. Laura’s story could be real, and it needs to be experienced.

The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue

Author: V. E. Schwab
Average Customer Review: (4.5 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Historical Fantasy (Best Seller)
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

3. The Midnight Library

This book follows a woman named Nora. It starts at the time that Nora has decided to end her life. She’s feeling very hopeless. Throughout the book, we understand more about why she’s decided to make this decision. Once she has made that decision, she wakes up in this place. That is a library. She sees her elementary school librarian teacher. Librarian explains to her that Nora is now in the midnight library. Time is frozen as she looks at her watch, and it is exactly midnight, and she is surrounded by books all around her and the librarian.

Like Dark Matter, the author explains that this library is full of versions of her life. Every possible version of her life could have existed from her making certain decisions that would have led to alternate realities. They’re all housed in this library, and every book is a different version of her life. Miss Elam explains to her that like now, she gets the chance to pick these different versions and see what her life would have been like. If she finds the version that she likes, she can insert herself into that life and continue to live.

At first, Nora doesn’t want to participate, but Miss Elm convinces her. She shows her this book in the library called the Book of Regrets. She starts going through all the things in her life that she has regretted, like choices that she wishes she would have made. Nora is thirty-five, so she’s not old, but she’s very much like an adult. She’s at that age where people are married, have kids, and have accomplished things like a decent career spot.

Many things have happened throughout her life, so many chances that she felt landed her where she is now. Throughout this book, she goes through this midnight library, undoing all those decisions. What makes you happy, and what defines success, all of those things? So I would recommend this book.

The Midnight Library

Author: The Midnight Library
Average Customer Review: (4.4 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Time Travel Science Fiction (Top 3 position)
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle

Check On Amazon

4. Before I Go to Sleep

The protagonist of this book is Christine. She is a middle-aged woman living in England. She essentially has amnesia and the same form that Adam Sandler’s character did in 50 First Dates, where she goes to sleep at night and forgets everything that occurred that day. Also, the same character as Jason Dessen in the Dark Matter. The main character is unreliable because they can’t simply recall new information.

The book is entirely journal-style, which makes sense given the subject matter. It begins with Christine waking up next to a man she does not recognize. It turns out that this is her husband. Naturally, she freaks out and looks in the mirror and sees a much older woman than she expects. This book is a psychological thriller and not a drama because her psychiatrist and husband tell her that an accident occurred. The book is her trying to figure out if that is true.

Before I Go to Sleep

Author: S. J. Watson
Average Customer Review: (4.1 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Psychological Fiction
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle

Check On Amazon

5. Middlegame

Seanan McGuire is well known for her Wayward Children series. She wrote this trilogy about Feed zombies, and those were so entertaining. The middle game is one that I was intrigued by because it’s sci-fi fantasy. The story follows two main characters, Roger and Dodger, who are essentially twins. They were created by a character named Reed, and Reed is an alchemist. His goal overall is to become a God-like character entity. In doing so, he plans to do that by unlocking all the world’s secrets and whatnot. His main plan is through Roger and Dodger because he creates them as two halves of a whole.

Roger is super intelligent and almost a genius in English and language. Dodger, on the flip side, is a genius in math. When they were created, they were supposed to be separated for most of their lives up until a certain point to when they merged and created this giant power that Reed can use later on.

So when their younger Roger and Dodger are separated, living in different parts of the world, they are around eight years old and start hearing each other in their head. They can communicate in a telekinetic way, and they’re not supposed to do this.

No one knows what they’re talking to each other. Everyone thinks they have imaginary friends, but they know that each other is real. Then things happen where they have separated again, and they are no longer in contact. They talk to each other again. They’ve split again when they’re in college, the cycle continues, and it’s an interesting story like Dark Matter.

Middlegame

Author: Seanan McGuire
Average Customer Review: (4.5 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Adventure Science Fiction (Editor’s pick)
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon Check On Bookshop

Read More: 15 Best Selling Fiction Books

Pauline Jackson

I like to talk about popular books. My book review inspires you to read and save time. Also, I summarize the book and give you the best lessons or ideas that can change your life. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.