5 Books Like Atomic Habits For Changing Yourself

Personal Development Books

The book Atomic habits talk about starting small and taking baby steps, and it is a manual. James Clear talks about starting small and building small habits and how you build these small habits over the years. It talks about how you can build habits on a step-by-step basis. This book talks about four laws to build good habits. The first law is that you shouldn’t make it obvious.

The Second Law is that you shouldn’t make it attractive. The Third Law is that you should make it easy, and the Fourth Law is that you should make it satisfying. So this book elaborates on these four laws through various chapters. Each chapter has a chapter summary to understand what you learn from that chapter, something that is very important in a self-help book because it often turns into an overload of information. Stay with me if you want to read books like Atomic Habits and make yourself better.

5 Books Like Atomic Habits (Personal Development & Career Success)

Atomic Habits is a breezy and easy read, and that is saying something, considering the genre of this book is self-help nonfiction. Also, this book calls itself an operating manual to help people build good habits. It touches upon the psychological aspect of building habits, which makes atomic habits stand out.

This book is a very practical and relatable duty. So this is a life-changing concept, and we know it. Do you want more books like atomic habits? Here I’m going to review 5 books similar to Atomic Habits that’ll help you change bad habits and create new good habits. Let’s go!

1. High Performance Habits: How Extraordinary People Become That Way

The author split the book into three personal and three social habits, which are the only areas that are important personal and social. The personal ones are seeking clarity. So have a better understanding of your journey, and everything about yourself generates energy. That is to have more passion, enthusiasm, and focus, and things like that raise necessity. That’s the next habit, raise necessity and the importance of what you’re doing.

Social habits are increased productivity. That’s an obvious one. Developing influence means getting connected to people, networking, and demonstrating courage. So be brave in the face of fear and go off to things and stand up for yourself. Here are some energy things in the book that you can do.

First of all, these are morning habits that you can put into your life and are called performance prompts. The author suggested asking questions like, what can I be excited about today? How can I respond in a positive way to my higher self? So these questions are prime as they make your brain work towards a specific goal. They make you bring joy into the moment, improving your overall day.

The next thing, he says, is set triggers for yourself. Triggers include phone notifications, walking through a doorway, waiting for something, waking and waiting for the kettle to boil, waiting in line. These are triggers, and Brendon teaches to do specific things in those moments.

For example, when you go through a doorway, he says, How can I bring joy into this room? The notification says bring joy or something like that. So you want to remind yourself to continually optimize your mindset around bringing joy and love into the situation, and then he starts talking about health.

The book goes deep into every topic and habit and breaks it down into mini habits like Atomic Habits. So you don’t get the main habit. Seek clarity, but you get how to seek clarity. All the little mini habits that you get before clarity are there. So check that book out.

High Performance Habits

Author: Brendon Burchard
Average Customer Review: (4.7 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Stress Management, Career Success, Personal Finance
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle

Check On Amazon

2. Tiny Habits: The Small Changes That Change Everything

We have tools now that help us with some of the neurobiological components of the behaviors, like eating. Dysfunction of that energy regulatory system drives eating behaviors, hunger, and cravings. But even with the tools that we have to help overcome that, such as medications and surgery to help with that component, making behavior change is still difficult. Many of the behaviors that we talk about in obesity medicine aren’t health by medications, surgery, or other tools.

So if we’re trying to work on exercise behaviors, sleep behaviors, or stress management techniques, we don’t necessarily have any medications. Behaviors are always difficult to change. In obesity medicine, motivational interviewing and cognitive behavioral therapy are essential components.

The author takes many of these concepts and combines them into a behavioral model similar to Atomic Habits. The Fogg behavior model states that behavior happens when motivation, ability, and prompt converge simultaneously. So he has an equals map that says behavior equals motivation, ability and when all of those happen, at the same time, the behavior occurs. If one is missing or lacking, the behavior does not occur.

Fogg argues that we need to have a solid, reliable prompt because, without the prompt, the behavior doesn’t occur. Then as far as the ability, make sure that the behavior is easy. So the easier it is to do, the more likely it is that we will do it and the less motivation we need. So that’s why it’s called tiny habits. It’s about breaking it down into something and making the behavior very easy so that people will be successful.

The author is the founder of the Behavior Design Lab at Stanford University. He shares all that he has learned about human behavior in this book. He’s the world’s leading expert on habit formation, and he does a good job debunking the myth that change is hard. The habits take twenty-one days to acquire whatever.

So he takes you behind the curtain of human behavior and provides actionable strategies for tweaking your behavior to get the desired outcome. He introduced the book to help design behaviors, mindset, behavior, crafting, self-insight, process, and context.

Tiny Habits

Author: BJ Fogg PhD
Average Customer Review: (4.6 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Career Success, Time Management, Personal Development
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle | Audio CD

Check On Amazon

3. Breaking The Habit Of Being Yourself

The book has 303 pages, not including appendices and notes. It’s a personal development book. The goal of this book is to not talk about the external things in your life. Like Atomic Habits, Its focuses on the inside of your mind. The author explains how your mind operates on a scientific level. He explains how cells brain cells create connections with each other.

The point is that he’s a firm believer that you can change and alter things about your personality and your body around you by changing how you think physiology of your brain. So he explains scientifically how that works, how the brain cells work and receive information, and create personality traits.

Then part two of the book explains how meditation. How your brain works while meditating, and how do the shifts occur? Also, he goes through the different alpha states of alpha waves and beta waves. The point of this book in part three is how to meditate. He gives step by step, and he says start week one, do this step.

Then we to do these steps until you get the whole process over four weeks. He provides this whole meditation process that he uses to rewire your brain. So the book’s called breaking the habit of being yourself. It’s about changing the elements of yourself that are not working for you.

Breaking The Habit Of Being Yourself

Author: Joe Dispenza
Average Customer Review: (4.7 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Personal Success, Personal Development, Self-help
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle

Check On Amazon

4. Limitless: Upgrade Your Brain, Learn Anything Faster, and Unlock Your Exceptional Life

Jim Quick is a celebrity brain coach. He takes the world’s best people and makes them better at what they do. Now you have access to those same tools. Jim says that quote, One of my core beliefs, is that human potential is one of the only infinite resources we have in the world.

Almost everything else is finite, but the human mind is the ultimate superpower. There is no limit to our creativity, imagination, determination, or ability to think, reason, or learn. Yet this resource is among the least tapped. All of us can be the heroes of our story, dipping into the well of our potential every day and never having that well run dry.

What does it mean to be limitless? It means to unlock all of that potential and live your exceptional life. Jim touches on everything from what food you put in your body to maximize your brain’s capacity to work and be healthy to different speed reading techniques. He talks about different efficiency techniques, habits, and speed reading. So this book itself increased my reading speed.

Jim is all about increasing retention as well. You want to digest the information, reflect on it and understand it. Speed reading isn’t about getting the most books done. It’s about using your time effectively. One thing this book also caused me to do is rewrite daily affirmations. Jim talks about the most important words in the human language. You are a student of the world, a lifelong learner, and a reader. Those are all essential things that have happened to you over the last couple of years. Your affirmations go on and on.

Limitless

Author: Jim Kwik
Average Customer Review: (4.7 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Memory Improvement, Medical General Psychology, Self-help
Available: Audiobook | Hardcover | Kindle

Check On Amazon

5. Mini Habits: Smaller Habits, Bigger Results

This one, you need to go out and get breaks everything down. The author talks about his life, what he went through, and how he came out of that. The thing is why many people don’t start doing something because they see this huge mountain that they need to climb, and they don’t start. They don’t see all the steps on the way. Plenty of people have talked about that. In other words, all you have to do is you’ll get there if you consistently, as Hardy says, in the compound effect.

The thing is in the book is doing and starting small. Warren Buffett said that the chains of habit are too strong to be broken until the chains of habit are easy to. They’re too hard to break, but they’re hard to form but easy to break. Bad habits bring us down. Many habits essentially allow you to break out of the chains every day slowly. James Clear also says this in his book Atomic Habits.

Many habits essentially say if you want to break a habit and start a new habit, you have to do it every minute. You have to do consistency. You can’t overload yourself, and you will hit resistance. When you read the book and hear the concepts in the book, you will understand what Stephen Guise should have said in his book. So that’s the expectation. Pick up the book. It is amazing.

Mini Habits

Author: Stephen Guise
Average Customer Review: (4.5 out of 5, on Amazon)
Category: Self-Esteem, Business Motivation & Self-Improvement
Available: Audiobook | Paperback | Kindle

Check On Amazon Check On Bookshop

Read More Habit Related Books:

Atomic Habits Book Review With Summary

The Power Of Habit Review With Summary

Mindset Book Review With Summary

Pauline Jackson

I like to talk about popular books. My book review inspires you to read and save time. Also, I summarize the book and give you the best lessons or ideas that can change your life. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.